Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poetry Slam

Options
  • 15-01-2014 12:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 47

Hi guys,

I've been writing since I was a kid and I have a poetry blog now that's doing pretty well..so that's given me a bit more confidence. I've recently been looking into 'slam poetry', and I was wondering if any of you guys have done it or attended a session? I'm not great with public speaking, but it's something I'd love to attend...I'm just worried I'd feel like a bit of a tool if it's a certain group of regulars, especially since I'm a total newbie at that kind of thing.

If anyone could tell me what it's like or if you've done any yourself and how iT went for you, I'd really appreciate it :)

WD

Comments

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

I was at the All-Ireland Slam Poetry finals in Limerick in 2008. It was an interesting experience!

Some of the poets had their material learned off and others read it from the page. Some of them narrated calmly, some others rapped, others performed as if on stage with hand-gestures and changes of tone/volume.

There's a bit more acceptance of swear-words too. :pac: