Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda fine

• 22-01-2014 6:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭

I was having an argument with another lad,

Garda told me to leave the scene , I did!

Got a letter in the door with a fine for drunk and disorderly!

At no stage was my name tAken by the garda.

Anybody any suggestions what I should do??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,670 ✭✭✭Peppa Pig

Pay the fine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

Pay the fixed penalty notice or fight the case your choice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 194 ✭✭EireGun

Inquire as to how they got your name, play the Data Protection Commissioner card, that usually works when the Gardai get your details from a third party or someone else get's your name from them.

EireGun wrote: »
    Inquire as to how they got your name, play the Data Protection Commissioner card, that usually works when the Gardai get your details from a third party or someone else get's your name from them.

So you are saying data protection will allow or force a witness to a crime to refuse/not be able to give details of the perpetrator, to an investigating officer. The Garda may have know the OP, the Garda may have asked other people or maybe a person who refused to move on gave a false name and address, don't think data protection has anything todo with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 harbourmill

Pay the fine, it does not matter how the garda got your name. you say it was for drunk and disorderly , and you are not disputing the fact that alcohol was involved. it may be that you do not have a clear recollection of what transpired during the arguement , or how loud ye actually were.

infosys wrote: »
    So you are saying data protection will allow or force a witness to a crime to refuse/not be able to give details of the perpetrator, to an investigating officer. The Garda may have know the OP, the Garda may have asked other people or maybe a person who refused to move on gave a false name and address, don't think data protection has anything todo with it.

You are well within your right to inquire as to how the Gardai got your name. They cannot tell you who, but they can tell you how. You could use that in your defence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭234

You are well within your right to inquire as to how the Gardai got your name. They cannot tell you who, but they can tell you how. You could use that in your defence.

I what way does the manner in which the OP's name was obtained provide a defence? Unless there was a breach of a constitutional right (and I can't conceive how this could be the case) then it seems completely irrelevant.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Does it state the location on the fine and does that match where the argument happened?

All that information will be provided in a Gary Doyle order.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭sawdoubters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Shadow Walker

However they got your name , its quite obvious by your post they got the right person. If you refuse to pay the fine, it will result in a court case at which you can ask the guard how he got your name . He may answer that he knew you or that he conducted enquiries or that a colleague identified you.

What will definetly happen is the judge will get annoyed that his court list is being delayed by irrelevant questions from someone who on the face of it cannot behave when out socialising.

As for your " Data Protection Card" why ? I mean what kind of a defence is that . Canyon86 was either disorderly or not .

My sincere advice is pay up and don't make things worse for yourself.

However they got your name , its quite obvious by your post they got the right person. If you refuse to pay the fine, it will result in a court case at which you can ask the guard how he got your name . He may answer that he knew you or that he conducted enquiries or that a colleague identified you.

What will definetly happen is the judge will get annoyed that his court list is being delayed by irrelevant questions from someone who on the face of it cannot behave when out socialising.

As for your " Data Protection Card" why ? I mean what kind of a defence is that . You were either disorderly or not .

My sincere advice is pay up and don't make things worse for yourself.

You know that Eiregun is not the original poster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Shadow Walker

Yea infosys , I could have been more precise , but the post is still valid . :D

Just saying I was in a position where the Gardai gave my name and address out to a third party, which was completely and utterly a breach of my data rights. I know it's name the same case here, but the Guards aren't right all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Was this meeting with the Garda within the hours of midnight and 7am OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,223 ✭✭✭Canyon86

Yes the incident happened between 12 and 7am,

It does give the location and time on fine,

I m just curious as to why I got a fine when I obeyed garda instruction to leave the scene,
    also the other party as far as I know didnt recieve any fine,

Was this meeting with the Garda within the hours of midnight and 7am OP?

Yes it was

Pay the fine, it does not matter how the garda got your name. you say it was for drunk and disorderly , and you are not disputing the fact that alcohol was involved. it may be that you do not have a clear recollection of what transpired during the arguement , or how loud ye actually were.

Yes alcohol was involved,

But I was at a nice limit and remember the night perfectly

No that was not the case,
    I was amongst friends and all said I never gave a name, I obeyed garda instruction to leave the area,
    No mention of any fine at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,724 ✭✭✭whippet

Canyon86 wrote: »
    I m just curious as to why I got a fine when I obeyed garda instruction to leave the scene,
    also the other party as far as I know didnt recieve any fine,

but by the virtue of being in row in a public place you are disorderly, when the guard asked to you move you did so; if you didn't you would most likely be charged with another offence, such as failure to comply with the direction of a guard.

whippet wrote: »
    but by the virtue of being in row in a public place you are disorderly, when the guard asked to you move you did so; if you didn't you would most likely be charged with another offence, such as failure to comply with the direction of a guard.

Yes I understand that part,

but at no stage any mention of a fine was given or details taken,

surely this is not procedure?

Canyon86 wrote: »
    Yes I understand that part,

but at no stage any mention of a fine was given or details taken,

surely this is not procedure?

They were satisfied with your details (regardless of how they got them) and as you have confirmed they were correct.

A fixed penalty notice does not have to be mentioned at the offence (unless someone could confirm otherwise) .. much like a fixed penalty notice from a speed camera, you don't get stopped and told you will get the fine, it arrives in the post.

From what I can read in to this:

- you committed and admitted to a minor offence
    - received a fine

Now you are looking for someway to get out of it, personally I would advise paying the fine and hopefully act a little more maturely when out and about late at night - lesson to be learned

but by the virtue of being in row in a public place you are disorderly.

According to s.5 of the Public Order Act, one would have had to have engaged in offensive behaviour, which, having regard to all circumstances, was likely to cause serious offence or serious annoyance or might reasonably be expected to cause serious offence or annoyance.

and the guard in question obviously felt that that was the case and fortunately after being warned the OP followed the direction of the guard and now has only been accused of the original offence.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 585 ✭✭✭WildRosie

Do you know other person? Could he have given the guards your name and address instead of his own?

and the guard in question obviously felt that that was the case and fortunately after being warned the OP followed the direction of the guard and now has only been accused of the original offence.

But this doesn't mean that a person is guilty of disorderly conduct by virtue of having an argument in a public place, which is what you said previously.