Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

hp for agitating

• 21-01-2014 10:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭

Lads what hp are Ye agitating with and would Ye recommend buying one rather than ask beg wait for contractor

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

epfff wrote: »
    Lads what hp are Ye agitating with and would Ye recommend buying one rather than ask beg wait for contractor

140hp and 110hp available here for agitating. both have no problems. never had a contractor in to do it so cant comment.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

All depends on how much water is in the tank. Did it for years here with 80hp.

For a pump type agitator 100hp min I'd say.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

We're using 80 hp but have used less down round 65. Our tank is hard agitated though because it's not deep enough. We have to agitate a bit get slurry out and water in and repeat several times for 3 bays. We can get 1-1 1/2 going at the first attempt.
    Agitating is the slow part of the slurry and if you only want it out in stages or a narrow window it might be easier to get the contractor to spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I've tried to agitated with an 87 case 1394, 72hp from new, so prb down afew ponies by now. I certainly wouldn't recommend it, tractor was under a fair load, and smoke started bellowing out after 2/3mins! I use the 100hp landini now instead, you can even hear that under abit of load, I certainly wouldn't want to go anything under 90hp.

Timmaay wrote: »
    I've tried to agitated with an 87 case 1394, 72hp from new, so prb down afew ponies by now. I certainly wouldn't recommend it, tractor was under a fair load, and smoke started bellowing out after 2/3mins! I use the 100hp landini now instead, you can even hear that under abit of load, I certainly wouldn't want to go anything under 90hp.

gets the cob webs out anyway. just beware when under pressure that they don't overheat after awhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭jp6470

135 and a paddle and the tractor dancing and smoking.
    fast forward few year and a mf290 plus a redrock did it for years,took our time never killed the tractor.
    Now same old pump still going,but on newish 120hp massey and let her at it.

If you have a tanker,get one bought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

jp6470 wrote: »
    If you have a tanker,get one bought.

I duno, my local contractor is reasonable enough and reliable. I got an 1100gls tank, I looked into buying a bigger tank last year and it would have been madness to consider it, only that we have the agitator now I certainly wouldn't bother with one either. Get the contractor to mix up and fully emptied the tank once/twice a year and be done with it in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,555 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Neighbour borrows my 398 as the contractor can't fit into one of the sheds. She runs a pump no hassle to her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭jp6470

Timmaay wrote: »
    I duno, my local contractor is reasonable enough and reliable. I got an 1100gls tank, I looked into buying a bigger tank last year and it would have been madness to consider it, only that we have the agitator now I certainly wouldn't bother with one either. Get the contractor to mix up and fully emptied the tank once/twice a year and be done with it in my opinion.

Your right.that sounds good and to have it finished with it is great.it can be very time consuming operation
    But from putting out for the neighbours around us,I find some don't have the ground available. at that time,it's maybe being grazed,closed off.
    And I ain't coming back for a feild or few load when there ready lol.so that's why would say to anyone with a tanker,get one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭epfff

Tthanks all
    still don't know
    To buy or not to buy that is queation
    It will not pay fir itself but will be convenient
    I think

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

maybe the new grant that they announced last week, there might be grants for slurry equipment.I,m not sure though.. anybody know???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I would get an agitator if I currently have a tractor of min 90hp. It means that you will have the tanks ready for spreading in your own time. The contractor can be told when you want him and its ready for him..... one man operation for the contractor and would be faster to come to you.
    If your tractor might not be up to it, continue with the contractor for the whole job.

I would get an agitator if I currently have a tractor of min 90hp. It means that you will have the tanks ready for spreading in your own time. The contractor can be told when you want him and its ready for him..... one man operation for the contractor and would be faster to come to you.
    If your tractor might not be up to it, continue with the contractor for the whole job.

Have tractor and tank
    it's just the agitating that I'. Wondering abt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

agitating is a power hungry job and burns a nice drop of diesel, got an agiator myself a fortnight ago, cheapish enough one that a neighbour had from new and i knew wasnt overworked, (one more reason i bought it) but convenience is probably the main factor a the times of the year ya want contractor to come everyone wants him, not that id be waiting a week for him but we farm heavyish land and if lots of rain coming and theres a window to get it out beforehand i would rather have it done, have it on a 90hp tractor, another reason for buying was we went half on it with my uncle as we buy a few things with him , bale carrier, squeezers, etc. things that generally wouldnt clash so the agitator is costing maller money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭rs8

once you have near enough 100hp you would drive most agitators i would image!

Have tractor and tank
    it's just the agitating that I'. Wondering abt

I'd say you would be better off getting an agitator as you have everything else yourself. 1000 euro could get you a good 2nd hand propeller agitator.

I Was going to go pump if any
    Never seen a propeller one round here
    is propeller suitable for slats really

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

oh tried the fergie 20 on the agitator a few weeks ago:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

know one or two lad that mix slatted tanks with propeller but rather a pump personally, got a major one myself, simple machine, couple of sprockets and a chain is the most of it, most complez part of it is the bushing at the bottom, eaily drivin in fairness, know a lad that got a good looking wexoman for 1400e late last year, said its a great yoke to mix slurry, will drive one tank a span and a half further towards the old mixer(abbey 250)

biddy2013 wrote: »
    oh tried the fergie 20 on the agitator a few weeks ago:eek:

how did it go?

if you told us what tractor you had we might be able to give better advice on what to get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

f140 wrote: »
    how did it go?
    he wont be doing it again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭crossy

There isnt an ideal HP for an agitator.

Different agitators are built to suit different horse power.

You can get agitators to suit 80hp and upwards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Hard to beat the contractor coming with a big baxtard of an agitator and 200hp tractor . He would do in a couple of hours what would take us most of the day and probably as much diesel if not more .
    Around here we wouldn't be too stuck for contractors especially for the like of agitating that can be done at night or in any kind of weather really

f140 wrote: »
    if you told us what tractor you had we might be able to give better advice on what to get.

Claas axos340
    think about 100 hp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

crossy wrote: »
    There isnt an ideal HP for an agitator.

Different agitators are built to suit different horse power.

You can get agitators to suit 80hp and upwards

Bang on!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭aidanki

yes buy a pump

propeller are a waste of time in slatted tanks, unless you have a guiderail system, which u don't I know as u would know what a propeller agitator is otherwise

would do as much would a wooden spoon as a propeller

aidanki wrote: »
    yes buy a pump

propeller are a waste of time in slatted tanks, unless you have a guiderail system, which u don't I know as u would know what a propeller agitator is otherwise

would do as much would a wooden spoon as a propeller

I can't advise on the merits of a pump as we don't have one, but we agitate a 8 bay long tank under 12ft 6inch slats at 8ft deep in less than an hour with a propeller agitator. Access from both ends.
    Don't think a pump woul be much better, never mind the wooden spoon