Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

mastitis in beef cows

• 22-01-2014 12:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭

Today I discovered 2 of the march calving sucklers have mastitis, both have it in back quarters,I was able to draw it out with one cow and put in tubes but the other cows udder is rock hard so drawing the crap out is not possible, vet prescribed 25cc of betomox each till saturday and keep tubing

just wondering is there anyting else I can do with the cow I cant draw out?..any tips or advice lads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Today I discovered 2 of the march calving sucklers have mastitis, both have it in back quarters,I was able to draw it out with one cow and put in tubes but the other cows udder is rock hard so drawing the crap out is not possible, vet prescribed 25cc of betomox each till saturday and keep tubing

just wondering is there anyting else I can do with the cow I cant draw out?..any tips or advice lads?

brave man putting tubes in sucklers, they must be quiet, had a cow that went a little to far before i noticed there about a month ago and got rock hard, just gave her the betamox, ,the way i give it i, 1st day 40ml, 2nd day 30ml, and 3rd day 30ml, but sure if your vet prescribed that way follow it, i just monitor her closely is eating well and looks ok so im not worried, but that was a fr dry cow o it doesnt matter so much so long as it doessnt act up again, id be a little more worried with a suckler as she will be calving again so might be more issues again, watch her closely as the bag may bust

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Its a strange time to be getting mastitis . Are they long dried or in a dirty shed or anything . I would do as the vet said but keep an eye on the rest of them in case its doing the rounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭weatherbyfoxer

moy83 wrote: »
    Its a strange time to be getting mastitis . Are they long dried or in a dirty shed or anything . I would do as the vet said but keep an eye on the rest of them in case its doing the rounds

Its completely my own fault,brought cows and calves in december for weaning.put calves onto slats with straw lay back and locked cows onto the slats with no straw laying access and only let cows onto straw 2 weeks ago...so much for teagasc advice...:(. ..wont be making that mistake again!

moy83 wrote: »

Its completely my own fault,brought cows and calves in december for weaning.put calves onto slats with straw lay back and locked cows onto the slats with no straw laying access and only let cows onto straw 2 weeks ago...so much for teagasc advice...:(. ..wont be making that mistake again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭farmerjack

We have always wintered cows on slats both sucklers and dairy stock and tbh an odd case of mastitis has reared it's head from time to time but it would be rare. I wouldn't get too hung up on it if I was you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Things like this can happen to every one . It might be easier to bring the calves in first for a couple of weeks and leave the cows on a hungry patch until they are well dried before they are brought in .
    Id be honest mastitis would be the last thing I would be watching for on the slats at the minute either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 502 ✭✭✭agriman27

I heard of lads cutting the teat off if its really bad. Heard of vets doing it too:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

We often weaned cows here and left them on slats. While we have small numbers it's over 20 years since I remember a case of mastitis.
    We don't have a straw lie back area but slats are normally reasonably clean certainly much better than a bedded shed although maybe that's not the case if they have access to both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

OP... Is there any rogue cows trying to suckle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

agriman27 wrote: »
    I heard of lads cutting the teat off if its really bad. Heard of vets doing it too:rolleyes:
    vet was out last week, i had a cow her spin had been stood on and i wanted vet to cut it off- i had no scalpel blades myself- she said she had never done that before, so i asked her for the blade and i did it myself. Put a vicegrip on butt of spin and there was instant relief for the cow, vet said she must buy a vicegrip

biddy2013 wrote: »
    vet was out last week, i had a cow her spin had been stood on and i wanted vet to cut it off- i had no scalpel blades myself- she said she had never done that before, so i asked her for the blade and i did it myself. Put a vicegrip on butt of spin and there was instant relief for the cow, vet said she must buy a vicegrip

I presume the vicegrip is to stop bleeding. Would a castration ring do the same and cause less discomfort than the vicegrip hanging. I'm thinking it would need to be left on for a day or 2 to be sure it wouldn't bleed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

Seen vet use a bizardo (spelling) to take the tip off of a bad quarter.
    Was well past saving... Made a good job of it
    Along with a course of antibiotics btw.

I presume the vicegrip is to stop bleeding. Would a castration ring do the same and cause less discomfort than the vicegrip hanging. I'm thinking it would need to be left on for a day or 2 to be sure it wouldn't bleed.
    no we use the vice grip on the spin just before we cut the spin off, vet said it was better than the burdizzo. we let cow straight out to field- gave her pen/strep too- cow is 100% now

The burdizzo might not be great. I've seen tails of sheep done and there's often a bit of blood dripping. The vice grip will save having to get her in again in a day or two.

Bit of an update lads,went out to find one of the cows stone dead this morning she had been getting 25cc of betomox since tuesday.The other cow which I am able to tube and treat with betomox is improving....not the best of saturday mornings!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,860 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Sorry to hear that,you would think the antibiotic would have been helping her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭trixi2011

Bit of an update lads,went out to find one of the cows stone dead this morning she had been getting 25cc of betomox since tuesday.The other cow which I am able to tube and treat with betomox is improving....not the best of saturday mornings!

Must be ecoli mastitis bad dose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

trixi2011 wrote: »
    Must be ecoli mastitis bad dose

Lost a cow to that last year dirty fecker of a yoke

It is most important to get the poison out of the cows system. Whether that is by strigging her out or cutting off the spin. They can die very quick

Just wondering lads what signs should a cow of being better?.the 2nd cow I have been treating is alot healthier looking with very little crap to be drawn out of her spins, quaters also seemes to be lot softer,..i completed the course of bettomox and tubes left by my vet and wondering should I get more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,356 ✭✭✭tanko

When the cow is eating and chewing her cud is a good sign that she's improving. If in doubt it's better to give the medicine for too long rather than stopping too soon and the cow suffering a relapse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭The man in red and black

A bit of pain relief or local anaesthetic might help her out a bit too.

I know this is an old thread, but I just don't want doubling up on answers that I've already read before.

We have a cow that was eight weeks dried off and developed dry mastitis. Vet has been out and she's had injections in blood, muscle, etc. since then. Tubes into the teat directly as well.

The problem is, the quarter is rock solid and we can't shift anything when we pull it. I know cutting the top of the teat is an option eventually, but I wondered if anyone had any suggestions of how to soften up the quarter? We've used the Cheno Unction, massaged it, we're even trying some sort of mint/tea-tree-oil lotion as well.

Any suggestions or home remedies would be welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Mad4simmental

It's probably gone and might best be left alone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭Jb1989

It's probably gone and might best be left alone.

I've a suckler cow that had mastitis in a quarter 4 years ago
    I missed it till it was too late
    And quarter was rock hard
    Lost the quarter
    Every year she calves with one real hard quarter, that must be sealed at this stage,
    But settles a bit after a few weeks,
    It won't always sicken them.