Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

need some advice!

• 23-01-2014 3:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

hello lads im looking into buying a racing bike as i am trying to loose some weight and get fitter/stronger, im from galway, i was wondering would any of ye have any suggestions of what sort of bike to go for and id like to keep cost down! thanks in advance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

There are loads to choose from, what is your budget for a bike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 paulshox

maybe 300-350

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭fabvinny

i took up cycling last year for the same reasons,i bought a bike in halfords.it is an Appollo Encounter Hybrid,grand bike,didnt want to spend crazy money in case i didnt stick with it.never had a days trouble with it so far,comfortable to ride,cost me €350. i am hoping to make the jump to a road bike in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭fabvinny

fabvinny wrote: »
    i took up cycling last year for the same reasons,i bought a bike in halfords.it is an Appollo Encounter Hybrid,grand bike,didnt want to spend crazy money in case i didnt stick with it.never had a days trouble with it so far,comfortable to ride,cost me €350. i am hoping to make the jump to a road bike in the summer.
    Correction,the bike cost €250,with a helmet and a few more accessories it came to €350.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 Killiangm

With the budget you have your best bet is to go with a second hand road bike, check out a good local bike shop