Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Real life moments that feel/felt like a movie scene

• 17-01-2014 1:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,689 ✭✭✭✭

Ever get that experience?

Happened to me a few weeks ago. I was attending an interview for a promotion in work and was dressed up in a suit as a result. During lunch I was casually walking around town feeling important like wearing a suit does to a man. Decided to walk into a bookshop to get a few ideas about new editions to my kindle.....

Anyway when I walked into said bookshop, this absolutely gorgeous shop assistant caught my eye and just as we locked eyes on each other Six Pence Non the Richer's classic tune "Kiss Me" came on the radio. Hell, it even felt like time stood still for a moment, to add to the cinematographic effect.

It reminded of something you'd see in some rom-com, when Paul Rudd (playing the role of Castletownman naturally enough), meets the lead actress, played by Mila Kunis, for the first time.

Although, I probably still wouldn't watch it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭Daffodil.d

Did you ask her out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Nichololas

Daffodil.d wrote: »
    Did you ask her out?

They locked eyes and all he could think about was Paul Rudd, what do you think

Did you ask her out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,689 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Did you ask her out?

No. It was just one of those random moments. Didn't get the promotion either but hey this ain't the movies :D

I'm copying and pasting this - I posted it elsewhere on Wednesday.

Defo like something out of bridesmaids or the likes. Fcuk it, it involves intimate things but it's too funny not to share.
    I just had the funniest experience of my life, I cannot stop laughing.

Boys if you don't like the thoughts of girls getting waxed don't read this.

I went to get my bits waxed there after work. I went to a new place because it was handy to work and they used good wax. Went in and an Indian girl told me to take a seat and I hear her going in the back and talking in Indian to another woman who was having a very loud personal conversation on the phone. All I heard a couple of times was "Hollywood, Hollywood" so the girl comes back and sends me into a cubicle to get sorted.

She comes in and starts putting STRIP wax on me, I was like ehhhh hot was please so she tells me it's grand she'll use hot wax on sensitive areas. Ok says I. Waxes the top and the left of my bikini with the strips and then puts on hot wax. Well. SHE COULDNT GET THE ****ING THING OFF she's pulling at it and it's like superglue, I'm grabbing the fcuking walls and she's calling her boss for help in Indian and the boss just keeps shouting Hollywood Hollywood. Eventually she gets the stuff off and I tell get to he the fcuk off me basically, that she hasn't a clue what she's at. She offers to "tidy me up" but I was like not a fcuking hope you're getting near my bits again so I got dressed and attempted to storm out but I got caught in the curtain and was twirling around it it for ages before she opened it :pac:

I'M ONLY HALF FCUKING WAXED :pac: :pac: :pac:

Oh god it's the funniest thing ever :pac:

(and for the record - I'm all sorted now :P)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Legs.Eleven

HAHAHAHAAHAHA!!!

Defo like something out of bridesmaids or the likes. Fcuk it, it involves intimate things but it's too funny not to share.

(and for the record - I'm all sorted now :P)

Oscar worthy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Ah, I know that place!

There's a mad sadistic chick in there that is always daring the staff to superglue pieces of velcro to ladies vajayjays.

The girls always say no to her, apart from this one girl called Holly.

Sorry.

I wouldn't mind, I didn't even want a hollywood :o

But the only bit that I like left is the bit she decided to [try to] take :o

I had to be careful not to be hit by any buses while I was, um, patchy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Did you ask her out?

Will you stop asking him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

Nearly murdered (stabbed to death) from a load of Philippino gangsters and saved by a Russian woman.

Crazy shît!

Nearly murdered (stabbed to death) from a load of Philippino gangsters and saved by a Russian woman.

Crazy shît!

All in a day's work on Albert Square Billy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

All in a day's work on Albert Square Billy :D

No Phil or Grant to help me out this time either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

Yes, I know that experience and I love it.

A few years ago I went on holidays to Amsterdam - I had lived in Netherlands for a few years in my twenties and was really excited to be making a return trip, more than ten years later. On my second night there (I was there for 5 nights) I met a French man and he asked me on a date. I said yes, and we arranged to meet in two days time.

We met up early in the day at Amsterdam train station and from there took a boat trip to a beautiful beach. We had a long walk on the beach, ate lunch at a beach restaurant and took the boat/ferry back to Amsterdam that evening. When we got back to Amsterdam we decided to go for pints and, as my date had his bicycle with him, he offered me a lift on the back of his bike. It was dark by now and as we sped through the streets of Amsterdam, my mind pleasantly glazed by some of Amsterdam's finest green, my hair blowing behind me in the gentle breeze, I had not just a moment but ten entire minutes (the length of time it took for us to get to the pub) of feeling like I was the gorgeous lead lady in a quirky French film, with my handsome French man, the sparkly city lights, and the promise of some post-pub romance. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭burnhardlanger

Trying to use the new Irish Rail toilets when the new trains came in.
    I pushed the open button and pressed the close button (assuming the door was indeed closed).

In my haste to drop trousers and unload, I misheard the automated voice kindly reminding me to press the lock button.

So I'm sitting on the bowl when I hear a PSSSSSSST...WHOOOOOSH.

The door swung open so fast, the result was me, stinking, stunned and staring up at a middle aged woman who without batting an eyelid said a measured "Oh..I'm sorry" and pushed the open/close button again.

Mortified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭B_Rabbit

Did you ask her out?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I constantly have dramatic music playing in my head for some reason so everything feels like a movie moment to me. Even something as dramatic as putting sugar in coffee is exciting when you've this playing over and over in your head.

Fizzlesque wrote: »

A few years ago I went on holidays to Amsterdam - I had lived in Netherlands for a few years in my twenties and was really excited to be making a return trip, more than ten years later. On my second night there (I was there for 5 nights) I met a French man and he asked me on a date. I said yes, and we arranged to meet in two days time.

We met up early in the day at Amsterdam train station and from there took a boat trip to a beautiful beach. We had a long walk on the beach, ate lunch at a beach restaurant and took the boat/ferry back to Amsterdam that evening. When we got back to Amsterdam we decided to go for pints and, as my date had his bicycle with him, he offered me a lift on the back of his bike. It was dark by now and as we sped through the streets of Amsterdam, my mind pleasantly glazed by some of Amsterdam's finest green, my hair blowing behind me in the gentle breeze, I had not just a moment but ten entire minutes (the length of time it took for us to get to the pub) of feeling like I was the gorgeous lead lady in a quirky French film, with my handsome French man, the sparkly city lights, and the promise of some post-pub romance. ;)

And did that scene feature in this french flick? :D They usually do :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

Oh yeah got I got it last week in the club with some incredible beautiful woman came up dancing then we started to kiss, Sounds like I'm making this up but yeah it happened and I left the club early with big smile on my face even though I had to walk about a mile to get home, I'm never going to be pessimistic again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,475 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Happened to me a few weeks ago. I was attending an interview for a promotion in work and was dressed up in a suit as a result. During lunch I was casually walking around town feeling important like wearing a suit does to a man. Decided to walk into a bookshop to get a few ideas about new editions to my kindle.....

Anyway when I walked into said bookshop, this absolutely gorgeous shop assistant caught my eye and just as we locked eyes on each other Six Pence Non the Richer's classic tune "Kiss Me" came on the radio. Hell, it even felt like time stood still for a moment, to add to the cinematographic effect.

It reminded of something you'd see in some rom-com, when Paul Rudd (playing the role of Castletownman naturally enough), meets the lead actress, played by Mila Kunis, for the first time.

Although, I probably still wouldn't watch it :D

A friend of mine had the same thing happen to her. Some creepy guy was staring at her and the tight arse didnt even buy anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭Fizzlesque

And did that scene feature in this french flick? :D They usually do :D

It certainly did - twice :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

During the hot spell last Summer, I came to a two lane junction at traffic lights and was in the lane for going straight ahead. This guy, in the same make and colour car as mine pulls up on my right to turn right. We both had our windows down and were both listening to the same song on the radio.

I look over at him, he looks at me, he nods, I give a thumbs up and by chance my foot hit the accelerator revving the engine. Next thing I know, the other guy revs his engine. So there we are, at a red light revving away like it's the start of a grand prix. There was a family on the footpath waiting for the green man to cross looking on, the kids were open mouthed.

Then as the light turned green, the two of us just drove away normally with the sound of kids going "awwwwwww" in the background.

Still there was about 10 seconds there that movie material.

One day I was walking into Malahide and just as I crossed the bridge, a Garda car went past, going in the opposite direction, but then slowed down, turned and came back towards me. Guard asks me where I was headed and I just told him I was going into town to get something to eat and he told me to go back in the direction I came. I didn't want hassle so pretended to do that, but when he drove off, I immediately turned around and headed back into Maladide (was either that or walk to Swords and I was starving so wasn't doing that).

Anyway, smart fcuker comes back down after me with the siren on and lights flashing away. Tells me I have one more chance to go to Swords or I'm getting arrested. I am just about to go when he starts pushing and shoving me and so push him back and so he handcuffs me and I end up getting thrown in the cells. Then, no word of a lie, they start hosing me down in there with ice cold water, but because I had been in the Civil Defence for years, and seen a lot of things I'd rather not talk about, I just snapped. Kicked the fcuk out of about three Ban Gardai and hightailed it down the Main St with half the station chasing after me.

Not proud of this, but I kicked this Domino's Pizza guy clean off his moped, hoped on and sped off in the direction of Portmarnock. Thought I could lose them on the beach but one of the fcukers managed to get his car down onto the sand and so I ripped through the Golf course and headed for the back roads but the fcuking Garda from Swords had set up a road block there and so no option but to jump the wall surrounding Malahide Castle but I ended up getting tangled in the branches and with Gardas approaching fast, I was left with no option but to free fall into the ditch below. Cut my fecking arm pn the branches though, but with the skills I learned with the Civil Defense, I just gave it a lick and rub and it was grand.

It all turned out fine in the end, my old superior at CD spoke up for me, explained that I have served my country well over the years and that if it wasn't for me, many hundreds of Irish citizens could very easily have become extremely thirsty and dehydrated at concerts and music festivals. No charges were brought and so I bear no grudge or ill feelings towards the people involved that day, in fact, I laugh now looking back on it all and also of course smile a little to myself when I think about how similar the whole thing was to Die Hard.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Boarded the midnight train to Vienna at the Gare de l'Est and leaned out the window to kiss my friend goodbye. She kept her lips on mine for a few skipped paces as the train pulled away, then waved while laughing and finishing her glass of champagne.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Oh yeah got I got it last week in the club with some incredible beautiful woman came up dancing then we started to kiss, Sounds like I'm making this up but yeah it happened and I left the club early with big smile on my face even though I had to walk about a mile to get home, I'm never going to be pessimistic again!

No offence but that's the worst story ever. You got the shift in a club and that's a movie to you? :confused:

Mint Aero wrote: »
    No offence but that's the worst story ever. You got the shift in a club and that's a movie to you? :confused:

In fairness if it's an absolutely stunning girl it's different, you feel like you're walking on air.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

B_Rabbit wrote: »
    In fairness if it's an absolutely stunning girl it's different, you feel like you're walking on air.

walking on air a mile home, early, and her still inside in the club? :confused:

Muise... wrote: »
    walking on air a mile home, early, and her still inside in the club? :confused:

Fair point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Daveysil15

I couldn't get it up once. It reminded of that film Man About Dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

There were a few months at some point in 2012 that were a lot like some early scenes from Pineapple Express.

I think. Might have been this morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭stop animal cruelty

Fizzlesque wrote: »

And what happend after that?!? love of your life??:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Had a cracking Sh1te today and felt like Randy Marsh after it!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭Sunglasses Ron

In that situation tend to flash back more to this scene myself :pac:

Apart from that

From the utter nonsense talk to the comedown kicking in whereby you are unable to finish the bollocks you are talking :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

major bill wrote: »
    Had a cracking Sh1te today and felt like Randy Marsh after it!!
    Had it any resemblance to Bono? :)

Happened on my travels in South America. Was in Santiago in Chile and there was some Chilean fella eyeing me up in the hostel I was staying in. Instant attraction stuff between us as I'd be very much into the auld Latins generally. His mates told me he'd previously been a photographer for Rolling Stone magazine South America. I didn't have much Spanish at all back then and he didn't have any English bar "Hhhhello".

Load of us went out that night to a bar playing live music. I was chatting to some Irish fellas and this guy was still doing the eye thing. I went to buy drinks and he walked towards me and said, "Hello". I told him he had me at "Hello" and we kissed.

Went back to his place out in probably one of the roughest parts of Santiago, had very loud, drunken sex, woke up and went out to use the bathroom. He'd gone outside to do something or other (obviously we couldn't communicate what that was), so it was just me. Turned on the tap but pulled it off and a load of water came gushing out and the bathroom was starting to flood. Ran out of the bedroom shouting his name only to find his 1 million-year-old Chilean mother in the kitchen, all two foot of her. Stunned into silence, it took a second to get the words, "Mucho agua. Mucho agua" while pointing to the bathroom.

Ur man finally comes back, turns the tap off and we leave. Obviously not a word could be said between us about what happened, which was odd. I think back now at how loud we were that night (mostly him tbh) and how small the house was with the mother inside and what I'd done in the bathroom the following day and ur man didn't seem to care.

Very surreal. Perhaps a plot from a zany Hollywood Romcom that nobody watch even if they were paid?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

Happened on my travels in South America. Was in Santiago in Chile and there was some Chilean fella eyeing me up in the hostel I was staying in. Instant attraction stuff between us as I'd be very much into the auld Latins generally. His mates told me he'd previously been a photographer for Rolling Stone magazine South America. I didn't have much Spanish at all back then and he didn't have any English bar "Hhhhello".

Load of us went out that night to a bar playing live music. I was chatting to some Irish fellas and this guy was still doing the eye thing. I went to buy drinks and he walked towards me and said, "Hello". I told him he had me at "Hello" and we kissed.

Went back to his place out in probably one of the roughest parts of Santiago, had very loud, drunken sex, woke up and went out to use the bathroom. He'd gone outside to do something or other (obviously we couldn't communicate what that was), so it was just me. Turned on the tap but pulled it off and a load of water came gushing out and the bathroom was starting to flood. Ran out of the bedroom shouting his name only to find his 1 million-year-old Chilean mother in the kitchen, all two foot of her. Stunned into silence, it took a second to get the words, "Mucho agua. Mucho agua" while pointing to the bathroom.

Ur man finally comes back, turns the tap off and we leave. Obviously not a word could be said between us about what happened, which was odd. I think back now at how loud we were that night (mostly him tbh) and how small the house was with the mother inside and what I'd done in the bathroom the following day and ur man didn't seem to care.

Very surreal. Perhaps a plot from a zany Hollywood Romcom that nobody watch even if they were paid?

Dirrrrrrty!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

That's my girl, Legs! Doing your bit for Ireland in the barrio baja. The poor auld mother would have looked older due to lack of sleep. Unless it was a neighbour's house that he took you to :)

WilyCoyote wrote: »
    That's my girl, Legs! Doing your bit for Ireland in the barrio baja. The poor auld mother would have looked older due to lack of sleep. Unless it was a neighbour's house that he took you to :)

We went back a few times after and I met his mam. This time I was prepared and had my "Hello" in Spanish mastered. ;)

His mates told me he'd previously been a photographer for Rolling Stone magazine South America.

Excellent wingmen the Latins.