Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

asking a farmers permission

• 18-01-2014 11:51am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭

Didn't know where else to ask this question,i presume there are farmers reading this forum.
    What kind of a reception do people think i would get if i walked up to a farmer and asked would he mind if i used his huge open field to fly a model airplane?
    And secondly what could happen if i just went into the field and did it without asking?
    All it would be is an hour every week at most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭J.O. Farmer

It will depend on the farmer but if you ask you might get permission. It might depend on what stock he has in the field or later in the year if he closes it for meadow he won't want it tramped.
    Definitely ask though people in general will be more positive towards you than if you go in without permission and same for farmers.

It will depend on the farmer but if you ask you might get permission. It might depend on what stock he has in the field or later in the year if he closes it for meadow he won't want it tramped.
    Definitely ask though people in general will be more positive towards you than if you go in without permission and same for farmers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Injuryprone

I presume you need short grass for take off so that would restrict you to grazing fields which you'd be unlikely to get permission for because of the chance of frightening cattle.

You'd often see people flying planes over racecourses. Is there any near you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 672 ✭✭✭ace86

Best thing is just approach them and tell who you are etc and ask would the farmer mind u flying a model Airplane over is land preferably some where you won't be disturbing livestock and crops. If u ask 9 out of 10 will say no bother work away and just say will u stick to such and such a place and you be grand. Alot of farmers have got sick of lads just showing up at their gates and helping themselves to whatever they wanted to do especially with hunting. Best of luck anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

Stubble field be the best option.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

any gaa pitches near you or would they not be long enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Thanks for the replies. Long grass is better because if you crash it cushions the blow. And it's hand launched so no need to have short grass.
    Gaa fields are ok but they have goal posts and they can be a hindrance.
    A big wide open field with low bushes and no high trees.
    I will ask as i think that's a better way to go myself.
    And it will just be me so no worries of loads of people etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

crazygeryy wrote: »
    And it will just be me so no worries of loads of people etc.

Make sure you mention that and if you do get premition just give him a buzz when you are heading out.

ganmo wrote: »
    Make sure you mention that and if you do get premition just give him a buzz when you are heading out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 794 ✭✭✭fiacha

Bit of a no brainer. Would you expect somebody to ask your permission before entering or doing anything on your own private property ? I know I would.

Start the relationship off on the right foot, and get in touch with the landowner.

They have enough hassle with people trespassing and getting up to all sorts. You'd be surprised what you might get access to once they know you are responsible. My cousins actually like knowing they have someone they trust hunting / walking on their land as they will keep an eye out for people fly-tipping etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

I had a guy in the past fly his model aircraft. Cattle didn't give bit of notice to the noise. The ground was a bit rough so he didn't make much use of it..

Thinking laterally. If you got one of those helicopters with a camera on it you could count the cows for him...

Figerty wrote: »
    I had a guy in the past fly his model aircraft. Cattle didn't give bit of notice to the noise. The ground was a bit rough so he didn't make much use of it..

Thinking laterally. If you got one of those helicopters with a camera on it you could count the cows for him...

Something on the news the other day about those. I think there is a clamp down coming in on them as the government reckons there is gonna be a large increase in their use and there might be an invasion of privacy

Reggie. wrote: »
    Something on the news the other day about those. I think there is a clamp down coming in on them as the government reckons there is gonna be a large increase in their use and there might be an invasion of privacy

Feck all they can do about it. You get any RC model, stick a wireless web camera on it, add a little ingenuity and its away you go.

Figerty wrote: »
    Feck all they can do about it. You get any RC model, stick a wireless web camera on it, add a little ingenuity and its away you go.

Yeah but from a certain size I think

Reggie. wrote: »

Really the government sees a large increase in use and invasion of privacy is they're concern. I would have thought taxing it is what they would do. Maybe their worried about thinkins/pissups.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Get the right farmer, and he will be begging to have a go at the controls! I never tried the remote control planes, but had a few lessons in an ultralight a few years ago, and found my experience with hydraulic excavators a huge disadvantage. Move the stick...nothing happens so move it more. Now she moves far too much and the instructor is saying "be gentle" and I'm going " Hitachi or JCB would never put up with this sloppy response" Great crack, and even thought of putting a runway down the middle of the land, but the money ran out (and kids came along :) )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

what part of the country are you from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

offer him lessons in flying it and bottle of brandy might help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭micraX

I know of a lad in England (runs farmingphotography.com) and he was using a drone thing to get bird eye view of silage harvesting. there was a small army barracks down the road and a few minutes later they came into the field and confiscated it.

micraX wrote: »
    I know of a lad in England (runs farmingphotography.com) and he was using a drone thing to get bird eye view of silage harvesting. there was a small army barracks down the road and a few minutes later they came into the field and confiscated it.

Sounds about right

Haven't the heard of google maps???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

rs8 wrote: »
    what part of the country are you from?

I presume your asking me. Im in Limerick. I think I've found a place to fly it.nice if it was a bit bigger but it will do for now.
    As for cameras etc i have one on it.but invasion of privacy that's rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 445 ✭✭rs8

crazygeryy wrote: »
    I presume your asking me. Im in Limerick. I think I've found a place to fly it.nice if it was a bit bigger but it will do for now.
    As for cameras etc i have one on it.but invasion of privacy that's rubbish.

ah right, some aircraft group have a green up hear in the bog in ballivor meath, every sunday they do be out i think! no good to you tho