Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sperm Doner ordered to pay maintainence

• 23-01-2014 10:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

According to the Indo anyway...

What do ye reckon AH - should he pay up or is he being fcuked over here?

I'd be of the latter opinion here - he signed up to help this woman concieve, not to be a father. Presumably he assumed this was the understood arrangement.

I think he's been fcuked over badly here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Wanker.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,581 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

The Sperm Doner is the worst of all kebabs.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

I think the following is something to consider:
    Shawnee county district court judge Mary Mattivi wrote yesterday that because a licensed physician was not involved in the artificial insemination process, William Marotta is more than a sperm donor and thus responsible for the child.

I'd be rather curious how the donation was handled. If it was through sperm banks and such, the donor should have no involvement unless they've signed off that the child can look them up. But that shouldn't give these people rights to maintainence.

With:
    Mr Marotta argued that he did not intend to be the child's father and signed a contract waiving his parental rights.

It sound he agreed to help her get pregnant, in the classical sense. So if it was through sex, the issue was a lack of forethought in his place. He is the father, no other way to look at it.

I'm confused.
    Shawnee county district court judge Mary Mattivi wrote yesterday that because a licensed physician was not involved in the artificial insemination process, William Marotta is more than a sperm donor and thus responsible for the child.

So by "donated sperm" do they mean rather than going into a sperm bank or whatever, he instead had sex with them? How would they choose who got pregnant, would he have sex with both just to make sure? Sounds like every man's dream .. only with a nightmare ending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,976 ✭✭✭✭humanji

I'm confused.

So by "donated sperm" do they mean rather than going into a sperm bank or whatever, he instead had sex with them? How would they choose who got pregnant, would he have sex with both just to make sure? Sounds like every man's dream .. only with a nightmare ending.
    He could of given them his sperm and they put it in a turkey baster or something like that.

I'm confused.

He had a delivery service.Typical Americans.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,837 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

I'd assume they just chose one of the lesbians to act as mother, that has to happen regardless of what method of insemination is used.

Ridiculous case, only going to discourage men from donating and leave couples with fewer options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

Think this has being going on for some time. The couple split up and the one that was left with the child sued the father for maintenance, as she didn't succeed in getting any from her previous partner, who had no legal obligation to the child. From what I remember the conception did involve a turkey baster type scenario.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

I think the following is something to consider:

I'd be rather curious how the donation was handled. If it was through sperm banks and such, the donor should have no involvement unless they've signed off that the child can look them up. But that shouldn't give these people rights to maintainence.

With:

It sound he agreed to help her get pregnant, in the classical sense. So if it was through sex, the issue was a lack of forethought in his place. He is the father, no other way to look at it.

I don't think it sounds like he did it in the "classical" sense at all - the turkey baster comes to mind

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    I don't think it sounds like he did it in the "classical" sense at all - the turkey baster comes to mind

That's not something I'm familiar to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 526 ✭✭✭conor2469

I'd be rather curious how the donation was handled.

With gloves hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

That's not something I'm familiar to be honest.

a simple DIY artificial insemination device:

http://www.babymed.com/sites/default/files/turkey_baster_1.JPG

A2LUE42 wrote: »
    Think this has being going on for some time. The couple split up and the one that was left with the child sued the father for maintenance, as she didn't succeed in getting any from her previous partner, who had no legal obligation to the child. From what I remember the conception did involve a turkey baster type scenario.

Hmm

I think if he waived his rights and was a donor, he shouldn't have to pay.
    Couple should have been married or had joint parental recognition so the ex would have had to pay, not your man

It says in the article that the bureaucrats took the case, not one of the parents.
    The Topeka Capital-Journal reports the Kansas department for children and families filed the case in October 2012 seeking to have the Topeka man declared the father

Would it not be one of the mothers suing for support if it was the same case?

Moral of the story; take it to the bank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

Maybeje can countersue so for breach of contract

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Phill Ewinn

What kind of a narsole walks out on their kids?
    B*tch should get prison time for wiggling her way out of her responsibilities

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭smcelhinney

Robbo wrote: »
    The Sperm Doner is the worst of all kebabs.

Post of the year.

• Administrators Posts: 54,417 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Without a doctor involved I am trying to work out the logistics.

Did he ride one of them, or **** into a cup and pour it into her?

awec wrote: »

Think Christmas Turkey,oven and Super Soaker 2000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,124 ✭✭✭wolfpawnat

This may not be a popular opinion, but I'd say there would be a very different story if he asked for parental rights and he had signed the waiver.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭Arbiter of Good Taste

I'd say this is likely to be overturned in a higher court, so it's probably all moot.

But nevertheless, surely there was a reasonable expectation on his part that this was purely a business transaction. I wonder would the judgement have been different if he had been paid for his "product"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

bluewolf wrote: »
    I think if he waived his rights and was a donor, he shouldn't have to pay.
    Couple should have been married or had joint parental recognition so the ex would have had to pay, not your man

He really should have gotten them to sign a contract waiving his parental rights and responsibilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

Any pictures of the couple?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

He should have done what yer man in Germany did - volunteered to donate sperm for a childless couple by having sex with yer mans wife. 2 years and 300 attempts later he was still riding her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭Arthur Beesley

stoneill wrote: »
    He should have done what yer man in Germany did - volunteered to donate sperm for a childless couple by having sex with yer mans wife. 2 years and 300 attempts later he was still riding her.

Was she hot?

98.6 F.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I've seen similar ads on Craigslist from time to time :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Will they be re-using that baster on next Christmases turkey.

Could you not just straight up deny being the father.

DNA proof is required for conclusive proof right ?
    And theres no law granting the govt right to sample your DNA.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

He didn't donate his man-jelly anonymously...that'll learn him...wanker :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

kylith wrote: »
    He really should have gotten them to sign a contract waiving his parental rights and responsibilities.

Rights can't be waived in this case as it's the child that would have rights to maintenance. And the child can't sign away their rights and nobody else can sign away the childs rights to that either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭schmanga

Whoop it up now because this is our future. In a few short years same sex couples in Ireland will have the right to adopt. Assuming a female couple both will have the right to adopt and most likely be capable of conceiving in their own right. do they:

A) Go to the bank and pay the fee
    B) Maybe get a friend to help out for free
    C) That will never happen here!!
    D) WTF???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭who_me

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Rights can't be waived in this case as it's the child that would have rights to maintenance. And the child can't sign away their rights and nobody else can sign away the childs rights to that either.

It's a bit of a mess.

Someone has to take responsibility for the child, you can't leave a loophole where the State would step in or people would take advantage of it. There probably needs to explicitly covered in law, that if donor waives any rights it must be signed by the mother (and possibly) the adopting father. And in doing so they assume all responsibilities.

This may be a case where this donor is being screwed (so much innuendo in this thread) so that future donors will take more care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

http://usnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2013/10/25/21150280-kansas-judge-hears-arguments-in-case-of-sperm-donor-sued-for-child-support?lite

Well 'sperm doner guy' got fucked over.
    There was an agreement in place at the start. But hold the phone, lesbian couples later breaks up and one of them has an accident and cant work. But wait, he's the father!!! Lets do him for maintainence. Screw the agreement made.

This really is a story about life. About people in this world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Before you all rush to judgement and condemn the former couple, they actually support the sperm donor:
    “We’re kind of at a loss,” Topekan Angela Bauer, 40, said Saturday, speaking on behalf of her and her former partner, Jennifer Schreiner. “We are going to support him in whatever action he wants to go forward with.”
    After the couple filed for assistance earlier this year, the state welfare agency demanded they provide the donor’s name so it could collect child support. The state has that authority, court documents state, because the insemination wasn’t performed by a licensed physician, thus making the contract void.

Without the donor’s name, the department told the women, it wouldn’t provide health benefits to their now 3-year-old girl — something Bauer no longer can provide because a diagnosis has left her incapable of working and in and out of rehabilitation since March.

“This was a wonderful opportunity with a guy with an admirable, giving character who wanted nothing more than to help us have a child,” she said. “I feel like the state of Kansas has made a mess out of the situation.”
    Without an alternative, Schreiner went to the state to obtain health insurance for their daughter. The department demanded that Schreiner provide the sperm donor’s name, claiming if she didn’t it would deny any health benefits because she was withholding information. Bauer described her conversations with the state as “threatening.”

“One gentleman told me he wasn’t going to discuss anything with me because I’m not the parent or legal guardian,” Bauer said. “Therefore, I had no existence.”

On paper, that is true. The 3-year-old’s birth certificate lists no father, she said, naming only Schreiner as the mother.

It is the same for the rest of their children, Bauer said. Because the state of Kansas doesn’t recognize same-sex unions, the couple had to file each adoption as a single parent.

That law also prevents the state from collecting child support from same-sex partners, despite the fact that Bauer volunteered to assume financial responsibility for her daughter.
    More details here:
    http://cjonline.com/news/2012-12-29/topeka-mothers-support-sperm-donor-child-support-battle-kansas-dcf

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Are all fathers not sperm doners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

It seems like it's the state that's made a issue out of this.

I can see the states point, in the eyes of the law this is no different than a one night stand. They didn't go through proper channels and do it legally so in the same way I can't go out and just give my neighbour a big bag of money for his house under the table and expect it to hold up in the eyes of the law, their arrangement is void legally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,790 ✭✭✭maguic24

Foxhound38 wrote: »
    According to the Indo anyway...

What do ye reckon AH - should he pay up or is he being fcuked over here?

I'd be of the latter opinion here - he signed up to help this woman concieve, not to be a father. Presumably he assumed this was the understood arrangement.

I think he's been fcuked over badly here

I'm confused, did he have sex with yer wan or was it a turkey baster scenario?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

maguic24 wrote: »
    I'm confused, did he have sex with yer wan or was it a turkey baster scenario?
    AI i say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭Royal Irish

I'm confused.

Hardly a dream considering lesbians usually look alot different than the ones you see in porno's.

awec wrote: »

What are you struggling with exactly? What do you think a doctor would do?
    FatherTed wrote: »
    Before you all rush to judgement and condemn the former couple, they actually support the sperm donor:

More details here:
    http://cjonline.com/news/2012-12-29/topeka-mothers-support-sperm-donor-child-support-battle-kansas-dcf
    Always going to be a risk though if one parent does a runner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

wolfpawnat wrote: »
    This may not be a popular opinion, but I'd say there would be a very different story if he asked for parental rights and he had signed the waiver.

No.

See McD v. L

OldNotWIse wrote: »
    No.

See McD v. L

Your ability to quote relevant cases from Kansas so quickly is amazing.

Well at least somebody got screwed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,468 ✭✭✭✭OldNotWIse

Your ability to quote relevant cases from Kansas so quickly is amazing.

Excuse you? Mc D v. L is an Irish Supreme Court decision.

Perhaps a hasty Google search confused you with a result showing DVL Construction in Kansas City? :D