Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland in Films

• 20-01-2014 12:04am
    Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I was watching a film on TV this evening called Haywire which
    featured Dublin in a thrilling escape/chase scene.

I was thinking at how few action films have been shot here. Do you think Ireland is portrayed well in films? -As a cool, energetic place or do you
    think films portray Ireland as a priest-ridden, lashing rain backwater where the
    majority of the populace are toothless ignorant peasants?

Thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

You'd have to say backwater, mainly.

The likes of the Roddy Doyle trilogy, and Adam and Paul kind of painted us as gombeens. But who cares, you can have a sense of humour about it, as Jimmy Rabitte says the Irish are the blacks of Europe, well "I'm black and I'm proud"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

Were portrayed as begoragh wheres me pot of gold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,708 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Ek Tha Tiger is unrealistic. Not one person asking for a few yoooro

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 661 ✭✭✭Intensive Care Bear

The greatest action movie of all time was made in Ireland - Fatal Deviation http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xX4td1XCkP0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Saving Private Ryan :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

Educating Rita

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

There's nothing more annoying than an american playing an Irishman in Hollywood movies. Particularly when they are trying an Northern Irish accent they fail miserably every time. I'm sure I've noticed similar when they try the southern accent.

Mickey rourke in prayer for the dying wins the crap accent award though there are many close runners up. Tom cruise for one. Di caprio another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

timthumbni wrote: »
    There's nothing more annoying than an american playing an Irishman in Hollywood movies. Particularly when they are trying an Northern Irish accent they fail miserably every time. I'm sure I've noticed similar when they try the southern accent.

Mickey rourke in prayer for the dying wins the crap accent award though there are many close runners up. Tom cruise for one. Di caprio another.

Colin Farrell and Pierce Brosnan too.

Aidan Quinn comes to mind as well. They seem to wheel him into loads of Irish films just because he is Irish American.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,611 ✭✭✭david75

Gene Wilder was in a film shot here in the 70s called Quackser Fortune has a cousin in the Bronx. It's deadly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Not a film but Cork comes across pure daycent like in this Polish cookery/travel show. :)

Forgot about Julia Roberts in mickey Collins and the Frankenstein film she did. Why would anyone have cast her??? Oh and Sean Connery.. Darby and the untouchables. Though saying as he played a Russian with a hard Scottish accent it's hardly surprising.

British and Irish actors are much better at doing american accents. That's possibly because most of them are trained actors as opposed to some pretty boy underwear model who turns to acting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,633 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Saving Private Ryan :)
    Nodster wrote: »
    Educating Rita

Neither were set in Ireland so the majority of viewers had no idea they were looking at Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Brad Pitt in The Devils Own had a good northern accent,didn't say an awful lot though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

JupiterKid wrote: »
    I was watching a film on TV this evening called Haywire which
    featured Dublin in a thrilling escape/chase scene.

I was thinking at how few action films have been shot here. Do you think Ireland is portrayed well in films? -As a cool, energetic place or do you
    think films portray Ireland as a priest-ridden, lashing rain backwater where the
    majority of the populace are toothless ignorant peasants?

Thoughts?

That is quiet possibly the worst movie i have ever seen. Unless its a tourism film, i don't think Ireland is portrayed in any way at all. Its portayed however the movie need it. The movie is portrayed in a certain way rather than Ireland. If that makes sense.

For example, Hollywood is portrayed as a fabulous, glamorous place in movies. However is is a scaldy place full of junkies and sex shops. It is a horrible place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Jagdtiger

The Blue Max

Edit* Disregard, filmed here but not set here (got distracted while reading the op :/ )... Great film though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭Fridge

Ek Tha Tiger is unrealistic. Not one person asking for a few yoooro

It bothers me that yer man didn't tag on.

It would be nice if we were portrayed more accurately, but for that to happen more (decent) Irish film makers would need to be funded. And I can't see any more money being freed up for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

We got a mention in Battle: LA about a meteroite shower falling off the coast of Ireland. The whole cinema cheered :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,741 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

For me it has to be Garage with Pat Shortt and probably his most serious role. It deals with isolation in a Tipperary backwater town, I just think it summed up that kinda country attitude, when someone desperately reaches out to make friends.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭lc180

There's a film from a few years ago called 'Leap Year', its horrific stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 110 ✭✭Ughh

It's not a film but Captain Planet got it fairly spot on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Auldloon

For me it has to be Garage with Pat Shortt and probably his most serious role. It deals with isolation in a Tipperary backwater town, I just think it summed up that kinda country attitude, when someone desperately reaches out to make friends.

I've never heard of that, must watch it. Gets great reviews.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭biketard

Or as quite often happens, they end up with a mixture of Northern and Southern accents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭biketard

Or as quite often happens, they end up with a mixture of the two accents.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,039 ✭✭✭force eleven

Eat the Peach & Taffin, for those who remember those awful days of the mid eighties....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Eat the Peach.

Jaysus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Not that many action films shot here but plenty of good films.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

That low budget mid 00's flick Headrush had the best piss take of a call centre ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Caught that awful drivel 'Flight Of The Doves' recently, dear God, the script must have been written by a chimp.

'This Must Be the Place' starring Sean Penn had quite a bit of it set in and shot in Ireland. The annoying twat from the Tesco ads was in it and as such there was a lot of talk of Tesco and their shares. The Irish scenes were a pointless waste of time which added nothing to the plot and simply delayed the main story from getting up and going. The one great thing was that, much like Haywire it made Ireland look nice. It was shot in such a way as to enhance the beauty of the city and not simply present a drab and depressing depiction of the city as much Irish cinema does.