Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Axa claim 26/12/13 No story yet... WTF?

• 17-01-2014 9:40pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭

A relative of mine made a claim with axa, who escaped a serious car crash due to black ice on st stephens day. He was turning around a corner, without realizing there was severe black ice on the road and ended up braking and it overturned somehow and he hit the ditch too.

He has already filled out the claims form, and the gardai took their part in it too on the day for the insurance company.

After two weeks had passed he rang with dissatisfaction. The insurance company stated that they were sorry due to the backlog ( amount of claims people made over the xmas period ).

3 weeks then my relative has had no car, and he was working 4 days a week 30km from his hometown, ever since i've been giving him lifts to and from work which is very stressful for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

DominicKid wrote: »
    A relative of mine made a claim with axa, who escaped a serious car crash due to black ice on st stephens day. He was turning around a corner, without realizing there was severe black ice on the road and ended up braking and it overturned somehow and he hit the ditch too.

He has already filled out the claims form, and the gardai took their part in it too on the day for the insurance company.

After two weeks had passed he rang with dissatisfaction. The insurance company stated that they were sorry due to the backlog ( amount of claims people made over the xmas period ).

3 weeks then my relative has had no car, and he was working 4 days a week 30km from his hometown, ever since i've been giving him lifts to and from work which is very stressful for me.

Is his car a write off, has it even been assessed? That's pretty poor and I'd have to say unusual given I have a bit of interaction with Axa regularly. He's not going to get indefinite hire anyway, in a situation like this they'll likely give him a week as a courtesy and then he's on his own until his car is fixed/cheque clears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 497 ✭✭DominicKid

The car:
    Toyota Yaris 00 5dr Hatchback 1.0l
    Miles about 120,000+
    The cars windows front and back need replacement, loads of scratchs, side mirrors gone, not sure about rest
    The insurance company told him that he won't receive a check but a replacement although he wanted money...
    No claims in about 5+ years

He is very disappointed and needs advice after ringing them up several times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭bigboss1986

The car:
    Miles about 120,000+
    The cars windows front and back need replacement, loads of scratchs, side mirrors gone, not sure about rest
    The insurance company told him that he won't receive a check but a replacement although he wanted money...

It will be write off so his car needs to be assessed and AXA will make him an offer.I would put pressure on them.

I was claiming from 3rd party insurance (Liberty).Very easy to deal with.Took 15 days to get check in post :D Incident happened 21/12.

It will be write off so his car needs to be assessed and AXA will make him an offer.I would put pressure on them.

I was claiming from 3rd (Liberty).Very easy to deal with.Took 15 days to get check in post :D Incident happened 21/12.

He has comprehensive insurance.
    It's assessed already and they said he'll only get a replacement but wants a cheque?
    21 Days passed so far..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

ever since i've been giving him lifts to and from work which is very stressful for me.

ah jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭bigboss1986

It's assessed already and they said he'll only get a replacement but wants a cheque?
    21 Days passed so far..

What replacement for 2000 Yaris?If car was assessed they will put value of the damage.Are they going to fix it?I doubt because car is old.Axa wil make him an offer as he is claiming from his comp . ins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭robtri

21 Days passed so far..

This does not make sense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,846 ✭✭✭discombobulate

He's mad to be claiming on his insurance for a 00 Yaris. Unless he has no claims protection his insurance will go up by as much as the car is worth!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 677 ✭✭✭dougie-lampkin

The car:
    Miles about 120,000+

I'd assume it's a write off if they're replacing the car? He'd be mad to lose his no claims over this, what kind of value do you think they'll put on a 14 year old 1.0 with 200,000+ km on the clock? Less than what he's going to pay them back! Even with no claims protection, he'll still be loaded for having a claim on his policy.

What exactly is he looking for? It takes a while for insurance assessors to do their thing, 3 weeks is on the lower end of the waiting scale. If he's fully comp he should be able to claim for car hire in the interim. His timing is particularly unlucky, I'm sure the assessors were given a few days off for Christmas and probably have a backlog to clear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

Car worth €1500 max, why even bother with fully comp? Madness to claim over such a small amount...they will pay less than a grand out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

As above. Chalk it down to experience of an icy road.

You'll pay more in the long run with increased insurance repayments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

corktina wrote: »
    Car worth €1500 max, why even bother with fully comp? Madness to claim over such a small amount...they will pay less than a grand out

Comprehensive makes sense sometimes - usually comes with few extras (winscreen cover, road assistance etc). If the difference in premium was 100 euro then why not. But i definitely wouldn't claim for a written off car - losing 5 years discount and paying higher premium next year would cancel the insurance payout very quickly.
    If the OP's uncle had no NCB at all, then the relatively small claim wouldn't affect the future premium that much, but his 5+years are worth more than the car in the long run.

He mentioned when he took out insurance that it was worth €3,500 :L and hes a learner too by the way...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

He mentioned when he took out insurance that it was worth €3,500 :L and hes a learner too by the way...

Let me grab a popcorn now;)

He could put even 35000, they don't care. They will put whatever their valuation is, and with an excess of 200-500 euro he will get close to 1000 if he is lucky.
    He might get zero if they find out he was driving on his own anyway (unless he wasn't).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

He could have told them it was worth a 10,000 for all it matters. You'll only ever see the market value, which is 1200-1500 for a Yaris of that age.

Absolutely not worth your time claiming. And if he's still on a learner permit at this stage it's definitely going to hurt the premium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,259 ✭✭✭lau1247

yeah with the excess he has to pay, he might as well chip in a little more and get another second hand of the same.. save more long term

West Dublin, ☀️ 7.83kWp ⚡5.66 kWp South West, ⚡2.18 kWp North East

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

and get a bit for scrap too