Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So They Are Making A Roy Keane Film

• 15-01-2014 9:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 820 ✭✭✭

Who is going to play Roy?

via
    http://balls.ie/football/theyre-making-a-roy-keane-film/

Rockmount by MDV
    Writer/Director: Dave Tynan
    Producer: Michael Donnelly
    Roy Keane is a small but demonic eleven-year-old in 1980s Cork. He needs to get on the starting eleven for his football club, and nothing is going to get in his way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,824 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Mickey Rooney? "jiminy jilickers ye langer".

Glazers Out!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭michael999999

Well I'll be leaving the cinema before it even starts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Roy himself?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Jake Rugby Walrus666

Well I'll be leaving the cinema before it even starts!

Look at you.
    You're sitting there. Eating your prawn sandwiches. Leaving the film early. You don't even know what's going on on the screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,628 ✭✭✭brevity

Nidgey!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 562 ✭✭✭Reedsie

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

Patrick Vieira.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Hannibal Lector.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭Stavros Murphy

Casting for the part of Trigs should be bedlam.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

That little nutter from Love Hate that shot the cat. Would be excellent for the young Roy coming up through the ranks at Rockmount. Even has the pudgy cheeks and unpleasant polyester leisurewear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,109 ✭✭✭RikkFlair

mauzo! wrote: »

Thought that was Michael Fassbender for a sec (he is everywhere these days)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Any Fair City actor could be a contender too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,564 ✭✭✭notnumber

Roy Keane and Patrick Veria.
    Mick McCarthy as well..

As they are making it of young Roy my opinion is irrelevant but for a film of Roy during his playing days at Man United i think the lad who plays Cain Dingle is very similar to him. Has the strong headedness and intensity on screen as well as the stand-offishness plus aggression in spades

http://i4.mirror.co.uk/incoming/article94909.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/image-11-for-48-hours-03-12-11-gallery-949770623-94909.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

At the end of the day, the only one hard enough to play an 11 year old Roy is Chuck Norris and sadly he is a little too old now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

ah the story of a young aspiring boy footballer who grows up to be a horrible traitorous cnut who's opinions are worthless and is a shyte manager, yet is inexplicably loved by people who list their main hobby as watching sports on TV as if thats admirable or interesting in some way.

To be honest it would be very easy to take such a rushed and flippant view and call Roy a traitor but while i didnt agree with his course of frustration at that time, i agreed with his sentiment. Irish football is boxing above its own weight and is relatively third world despite the fact that the suits in the Association are well able to look after themselves. By right we should be producing footballers of someway decent standard that are someway prepared for tournaments but unfortunately it isnt the case. McCarthy could do nothing about it at the time either in fairness. His hands were tied. For example at the time of the genesis report it found that 52 people sat on the board of directors at the FAI. 4 times more then the max recommended.

So while you dont have an interest in sport (which is your honest opinion to be fair) at least inform yourself enough before you form and post an opinion on sporting matters please...:) Thank you very much.

Anyway he'd only be a traitor if he sold our tactics to the other nations and/or went to play with one of them (which he couldnt anyway owing to the laws of the game)

D1stant wrote: »
    At the end of the day, the only one hard enough to play an 11 year old Roy is Chuck Norris and sadly he is a little too old now

They say age eventually caught up with Chuck Norris and he kicked the s*it out of it. ;)

By right we should be producing footballers of someway decent standard that are someway prepared for tournaments but unfortunately it isnt the case.

Sterling concern for the domestic scene from a "gunner". :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,852 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

To be honest it would be very easy to take such a rushed and flippant view and call Roy a traitor but while i didnt agree with his course of frustration at that time, i agreed with his sentiment. Irish football is boxing above its own weight and is relatively third world despite the fact that the suits in the Association are well able to look after themselves. By right we should be producing footballers of someway decent standard that are someway prepared for tournaments but unfortunately it isnt the case. McCarthy could do nothing about it at the time either in fairness. His hands were tied. For example at the time of the genesis report it found that 52 people sat on the board of directors at the FAI. 4 times more then the max recommended.

So while you dont have an interest in sport (which is your honest opinion to be fair) at least inform yourself enough before you form and post an opinion on sporting matters please...:) Thank you very much.

Anyway he'd only be a traitor if he sold our tactics to the other nations and/or went to play with one of them (which he couldnt anyway owing to the laws of the game)

By what right? We went for decades up until 1988 without ever qualifying for anything. To what would you attribute the demise of Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland as forces in international football? Their "suits"? We're all small countries and if Ireland is punching above it's weight since 1988 and the others have gone backwards then maybe our suits should be given some of the credit.

anncoates wrote: »
    Sterling concern for the domestic scene from a "gunner". :)

Ah here we go again. An inference that i should be supporting the local teams?:rolleyes: Ive been an Arsenal fan since i was 7 for your information. Long before i knew of geography or Ireland or England or an Irish league or even knowing the full meaning of competitions. Arsenal could have been located in kathmandu or the far side of Slievenamon and it wouldnt have made a difference. I supported them simply because I absolutely loved the team and as it turns out with good reason whether they win or lose. I also support my county and club in the GAA. Do you follow the GAA since my patriotism is being questioned?

As i also happens i have been to International, grassroots and league of ireland games in the past as well as having to play the game and remember young kids being dropped for not being 'tough enough'. Thats one of the many factors wrong with the Irish game.

Roy complained that the training pitch was not right and the balls hadnt arrived. While Roy can be highly irrational, its a team preparing for the world cup at the end of the day and why the hell shouldnt we prepare from the bottom up like the other nations?

By what right? We went for decades up until 1988 without ever qualifying for anything. To what would you attribute the demise of Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland as forces in international football? Their "suits"? We're all small countries and if Ireland is punching above it's weight since 1988 and the others have gone backwards then maybe our suits should be given some of the credit.

But when you look at the likes of Holland for example who create one of the best teams in the world from grassroots or Uruguay who can produce two world class highly coveted strikers for example.

We have a situation where we even had poor training facilities for our senior team in fairness and we have never developed a long term plan to develop the future in the right way.

My opinion is that Ireland, NI, Scotland, Wales and even England coach kids in a very systematic way and are unwilling to leave them express themselves. Size seems to matter this part of the world. We are miles behind the rest who go for technical ability. Even pro players within the game like Gary Neville have commented on this. In Ireland our suits on the gravy train are part of the problem but the state of the game under their administration is the other half. Look at the league situation in Wales and Scotland or NI? TBF to Wales they have produced Bale and Ramsey but both have been products of clubs that play in FA competitions and Ramsey is only coming to the fore now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Theyll have to dip the film negatives in lemon juice to capture how bitter the man is, was and forever will be

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

I'd be very happy if it involves a cynical Roy casting his eye on the utter scutter on the pitch fired our by his brother for Cobh Ramblers.

Puritanical LoI supporters are the Alan Partridge of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Rabelais wrote: »

Puritanical LoI supporters are the Alan Partridge of Ireland.

'We are better and more oirish than you because we endure the substandard quality of football played here'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

Gotta say I can't understand people in this country supporting teams in England/Scotland - support your local team.

Roy Keane's dad's the head off him - you'd see him wandering around Cork in expensive suits.

"Mossey boooiyyyyyy?!!"

Gotta say I can't understand people in this country supporting teams in England/Scotland - support your local team.

Roy Keane's dad's the head off him - you'd see him wandering around Cork in expensive suits.

"Mossey boooiyyyyyy?!!"

Depends on where your from really though. As i said ive supported Arsenal from a young age long before i had even heard of a league of ireland team and none of the league of ireland teams are really on my doorstep so its hard to really recognise with them when i did get. few Tipp lads in the past including Shane Long, Ollie Cahill, Daryl Kavanagh and Stephen Napier have turned out for Cork City alright which id always tune in to watch their progress. When you live in the Tipperary countryside its difficult both expense wise and time wise to follow everything

Ah here we go again. An inference that i should be supporting the local teams?:rolleyes:

I don't care what you do or who you support but don't whine on here about Ireland not producing players when you've turned your back on - and taken your money out of - the game here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,852 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

But when you look at the likes of Holland for example who create one of the best teams in the world from grassroots or Uruguay who can produce two world class highly coveted strikers for example.

We have a situation where we even had poor training facilities for our senior team in fairness and we have never developed a long term plan to develop the future in the right way.

My opinion is that Ireland, NI, Scotland, Wales and even England coach kids in a very systematic way and are unwilling to leave them express themselves. Size seems to matter this part of the world. We are miles behind the rest who go for technical ability. Even pro players within the game like Gary Neville have commented on this. In Ireland our suits on the gravy train are part of the problem but the state of the game under their administration is the other half. Look at the league situation in Wales and Scotland or NI? TBF to Wales they have produced Bale and Ramsey but both have been products of clubs that play in FA competitions and Ramsey is only coming to the fore now

That just goes to prove that countries with small populations like ourselves and Uruguay can occasionally produce a generation of players who can compete. Uruguay's record in the World Cup is pretty dismal in modern times until their 4th place in South Africa. Holland has a population of 17 million. It's no fluke that the really successful countries have populations way, way above ours. We have no God given right to qualify for any tournaments never mind win them.

Dempsey wrote: »
    Theyll have to dip the film negatives in lemon juice to capture how bitter the man is, was and forever will be

He made a few salient points though. I mean Ferguson had a few pops at him in the book tbf. He defended him until the bitter end while it all kicked off in Saipan and suddenly his hip is gone and he is a liability? :confused: Dont get me wrong. Keane isnt perfect and has done himself no favours but he has made good points and at least he 100% believes in what he says. He recently said Ferguson is still trying to run the show at United and tbh Ferguson is still a bit too much in the foreground imo

That just goes to prove that countries with small populations like ourselves and Uruguay can occasionally produce a generation of players who can compete. Uruguay's record in the World Cup is pretty dismal in modern times until their 4th place in South Africa. Holland has a population of 17 million. It's no fluke that the really successful countries have populations way, way above ours. We have no God given right to qualify for any tournaments never mind win them.

You cant put it down to just sheer luck. Yes Holland have 17m which is 5 times our population but still 1/3 of Germany's. So should Holland lose every game to Germany and England by that logic? I do realise we have small catchment in terms of competition between rugby, GAA, Soccer, Athletics but its still no excuse.

I mean there is plenty of money still in this country considering our last manager was netting between 1.5m and 2m per year since 2008 and our CEO John Delaney is on 450k per annum.

We currently have a guy Ruud Dokter as a development officer who is to present a future development plan which hopefully could be implemented and if it takes the 10 to 15 years to bear fruit then so be it. I believe though that coaches at grass roots were obsessed with kids having physical power as opposed to technical ability and therein lies our problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

You can discuss this in the Soccer forum.