Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NCT tomorrow can't find logbook

• 14-01-2014 10:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭

NCt early tomorrow and I can't find logbook at home, I think it is in work but can't get to work before test. Can it go through anyway and if they fail me on only that when I do present it I get the cert? Or will they refuse to test? Feeling a bit annoyed with myself to be honest

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I've been asked for the logbook once in about 20 ncts

It should be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Generally i have never been asked for it in 6 tests

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

Ok, might play dumb if they do ask, thanks. Now that I think of it I dont think I was ever asked myself but it's been a while since I did the test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Bring car in anyway, if they ask for book explain that you'll bring it in later.
    They may hold on to the cert until you produce though, this varies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Drivers license did me last week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I was asked for it in Fonthill last week, but can't recollect being asked before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

They will not fail the car for not having the logbook. However if asked for it they may not issue the NCT pass cert until you present it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Engine No.9

I brought my ex's car to Chair centre to get tested about 3 maybe 4 years ago. They insisted on the logbook. They weren't going to test it but for the fact they managed to get her on the phone to confirm ownership and at that it took a great deal of pleading. Absolute a**holes they were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭franksm

They do check the VIN number, so I am not sure how they would do that other than via the logbook - unless they are simply checking it against what is recorded "on the system".

Interestingly, Fonthill failed my flawless '97 XK8 a couple of years ago as they were unable to find the VIN number on the car. Despite me showing it to them in the carpark - it's on the chassis in the boot, and on the windscreen under the glass. Eejits. Had to book it for a retest to "show them properly".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,733 ✭✭✭✭corktina

I had to produce mine in Blarney on Monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭barneygumble99

franksm wrote: »
    They do check the VIN number, so I am not sure how they would do that other than via the logbook - unless they are simply checking it against what is recorded "on the system".

Interestingly, Fonthill failed my flawless '97 XK8 a couple of years ago as they were unable to find the VIN number on the car. Despite me showing it to them in the carpark - it's on the chassis in the boot, and on the windscreen under the glass. Eejits. Had to book it for a retest to "show them properly".

id have thought that was only a visual??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Staplor

From what I've seen if you bring the car and have your licence, and the car is in your name, you are grand.

If someone else brings the car you may need it.

The sign in the one I was at last week said "Drivers Licence or Passport + Log Book" were needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Don't understand why it's not like the UK, all you need is the previous MOT cert. that gives them all the details they need to know!!

Edit- I'm not sure if you have to actually have the previous mot cert, but that's all I was ever asked for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Stheno wrote: »
    I've been asked for the logbook once in about 20 ncts

It should be fine
    How many feckin cars do you own? :D

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Tea 1000 wrote: »
    How many feckin cars do you own? :D

One?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

etxp wrote: »
    Don't understand why it's not like the UK, all you need is the previous MOT cert. that gives them all the details they need to know!!

Edit- I'm not sure if you have to actually have the previous mot cert, but that's all I was ever asked for!

If you have to bring the old cert then may as well just bring the logbook. Its all the one really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Even if you are asked tell them it's lost and you are in the process of getting a duplicate. Worked for me every time (mine was lost over 2 years ago and am too lazy to get this sorted). Driving License is a must.
    Worst case scenario is you will have to find it to get your NCT cert.

One?
    20 NCT's? Sure it's only in around 14 years and the once yearly thing is only in about 5 years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 923 ✭✭✭markad1

Well OP were you asked for the logbook and did your car pass?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

pajopearl wrote: »
    I brought my ex's car to Chair centre to get tested about 3 maybe 4 years ago. They insisted on the logbook. They weren't going to test it but for the fact they managed to get her on the phone to confirm ownership and at that it took a great deal of pleading. Absolute a**holes they were.

Chair are a very tough crowd...
    OP, In other test centres Ive been too, like the motor tax office, they almost never ask for it. Id chance it.

20 NCT's? Sure it's only in around 14 years and the once yearly thing is only in about 5 years!

He might be a mechanic:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭rocky

Well it's an old Alfa, the amount of retests... :)

rocky wrote: »
    I suppose 3 or 4 NCT's a year do add up quickly... :D
    She'll be back any minute to beat us with an Italian boot strut...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭evanSpiddal

I got asked for the logbook last Thursday in Deansgrange when i brought my car in for it's NCT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Ardeehey

Sorry but I'm a little confused, I thought that most cars don't have log books as such anymore as the registrations are all done online and info down in Shannon? I have to drop my car in for the NCT in a couple of weeks, don't have a log book, the car is in the wife's name, have the registration cert from the dealer i bought it from....will this do?

rocky wrote: »

Both the OH and I have cars older than four years, so we've had two a year for the past five years at least :)

He makes you take his too? B@stard...!
    Should be every 2 years though, so that'd be 1 a year! Unless they're over 10. Anyhoo, I digress... I've been asked alright for the log book once, and gave a sorrowful face of how I forgot it, and will I have time to go get it if it's 20 miles away, to which I got a grumpy "It'll be grand this time, but bring it next time..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ardeehey wrote: »
    Sorry but I'm a little confused, I thought that most cars don't have log books as such anymore as the registrations are all done online and info down in Shannon? I have to drop my car in for the NCT in a couple of weeks, don't have a log book, the car is in the wife's name, have the registration cert from the dealer i bought it from....will this do?
    The registration cert is the same thing as the log book. We don't like these new names for stuff :D

This is the document we mean by cert/logbook
    Media,3081,en.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 194 ✭✭Ardeehey

biko wrote: »
    The registration cert is the same thing as the log book. We don't like these new names for stuff :D

This is the document we mean by cert/logbook
    Media,3081,en.jpg

Gotcha, normally I am as resistant to change as the next person but missed this one! Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,141 ✭✭✭Yakuza

Ah, the good old days when the log book was sort of book-shaped (made from thick brown paper, folded over once) and contained the names and addresses of all the previous owners - made it harder for garages to lie about the number of previous owners!

Yes by logbook I meant registration cert didn't mean to cause confusion. Nice little story behind today's events.
    I walked in and I actually kind of knew the girl in front of me in the queue (same home town) she wasn't asked for hers so I thought happy days. I was asked, so it seems to be random I'm not sure. Obviously I didn't have it. Anyway, the NCT receptionist said it doesn't matter, my licence was enough so it went through and passed so I'm happy. To make things even better she started asking how I was etc. I said to myself that I always liked her and you only live once so I asked her did she want to go to lunch while waiting for the cars (we were both due to be tested at 1:45 and were about 20 mins early) so we did and had a nice little lunch date. Better than the horrible waiting room. Back at the test centre she passed too and on the way back to work got a Facebook friend request from her and chatted a bit for the afternoon, we will see what happens!
    Funny enough I went there early just because I didn't have the registration cert and anticipated a possible delay, if I had it I might have missed her. Best Wednesday in a while! Hope she doesn't read motors forum (dont think she does) but if you do I had a lovely time and expect to be asked on a follow up date soon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭foreversky

bmwguy wrote: »
    Yes by logbook I meant registration cert didn't mean to cause confusion. Nice little story behind today's events.
    I walked in and I actually kind of knew the girl in front of me in the queue (same home town) she wasn't asked for hers so I thought happy days. I was asked, so it seems to be random I'm not sure. Obviously I didn't have it. Anyway, the NCT receptionist said it doesn't matter, my licence was enough so it went through and passed so I'm happy. To make things even better she started asking how I was etc. I said to myself that I always liked her and you only live once so I asked her did she want to go to lunch while waiting for the cars (we were both due to be tested at 1:45 and were about 20 mins early) so we did and had a nice little lunch date. Better than the horrible waiting room. Back at the test centre she passed too and on the way back to work got a Facebook friend request from her and chatted a bit for the afternoon, we will see what happens!
    Funny enough I went there early just because I didn't have the registration cert and anticipated a possible delay, if I had it I might have missed her. Best Wednesday in a while! Hope she doesn't read motors forum (dont think she does) but if you do I had a lovely time and expect to be asked on a follow up date soon :)
    Ahh lovely ending

foreversky wrote: »
    Ahh lovely ending
    Hopefully it's a lovely beginning! I'll go to after hours or relationship issues with it from now on though unless we get into a petrol v diesel falling out then I'll be back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

What about those of us who don't go to AH, how are we supposed to hear how it ends?? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

blastman wrote: »
    What about those of us who don't go to AH, how are we supposed to hear how it ends?? :)

Surely this can be updated :)

Bmwguy, you are officially responsible for keeping Motors in the loop now! :D

Nothing yet! Will do though. Will I be allowed a thread in motors or will I get in trouble. I will call it NCT for pick up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,668 ✭✭✭eringobragh

Have never been asked for the logbook yet always drivers licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

I thought you were going to tell us you got the ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭micar

I have my NCT on Wedneday 5th Feb.

I cannot find the cert/logbook. I think it's in my parents home.

I'll probably go home next weekend to have a look. If I cannot locate, should I just go up and hopefully won't be asked.

The test is in the Ballymun centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

The car can be tested without the log book, it's only needed if there is a discrepancy with the VIN number.

Just bring your ID. You will not be sent away for not bringing the log book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

I have never been asked for the log book, y'all should be fine. :)