Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it harder to learn how to drive as you get older?

• 16-01-2014 11:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭

Hi there. When I was 17, I straight away want to learn how to drive, even though I had no part time job to pay for it or a family that can afford it for me. I did a few lessons in my mother's car, but then I gave up on them due to the Leaving Cert exams.

I am 20 now, and after getting a bit wiser about car costs and so on, I realised I am better if I got a good job to pay my way for it instead, rather than rely on other people's money.

But only thing is that I do not know when that will be, and also at what point does it get hard in age for someone to take driving lessons, since I keep hearing stories that it gets much more difficult as you get older? Or is it different for each person, since I hear other stories of people in their mature years taking their lessons and doing even better than younger learner drivers.

Any stories or advice on this would be great, thanks. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,297 ✭✭✭kitten_k

I had lessons at 17 and like you they went to waste. I started learner again this year when I was nearly 30 and found it much easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Killgore Trout

I hated driving lessons when i was 17.

I got a motorbike in my mid 20s and loved it.

Took up driving a car when was 29 and it was much easier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Just passed first time last month at 30.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Eire Go Brach

I was the same. At about 20. My Dad thought me. Brought me out a lot. I got lessons as a present. Instructer said. "Your grand. Go and buy a car" of course I never did.
    I felt I did not need a car. I much preferred having the money, I was happy using public transport.

So roll on 15 years. Baby is on that way. I now decide I need a car. Well we :)

The thing is it took a lot longer to get my license than I expected. If you want to stick to the present Law. See after you get the lessons. You still need hours in the car. I found it very hard to get a sponsor. Ok a friend or family member would help me. But that could be only an hour every 2 weeks etc. People just had there own lives and kids to look after. Lessons are expensive to be doing every week.
    Now everyone's situation is different that was just mine. But when I was younger I could have been out every other night learning with someone if I needed to.

The sponsor way was just taking to long for me. I ended up just applying for the test, effectively studying and just going out on my own, doing the routes over and over.

I'm waffling a bit here. But basically it was not harder to learn to drive. Just harder to get people to drive with. I don't know why people say. It's harder to learn when your older.

I passed first time in Tallaght. It took me 16 month to get my license. The first year I done by the Law as in, I never drove on my own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭TwoCats

I had a few lessons from my dad at 19 or so but was petrified and gave up.

I started learning again recently at 33 and found it much easier, because I was more confident.

A great-aunt of mine learned in her 70s and passed her test with no problems, at an age where others who have been driving for decades are giving up because they can't do it any more.

I think it depends on the individual, but the stage at which it's likely to get harder is a lot older than thirties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Won't be a problem, don't fret about it. You may even find that the extra few years will make you better able to learn properly. Best of luck. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,924 ✭✭✭✭BuffyBot

It's like any learned skill - some find it easier earlier in life, some later. It's totally individual.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭happyviolet

See after you get the lessons. You still need hours in the car. I found it very hard to get a sponsor. Ok a friend or family member would help me. But that could be only an hour every 2 weeks etc. People just had there own lives and kids to look after. Lessons are expensive to be doing every week.
    Now everyone's situation is different that was just mine. But when I was younger I could have been out every other night learning with someone if I needed to.

The sponsor way was just taking to long for me. I ended up just applying for the test, effectively studying and just going out on my own, doing the routes over and over.

Thanks for the replies everyone. It makes me feel a lot better about the future if I decided to take up thr driving again. I actually remember when i was 17, I was in no real rush to get a car and drive to be honest, I just wanted to get the learning part out of the way while I was still young.

Btw, this sponsor thing is something I never heard about, but it sounds perfect for me when I need it. It was hard enough to get family members to teach me and my younger sibling, but will be impossible once we get older, so getting a sponsor is a brilliant idea, whoever came up with it. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭Galadriel

I got some lessons when I was 18 but I didn't have a car so gave up for about 5 years, I got a few lessons here and there and then gave up for about 8 years.

But got my act to together last January and said 2013 is the year, I past first time in July.

I was always a nervous driver so for me age didn't make any difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭Eire Go Brach

Thanks for the replies everyone. It makes me feel a lot better about the future if I decided to take up thr driving again. I actually remember when i was 17, I was in no real rush to get a car and drive to be honest, I just wanted to get the learning part out of the way while I was still young.

Btw, this sponsor thing is something I never heard about, but it sounds perfect for me when I need it. It was hard enough to get family members to teach me and my younger sibling, but will be impossible once we get older, so getting a sponsor is a brilliant idea, whoever came up with it. :D

You might be confused about my use of the the word "sponsor"

I'm just using words the RSA use. Basically my sponsors were my Father, Brothers and friends.
    "A sponsor is someone who helps and supports you, the learner driver, as you improve your driving skills be being and accompanying driver during practice." The must hold a full license for at least 2 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭happyviolet

You might be confused about my use of the the word "sponsor"

I'm just using words the RSA use. Basically my sponsors were my Father, Brothers and friends.
    "A sponsor is someone who helps and supports you, the learner driver, as you improve your driving skills be being and accompanying driver during practice." The must hold a full license for at least 2 years.

Ah damn it, I taught when you said sponsor, it was someone you pay to help you with practising to drive in between official lessons. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Provisional to full licence in 7/8 months, 14 lessons, 2 tests, all at the age of 30/31.

The lessons had as a teenager in London though, may have had a bearing though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭LilyShame

Hi there
    I dont think age matters so much....its the 'accompanying driver' law that makes it slower to get test-ready. Like another person said, I waited til I had a baby before I started driving, and its been hard to get the road hours in. So....I just had to bite the bullet and pay someone to sit with me once a week and not go out, buy clothes etc etc!!. Its not as easy at our stage to have someone on call all the time to sit in the car with you...

so basically, learn when you have a wide circle of friends with freedom, and less family committments - that way you have more people to draw on when you need an 'companion' in the car.

Having said all that, one instructor told me you are better doing the test without say 18 months road experience, as you just develop loads of bad habits.

Having said all that....plenty of people do drive on their Ls, on their own...... The guards do a crackdown every couple of months which is ususally leaked onto this forum to give people the heads up....and I have that confirmed by a friend who's a garda!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 SalEB1990

Very much depends on the person I think. My sister started getting lessons as soon as she turned 17, I on the other hand felt pressured to start learning at 19 but gave up cos I hated it. Then the summer before I was due to start work, when I was 21, again felt pressured into it and chickened out and cancelled the test at the last minute. Was learning in Wicklow and my instructor made me cry in every single lesson, I was just too nervous.

23 now and back behind the wheel and loving it. Learning up in Dublin rather than Wicklow and have such a great instructor. Can't believe how much my confidence has grown. It is difficult to find time, and I think that's part of the reason why they say it's more difficult as you get older because you have more commitments, I'm trying to fit lessons in between work, lectures, swimming and a social life too! Not always easy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭I can't tell you why

At 20 far from being old. I have helped people pass driving tests in their 60s and 70s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Moomat

Ah damn it, I taught when you said sponsor, it was someone you pay to help you with practising to drive in between official lessons. :(

I'm trying to get something going that you may be interested in.... http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057132592

I'd be willing to do about 5 hours a week if you or anybody else is interested.

You would pay through this website: http://www.mycharity.ie/event/matthew_moores_event

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭Sugar Free

Only learnt to drive in late twenties and passed first time.

The only factor for me personally, was the far greater level of confidence and self-belief I have compared to my teenage self.

It certainly made a difference in passing the test though not necessarily in terms of skill development.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,347 ✭✭✭No Pants

Passed first time at 36. I think anyone can learn something new at any age if they get their head right. It can be really to talk yourself out of something.

However, licences, any licence for anything under the sun, rarely becomes easier to get. Because I had an unused provisional sitting in a drawer for ten years (renewed every few years, but never driven on), I didn't have to get the 12 lessons in the logbook or whatever the rule is now and I'm thankful for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 ashamix

I'm 45 and never driven a car, ever.Waiting for my learners permit to get started and take my driving lessons.I don't know if i'm terrified or excited,it's all very daunting.I will also have to try and get a sponsor to let me practice.