Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One general question..

• 17-01-2014 1:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭

I might call into my local bookie 2-3 times a week, do a horse or a bet I fancy, and so on. I am always amazed at the crew that are there all day and then come rushing to the counter at the last second, throw in there half written docket, and jump the queue. I reckon its usually greyhounds they are backing, but Im not sure. Why do they wait till the last second to bet? Just curious to know....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Jayo11780

yup annoys the b****cks outa me too....
    and its usually the nob who'll put a fiver or less on it as well.

I always think that maybe it's a system they're following, waiting till the last second after watching the live betting to place their bet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

tucker1971 wrote: »
    I might call into my local bookie 2-3 times a week, do a horse or a bet I fancy, and so on. I am always amazed at the crew that are there all day and then come rushing to the counter at the last second, throw in there half written docket, and jump the queue. I reckon its usually greyhounds they are backing, but Im not sure. Why do they wait till the last second to bet? Just curious to know....

Keeps the fear up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭LOTTOWINNER

Well if you were paying for the electricity, the heat and the tea and biscuits, you'd probably want some perks as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭tonic wine

Most of the time end up throwing their slip into the bin after the race....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Jayo11780 wrote: »
    and its usually the nob who'll put a fiver or less on it as well.

I always think that maybe it's a system they're following, waiting till the last second after watching the live betting to place their bet.

You're thinking too deeply about it - they don't have a system! They are merely the sad cases (addicts) who bet on every event and it is hard for them to keep up with all the virtual roulette/velo/soccer/dogs as well as real-life horses (from all over the world) and dogs.

A fiver would be a huge bet for these guys, normally reserved for the very start of the day. In my experience, they usually bet between 1 and 2 euro.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

I rarely go into any shops anymore because of these deadbeats. I can't understand grown men who spend 6 or 7 hours everyday in a betting shop who have 50+ bets all for €1. There's a guy who basically lives in the bookies closest to me & he takes the shops copy of the racing post & doesn't even read it. When other customers ask him for it he says he's using it. This guy will run up to the counter on the off, gets his bet put through & then fiddles around in his wallet for change. Usually he does 25c tricasts & screams & shouts at the screens. His worst trait is if there's someone after backin a horse he'll do his best to get it beaten. This guy would stop a train.

Betting shops are dead in my eyes, 20 years ago these losers wouldn't be left inside the door. If someone tried to get a 25c tricast in a shop years ago he'd be kicked out the door. Bookies these days are no place for anyone half serious about having a bet. Absolutely impossible to concentrate on a race or a paper when these deadbeats are screaming & shouting at a cartoon race. Fiver punters rule the shops nowadays & it won't stop anytime soon.

Anyone ever get held up at the counter by some clown doing 40 euromillions dockets? Another reason I hate the bookies these days. It's a betting shop, not an arcade or a lotto agent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

just be glad they never allowed FOBTs into bookies over here.

We very nearly had them, all Ladbrokes shops were fitted with outlets for these a few years ago. I'd genuinely fear for people's health & safety if they did come in. With so much pressure on the firms in England lately I can't ever see the government passing the legislation here. FOBTs are literally killing people in the uk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

These losers are the reason I think welfare should be 50 vouchers for supermarkets where you can only buy food and up to four cans. All this whining about starving families is because these deadbeats give all their dole to the bookie/ pub across the way and then down to SVDP for handouts.

Hate the pricks myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,315 ✭✭✭Soft Falling Rain

I used to work in a bookies and I can confirm that the majority of these fools do back small. They're also the most likliest to be ***** to staff.

At the same time I've taken bets off punters backing in hundreds, see their horse lose and then quietly walk out. My heart actually used to sink in those situations, but at the end of the day if you're willing to back that big, you have to be willing to take the hit. I'm sure they wouldn't want anyone feeling sorry for them anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 177 ✭✭tucker1971

They also barely write on the betting slip, i.e no, 2, 1.15. No race meeting or horse name on the slip. Bookie should enforce a policy of meeting and horse name been wrote clearly on the slip. This would stop a lot of the last minute rushing, but its prob only the fellow customer that if affects as money is money to a bookie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

FOBT , the cocaine of gambling, should never be let into this country. EVER.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Two things I will never understand and pity are:

1 - people who go to a bookies actively 'looking' for a bet, any bet just for the sake of it. If you've any common sense you'll have studied, checked oddschecker for best price and only go to the bookies knowing the horse you want to back.

2 - people who stay in one bookies all day and either follow money or back fav in every race. I'd assume this is why most degenerates leave it so late. It also gives them a ready made excuse when their horse is beaten as they'll predictably claim the horse should have won and that jockey/trainer/bookie must be bent. They never seem to understand that a horse was overbet or simply the wrong price and a false favourite. The same fools also tend to back rags in Paddy Powers, for example, even if they're a point or two bigger with Boyles across the street.

The mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Cart

BumperD wrote: »
    FOBT , the cocaine of gambling, should never be let into this country. EVER.

What is fobt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Cart wrote: »
    What is fobt

I'm assuming they're talking about Fixed Odds Betting Terminals?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fixed_odds_betting_terminal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭Cart

convert wrote: »
    I'm assuming they're talking about Fixed Odds Betting Terminals?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fixed_odds_betting_terminal

Ta convert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,926 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

The FOBT's are poison alright. Was over for a booze-up with family in England awhile back and was popping in and out during the day to a Ladbrokes that happened to be next to the pub. The four FOBT's seemed to be in almost constant use from when I was there, lads just staring at them like zombie's and shovelling in money. One fella happened to have his kid with him and the poor lad was obviously getting bored standing around and was asking his father when they were going home. Yer man must have lost the last of his cash, because pretty soon after, he got up from the stool in a huff, nearly yanked the arm of the boy in anger and started dragging him out of the shop.

Would be a very small punter myself these days, so I can't say i have any problem with people betting a Euro. Do most of my bets online, but still pop into the bookie around the corner from me on a Saturday morning. It's mostly a social thing, would catch up with a few lads I would have knocked around with 10-20 years ago when I was a mad gambler. Sometimes I might even get a good tip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Huntley

Snobbery amongst gamblers is strange. I'd be pretty confident there are plenty of readers and contributors on here who throw their fivers away everyday of the week in a similar vein as the 'deadbeats' sitting in the shop.

Huntley wrote: »
    Snobbery amongst gamblers is strange. I'd be pretty confident there are plenty of readers and contributors on here who throw their fivers away everyday of the week in a similar vein as the 'deadbeats' sitting in the shop.

I'd seriously doubt that there's "plenty" of people on here backing multiple horses every day of the week. In relation to 'deadbeats', there's no more suitable a word for describing the zombies who sit in a bookie shop all day putting little thought into what they're backing while expecting to beat the book over 10-20 bets, on everything from dogs to virtual tripe. People on here put thought and reasoning into their picks - whether right or wrong - which IMO shows they value money, unlike the majority of deadbeats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,460 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

When I went to college over in Wales about 8 years ago now i had bit of a problem staying away from FOBT. I throw in a pound, normally roulette for me. Back Red then try double it. Might pick few numbers at 20p each.

I very rarely won. I was just lucky that I was not losing a lot, but still I was just throwing away £20-40 a week. Not a lot you may say, but when your in College that is nice bit. Luckily I had good summer job and also worked twice week in shop over, but I counted out how much I lost and I reckon it was around £7-800. At time that was about 1200euro. Not to be sniffed at over 9 months.

I never had problem with Football, Golf or small bets I do on horses, but FOBT was the killer for me. Ya I still did odd stupid bet on Sports but that were rare. I never chased my loses on Sports betting, but FOBT were just staring at you waiting to take your money.

My mates also had same problem. Be they Irish Or British lads I knew. I say if we gathered up how much we lost between us we have saved up for dam good holiday.

If they ever come to Ireland they will destroy people. They will destroy the addict who already has a problem. They will lure in young lads who see this as potential easy money(like me years ago).

It will 10folfd the problem of gambling addiction here if they do. I dont say that lightly.

Thought and reasoning isn't the norm on here from what I can see. Every daily thread will have numerous selections by people accompanied by nothing more than the time of the race. I don't have any problem with that, people have different reasons and purposes for gambling. It isn't for myself to judge nor do I really care. I find the snobbishness of some of the views here quite strange however. Putting thought and effort into selections doesn't instantly guarantee that somebody can be accredited to the upper echelon of the gambling society. I've read some analysis on here that would be no more beneficial than listening to the man in the shop staring at the paper all day. Anybody willing to part with their cash on a risk basis has little right to frown upon others who do similar under different circumstances.

Those deadbeats you describe are more than likely comprised of people who do it as a hobby or who have serious problems. I think there are plenty of both who are readers and contributors on this site.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Thought and reasoning isn't the norm on here from what I can see. /quote]

I'm actually delighted to see you admit that.

Thought and reasoning isn't the norm on here from what I can see. Every daily thread will have numerous selections by people accompanied by nothing more than the time of the race. I don't have any problem with that, people have different reasons and purposes for gambling. It isn't for myself to judge nor do I really care. I find the snobbishness of some of the views here quite strange however. Putting thought and effort into selections doesn't instantly guarantee that somebody can be accredited to the upper echelon of the gambling society. I've read some analysis on here that would be no more beneficial than listening to the man in the shop staring at the paper all day. Anybody willing to part with their cash on a risk basis has little right to frown upon others who do similar under different circumstances.

Those deadbeats you describe are more than likely comprised of people who do it as a hobby or who have serious problems. I think there are plenty of both who are readers and contributors on this site.

As I've said, it doesn't matter if you agree with people or not on here - it's people's opinions and they're entitled to them...game of opinions etc etc etc. You for one though clearly see yourself as better than most on the site with your attitude. Is that gamblers snobbery?

Anybody in bookies 9-5 betting dogs and virtual is a deadbeat, problems or not. Stop trying to suggest otherwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭meath4sam

What does it matter how much anyone puts on a bet, if it's 1 euro or 100. They are entitled to be in the bookies just as much as anyone else. And they not all deadbeats some people just like to pass the day in the bookies doing 1 euro bets and they could be millionaires but enjoy spending there day there. I read this forum a lot and don't post much but there is definitely a bit of snobbery on this forum in relation to the size of bets placed,as at the end of the day the people who gamble more just lose more.

meath4sam wrote: »
    What does it matter how much anyone puts on a bet, if it's 1 euro or 100. They are entitled to be in the bookies just as much as anyone else. And they not all deadbeats some people just like to pass the day in the bookies doing 1 euro bets and they could be millionaires but enjoy spending there day there. I read this forum a lot and don't post much but there is definitely a bit of snobbery on this forum in relation to the size of bets placed,as at the end of the day the people who gamble more just lose more.

I've no problem with what people bet (small punter myself) just how some people bet in a bookies.

jimjamcos wrote: »
    As I've said, it doesn't matter if you agree with people or not on here - it's people's opinions and they're entitled to them...game of opinions etc etc etc. You for one though clearly see yourself as better than most on the site with your attitude. Is that gamblers snobbery?

Anybody in bookies 9-5 betting dogs and virtual is a deadbeat, problems or not. Stop trying to suggest otherwise.

Not even three sentences between totally contradicting yourself.

My attitude is that it's strangely ironic you feel entitled to classify certain groups as deadbeats. You could conceivably be considered the same by some.

Not even three sentences between totally contradicting yourself.

My attitude is that it's strangely ironic you feel entitled to classify certain groups as deadbeats. You could conceivably be considered the same by some.

Haha good lad, thought you might reply with that alright. Few questions for you so:

What do you, truthfully, think of such people when you see them in a shop? Do you pity them or not care less what they do with their money?

Do you think they are making a profit betting so much?

Do you think they all have zero responsibilities - no wife, kids, etc?

Do you think they're better off there full-time rather than looking for work or educating themselves?

I have absolute no problem with people spending a day in a bookies for the craic (have done so myself in the past) but people that spend every day, all week in them are fooling themselves and their families. These people are not professional punters, or at least not successful ones. If they were, they'd be at home on a laptop or running around shops for best price.

You seem very sensitive on the issue and who knows, maybe you're one of these people (no offence intended if so) but if you could share your knowledge on the above questions, that would be great. Ta

Dear me. This level of muppetry is enough for me I'm afraid.

Take your time buddy..

Huntley you have over simplified the whole thing by saying some people here could be considered deadbeats for having a good few bets on horses during a week.

From posting/ reading here no doubt you will have a fair idea that the majority of posters are working and spending their own hard earned on as many bets of as many size as they wish. Compared to what I view as deadbeats, people of working age who spend all day every day in bookies spending welfare (that they get for free from us taxpayers) or their wifes wages on favourite after favourite while ducking in and out to the pub.

As for people not posting "analysis" when posting their fancy doesn't mean that their selections are less likely to win than someone who does post analysis.

I don't see how much someone bets on a selection really matters as it is all relative.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

I remember asking the cashier why he was so busy on a particular midweek day. . Children's allowance day was his response.

I wonder how much Welfare money ends up going straight to the bookies? food vouchers might help cut it down, but didn't Centra run an ad recently advertising "drinks specials" on children's allowance day?

Howjoe1 wrote: »
    I wonder how much Welfare money ends up going straight to the bookies? food vouchers might help cut it down, but didn't Centra run an ad recently advertising "drinks specials" on children's allowance day?

I remember hearing that alright, sickening stuff. The allowance isn't great but your children and family have to come first, end of.

hucklebuck wrote: »

As for people not posting "analysis" when posting their fancy doesn't mean that their selections are less likely to win than someone who does post analysis.

I don't see how much someone bets on a selection really matters as it is all relative.

I'm not sure are these directed at me, I would agree with both and have said as much in previous posts. It was actually others who were critical of both the points above, not I.

I think the majority of people sitting in a shop for the day either do so as a hobby or have a problem. I think there are readers and contributors on this site who could be classified in either category.

Spending welfare money, being employed etc is not what I am getting at. I have nothing more to add to this thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

FOBTs are poison IMO. I don't have a huge amount if experience of the uk but I remember sitting my last professional exam in 2008, had a tutorial in Leeds not long before the Cheltenham festival. Would knock into the Hills down the road for a read of the Racingpost. There would be people queuing to get onto the machines pouring cash in

I remember when Victor Chandler set up in Ireland. There was an interview with him in The Irish Field. Said he hoped FOBTs would appear in Ireland and he was confident they would (thankfully so far he got that but wrong). Said they pay the over heads for shops in the uk. They are (legally and above board) rigged to guarantee the bettor a loss over the long run. You can't have an edge

I remember sitting next to a bookmakers rep on a plane one day (shall remain nameless, he's not a person I know just happened to sit beside him). Told me the addiction rate is similar to that of cocaine. Another guy I know once told me a different bookmakers rep told him a very similar tale

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

Fobt are already in some bookies in rural areas and I'll tell you what. The local Gardai wouldn't know whether they were legal or not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,893 ✭✭✭allthedoyles

I'm one of those guys that wait until last second to bet on the dogs - Usually rush up to counter after the bell .

Reason for me is that the Bookie does not give better price on dogs ,, so need to watch the betting and see which one is been backed .
    Then I will back the 2nd favourite , and it usually works .:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

What I find horrible when Im in a bookies is seeing virtual racing everywhere. Back in my college days I used to spend quite a bit of time in the bookies so in theory the OP could have placed me in that "deadbeat" category. I used to bet a little on virtual races(€2s and €5s) and probably only 10 races in total ever. But anyway one day I was watching a virtual race and this customer started chatting to me saying he uses this system putting a few 10cents of trifecta with the same 3 numbers. It sounded like he was using it for years. That really shocked me to see someone so consumed by the whole thing and possibly deluded?. On another note the bookies state the result is determined by a random number generator but Im certain if someone was daft enough ,and assuming the bookies accepted it, to put €50k on a horse in Steepledowns that a few buttons would be pressed in HQ to make sure that horse would lose. It is very open to rigging and is just preying on the vulnerable addict. It is truly scary to see the amount of betting opportunities available nowadays.

I understand some people might like to spend the day in the bookies on their weekend off or some other reason. Cheltenham is the only time I would spend hours in there and tbh when you come back out its a brilliant feeling. The smell and stuffiness is the bookies after Cheltenham is horrible. Since college I wouldnt have the time nor the interest to be spending hours in there. I just bet on all the big jumps festivals, big races and some international races. I would never have any interest in the runners in a class6 in Lingfield so I dont bet on it.

At least the "addicts" that live in the bookies appear to be only using their own welfare money. IMO what has the potential to be far more destructive is internet gambling. We've all heard of respectable middle class men losing hundreds of thousands. Very sad really.

I'm one of those guys that wait until last second to bet on the dogs

In other words you're a clown?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,191 ✭✭✭NewApproach

Betting shops are absolute cesspits. God help anyone who goes in there for any reason other than to nick a price.

A free read of the Racingpost also has its charms ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭unitedrover

Thank god I've no experience of smoking in the bookies. Bet they were dire places back then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭PeterKelly!

Nice spot to nurse a hangover with a can of coke and a hot chicken roll while simultaneously sussing out the days racing :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Pinesky

Thank god I've no experience of smoking in the bookies. Bet they were dire places back then
    There was a notice in a bookies
    In Ennistymon.
    When the floor is full please feel free to use the ashtray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Have to agree, was at a loose end there last week and went in to kill a half an hour, I was just walking out when I met a friend and my first comment to him was ''thank fcuk for the internet'', they really are shocking places, felt genuinely sorry for the staff aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Absolutely hate the bookies, Used to spend a good chunk of the day in their when I was younger and first started gambling. Can't stands them for more than ten minutes now, I go in read the racing post and see if theirs any specials that take my eye then I'm off.

Full of know it alls talking ****e all day and shouting at the telly

Have to agree, was at a loose end there last week and went in to kill a half an hour, I was just walking out when I met a friend and my first comment to him was ''thank fcuk for the internet'', they really are shocking places, felt genuinely sorry for the staff aswell.

Totally agree. The first day of the 2011 Cheltenham Festival we'd an electrician doing work so no electricity => no TV. Watched it in a bookies, one of the most awful experiences of my life

Apart from that I used to drop in the odd time to watch a race that wasn't on Terrestial TV/ATR. MO was go in, watch race. leave ASAP