Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bargain

• 21-01-2014 8:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭

$_35.JPG

This has to be a spoof surely,3700 for a 08 rr on gumtree cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Scam. The tyres would cost that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Tis grand, I bought two similar ones last week. **

**7911534490_6da83f691a.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

possible €37000 price tag may just be a typo.
    also as said above also possible scam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,209 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

If you put it up on adverts.ie for a genuine €3700 you'd still have clowns telling you it's overpriced and they can get another one elsewhere cheaper :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,630 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Swap for an iPhone 3 and money my way?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭testicle

antodeco wrote: »
    Swap for an iPhone 3 and money my way?

Unless it's a 3GS, no deal...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

Still for sale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭ofcork

Ad is still up priced the same,sorry forget how to paste ad here.

Ad is still there with urgent on the photo now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

Ha. No number. For sh1ts and giggles I mailed him. Told him I'd give him an.extra 3 hundred to drive her up to donegal to me. See what bollox comes back

Theres an e class coupe in the background,wonder is it a scorned wife/girlfriend,also advertised on gumtree Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Either that's robbed or it's a scam.
    That house in the background doesn't look like a typical Irish house to me.
    Can anyone spot if the reg on the Merc is Irish?

Reply from me asking if I can buy the car please
    The car is still for sale.It is in a good condition, no scratches,no damages,never been implicated in any accidents,no problems at the engine,runs very well.The price is not negotiable,€3,700.00 firm.The only thing because I am selling it,because I have some problems.
    Just let me know if you are still interested.
    Thank you,
    ##fake name##

Seems like an automated response. I can't figure out what the scam is. Unless I turn up with my €3,700.00 firm and they rob me with weaponry.

Listed as V8 petrol.

No number is an obvious scam - if it was urgent they'd have their number up there lookign to rid ASAP.

G'wan someone with a bit of time troll them there :D

If you use this link: http://www.gumtree.ie/fp-cars/landrover-rngrvr/c8072

You'll see there are 2 identical ads, apart from location. One is Cork, one is Dublin.

Looks legit :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,820 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

JohnCleary wrote: »
    If you use this link: http://www.gumtree.ie/fp-cars/landrover-rngrvr/c8072

You'll see there are 2 identical ads, apart from location. One is Cork, one is Dublin.

Looks legit :pac:

Map says its in Mardyke Parade. ... Can someone pop around for a look ? :)

Not even petrol. ... runs on devil juice: gasoline :)

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

I'm afraid your both wrong lads. The car is in Malin. Luckily enough for me as I said I was in Donegal. I asked for a viewing and a telephone number

The car is located in Malin,Ireland (I just moved here with my new job).We will use eBay Vehicle Purchase Protection, so we can both be protected and insured.I just need your full name and full address so eBay can send you the invoice in which you'll see how to make this transaction trought bank to bank account.The shipping is free.I will send the car with all the papers ( vehicle registration, warranty papers,transfer papers etc ) I am just waiting your full name and address to complete the shipping papers and start the delivery process.
    Thank you,

I'm sending back:
    Sure I'm only up the road from you. I can call round with the cash and drive home. I'd really like a test drive before I buy. I've been looking for one of these for ages. Send me your number sure. Talk soon. X

Hi ,

Because of my new job I'm away most of the time , I will not be able to deal in person. I had pre-arranged the deal with eBay so my presence is not necessary , the car is in their possession ready to be delivered. eBay will handle this transaction for me. The car is insured in case of damage and it takes 5 days to be delivered at your door. It will come with all the necessary paperwork (clear title, bill of sale, user's manual,insurance etc). You will receive all the original documents and keys with the car. I signed all the paperwork and the clear title is ready to be transferred to the new owner.

Please get back to me with your full name, full address so i can forward your details to eBay in order for you to receive the invoice regarding the terms and conditions of this transaction.

Thank you

Lol. Duh, okay then Amanda.

Does this ever work? Has a real human ever fallen for this nonsense? If so, they don't deserve the money they loose.

Wait!!!! Did she say she was insuring it for me too. Feck it. I'm in!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭bodhi085

But isn't the car located in malin ireland. Is that where eBay is?
    Gotta love the scams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

Satanta wrote: »
    Lol. Duh, okay then Amanda.

Does this ever work? Has a real human ever fallen for this nonsense? If so, they don't deserve the money they loose.

Wait!!!! Did she say she was insuring it for me too. Feck it. I'm in!

You need to keep this going, tell them you are in no panic and can wait until it's his day off to come and take a test drive. Make up some random names of imaginary people you 'know' in Malin and ask if they know them. You have to mind funk these scummers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,866 ✭✭✭✭bear1

The RR is on UK plates too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,840 ✭✭✭intellectual dosser

Ah lads the tyres look a bit bald, God knows what other problems have accrued knocking around up in Malin that he's not telling you. Scam for sure, but only the price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

High tax, you couldn't give it away.

Looks legit.

rocky wrote: »
    High tax, you couldn't give it away.

Looks legit.

So? If you drive one of these, a tax bill is the least of your worries

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

It can be a worry if it's half the price of the car ;)

rocky wrote: »
    It can be a worry if it's half the price of the car ;)

If you need to even think about tax costs, a Range Rover isin't for you (not digging at you, i'm generalising).

And besides, the above price is a scam, so the tax isin't half the price of the value of car, nowhere near it

With due respect lads. I have entered into a contract to purchase that motor from Amanda Schmit so hands off! Granted, she has stopped replying to my emails and didn't give me a contact number, but I'm not worried because she travels allot with work. The car is located 40 miles away from me in Malin Ireland, but we have agreed she will post it to me through eBay. She assured me there was 18 months tax on it so I won't have to worry about that for a while.

That is some deal they must have an oversized envelope to post it with, I wonder would an post deliver or dpd.

I love when a car comes with 18 months motor tax:pac:

These scams are out years autotrader.co.uk was full of them and people did send the money never to be given anything so a total loss.

I use to wind these scammers up but got tired of it as there were so many to keep up with.,

Ad is gone now as its sold I suppose:)

ofcork wrote: »
    Ad is gone now as its sold I suppose:)

I bought it sure! No point keeping my new ride up there on Gumtree.

Plus I reported it last night.

There should be teams set up to rid these scum bags and take their assets.

Where there is a deal someone is bound to be caught up. It happens to the best of us and these people are very good at playing you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Darn it! Wanted to buy it since I won $150,000,000 in the Mega Spain Lottery :(

Could have bought it myself after getting a text telling me I have won 500k sterling in some coca cola promotion:)