Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

If someone breaks in

• 22-01-2014 3:17am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭

Call the Gardai for me someone k

Gonna hit the bed soon and have checked the perimeter after hearing strange noises but no sign of anyone as of yet, I am armed to the teeth but sleep like a log

Feckin break ins all over the shop lately

If I do happen to wake up and give a fella a belt of a mallet/hurley/golf club/bat (both baseball and cricket), thats allowed isnt it?

The last resort is a knife in a little lock box next to the bed, but it is a stanley knife so has a use, i.e. not bought to hurt someone!

Two schools of thought on this really, my instinct is to protect my home, my possessions etc and try to stop whoever would be breaking in, but when you have a couple of young kids is it better to lock yourselves into a room and wait for the Gardai? Let them take whatever they want like as long as Im sure the kids are with me and safe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,340 ✭✭✭deco nate

Yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

You have to protect yourself and your family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Have you got a VHS of Angels With Dirty Faces lying around? Whack that on full blast, you'll be grand.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Watch the 'Home Alone' movies OP. For more handy tips on home security like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Have you got a VHS of Angels With Dirty Faces lying around? Whack that on full blast, you'll be grand.
    Is that a kind of nudey film?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭buyer95

Probably aliens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

WikiHow wrote: »
    Is that a kind of nudey film?

Careful now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 767 ✭✭✭SimonQuinlank

If you're that worried ring the local station,wouldn't imagine the guards are all that busy at this hour.

Few bangs on the bedroom floor,turning on of the landing light and flushing the jacks have all worked for me in scaring off burglars before.Would never attempt to physically deter a burglar because you don't know if they are armed,or even how many of them there are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,353 ✭✭✭buyer95

fr336 wrote: »
    Careful now

Thats two Fr Ted references in the last half an hour on AH's. God i love boards sometimes( I like cake too)Just shows you can find a Fr Ted quote to fit almost any situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,179 ✭✭✭✭fr336

buyer95 wrote: »
    Thats two Fr Ted references in the last half an hour on AH's. God i love boards sometimes( I like cake too)Just shows you can find a Fr Ted quote to fit almost any situation.

Is there cocaine in it?