Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Possible upgrade to Gaggia Classic..

• 14-01-2014 12:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,

I won an IPad from work last week and am more than likely going to sell it and buy a Gaggia Classic as the 2nd hand Gaggia Evolution I bought for €50 just under a year and half ago is starting to leak and generally underperfom. In fairness its done its job at this stage. Got my €50 and more out of it!

My question is I know there was a price comparison site that ye were using that tracks the price of the Classic. I'd like to get it as cheap as possible obviously and dont mind waiting a month or two if necessary.

Anyone know the site I'm talking about?

edit... found it. http://uk.camelcamelcamel.com/Gaggia-Classic-RI8161-Machine-Professional/product/B0000C72XS

Still like to know about this though part please..

Also a bit off topic but I'm considering tinkering with my Gaggia MDF to make it stepless. Has anyone any experience of doing this? Is it tough to do it and is the end result worth the effort?

Cheers,
    Eoin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,396 ✭✭✭PPC

It sounds like the group seal is gone on your Evo, if you replace that it will stop leaking and improve the quality and might get you a few more quid if you want to try sell it on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

PPC wrote: »
    It sounds like the group seal is gone on your Evo, if you replace that it will stop leaking and improve the quality and might get you a few more quid if you want to try sell it on.

Never thought of that cheers. Will look for the part online and videos to install it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭Doodee

Hi guys,

I won an IPad from work last week and am more than likely going to sell it and buy a Gaggia Classic as the 2nd hand Gaggia Evolution I bought for €50 just under a year and half ago is starting to leak and generally underperfom. In fairness its done its job at this stage. Got my €50 and more out of it!

My question is I know there was a price comparison site that ye were using that tracks the price of the Classic. I'd like to get it as cheap as possible obviously and dont mind waiting a month or two if necessary.

Anyone know the site I'm talking about?

edit... found it. http://uk.camelcamelcamel.com/Gaggia-Classic-RI8161-Machine-Professional/product/B0000C72XS

Still like to know about this though part please..

Also a bit off topic but I'm considering tinkering with my Gaggia MDF to make it stepless. Has anyone any experience of doing this? Is it tough to do it and is the end result worth the effort?

Cheers,
    Eoin

I can remember Amazon.co.uk selling it for a very good price considering their after sales service and delivery. I made the step up from the Evo to the classic a while back and it was well worth the investment. The Evo doesn't have a true OPV, and even when you mod it you must block off the connection to the steam wand, means a huge variance in the quality of the shots. The Classic is much better here and if you add a PID to it you can get very good shots.

Who needs an iPad anyways :pac:

Doodee wrote: »
    I can remember Amazon.co.uk selling it for a very good price considering their after sales service and delivery. I made the step up from the Evo to the classic a while back and it was well worth the investment. The Evo doesn't have a true OPV, and even when you mod it you must block off the connection to the steam wand, means a huge variance in the quality of the shots. The Classic is much better here and if you add a PID to it you can get very good shots.

Who needs an iPad anyways :pac:

Excuse my ignorance but whats a PID? A quick google didnt answer my question unfortunately.

I have to agree with you on amazon. I used them before xmas to buy a nintendo wii on black friday and they were great to deal with I must say so I'd have no hesitation in ordering it from them tbh.

OPV... I thought was just me with variance of shots but thats said even when I got more scientific in my approach (the way you have to be I've found with coffee) ie weighing beans, tamping with the same amount of pressure etc there was/is still always a variance so that would explain that I suppose. Glad to know that it could have been the machine.... probably as well as me. :P

As for Ipad.. yeah we have one in the house already along with numerous other ways of going online from games consoles to smart phones/telly.

As for another coffee machine.. Now thats a different story. :D
    I've been waiting for an excuse to upgrade from the Evo and this could be it.

I googled that seal fix yesterday and its got me wanting to take the machine apart now to see is that the issue on the leaking. Even if it does fix it though I think its still time to upgrade.

Part of me is tempted to save for the Rancilio Silvia but I just cant justify it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭livingthedream

I have a Gaggia classic and an MDF grinder too and find the two a very good setup. I even have the very handy base unit with knock drawer that I got off a member here for free!

I would recommend the classic but also pick up a Rancilio Silvia steam wand on ebay or elsewhere and replace the stock one on the classic with the Silvia one... Pretty easy mod to do (vids on youtube etc) and major improvement in steaming capabilities.. You may also need to turn down the pressure on the Classic a bit as they are set a little higher these days for pods... Don't let the need to do these mods put you off either, the machines themselves are good sturdy units with reassuringly clunky switches which feel like they will last a lifetime....

I haven't considered making my MDF stepless, I'm pretty happy with the grind consistancy as is..

LTD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

I have a Nespresso Pixie & Aeroccino combo. It's the business. No grinding or steaming needed, and its very clean. Makes a great milky coffee in about a minute & they'll come out and fix the machine for you if ever needed.

I have a Gaggia classic and an MDF grinder too and find the two a very good setup. I even have the very handy base unit with knock drawer that I got off a member here for free!

I would recommend the classic but also pick up a Rancilio Silvia steam wand on ebay or elsewhere and replace the stock one on the classic with the Silvia one... Pretty easy mod to do (vids on youtube etc) and major improvement in steaming capabilities.. You may also need to turn down the pressure on the Classic a bit as they are set a little higher these days for pods... Don't let the need to do these mods put you off either, the machines themselves are good sturdy units with reassuringly clunky switches which feel like they will last a lifetime....

I haven't considered making my MDF stepless, I'm pretty happy with the grind consistancy as is..

LTD

Cool I think thats what I'll do then so get the classic and do the couple of mods you mention.

To be fair on the MDF I was only considering going stepless due to consistancy of the coffee but that could be more to do with the Evo machine. I'll wait until I have the classic before deciding what to do there.
    Bluefoam wrote: »
    I have a Nespresso Pixie & Aeroccino combo. It's the business. No grinding or steaming needed, and its very clean. Makes a great milky coffee in about a minute & they'll come out and fix the machine for you if ever needed.

As for nespresso. Been there done that. Have a top of the range nespresso machine on sale at the moment on adverts for anyone who's interested.

Dont get me wrong they're handy but in the last few years in particular I've really became interested in the whole coffee process, taste etc..

All of this has more than likely been debated/argued here before so I wont go on too long but for me Nespresso is a convenience product which is fine if all you want is a hit of caffine and an ok cup of coffee to go in the morning. It suits a lot of people theres no doubt about it and fair play to them.

That said if you take the time to grind your own beans work through the coffee process and create an amazing shot of espresso its very hard to go back to nespresso or any other coffee for that matter.

Im sure I'm not the only one on here that has a set list of cafe's that I will visit in Dublin for example or if I go abroad I research places that sell for want of a better word "proper" coffee. I was in sheffield last year and spent a lot of time in a cafe just off the beaten track ran by a couple of kiwi's. Savage spot. Very similar type of place to 3fe or Boss Hoggs, etc.

If you want quick and handy personally I'd go the aeropress route. Pretty much all I use these days admittedly as my Evo machine is on its way out but also filter coffee can be amazing with not a lot of effort.

I suppose I should point out I'm not really one for a milky coffee. Espresso and filter are my coffees of choice. The flavours you can get from a raw espresso is just amazing. Most people have never tasted espresso brewed correctly. My brother couldnt believe some of the espresso he tried at mine over xmas for example.

I have 2 different beans at home at the moment from coffeemojo that are both really different in taste one very bold espresso and one is a more bright acidic one. Both beautiful in different ways.

I worry for me. Im on a downhill slope to spending stupid money on this hobbie/addiction! :o

Roll on 27th, I have the first of the 3fe annual sub arriving at my door! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

I upgraded from an Evo to a Classic a couple of years back. Different class of machine. Recommend the upgrade, seal issue or no. Combined with the MDF grinder, I'm getting daily use out of both with no issues.
    I even have the very handy base unit with knock drawer that I got off a member here for free!

;) Glad you're still happy and using it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 bibba

I recently sold my De Longhi pressurised espresso machine in the hope of upgrading. I was all excited about getting a Gaggia Classic and a Gaggia MDF until I went on a coffee forum and got very bad feedback about it. What I really want to do is get on the home barista ladder and upgrade every few years without initially breaking the bank. However, according to many of the coffee geeks, the MDF is so poor that it's not even worth buying and I will be disappointed by the "terrible shots" it will produce.

So I'm in a situation where I have read some good endorsements and some bad (more bad than good) but if I listen to the bad reviewers, it seems I can only get a good home set up if spend twice me budget or just suffer without a machine!

Help, I've been agonising!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 217 ✭✭James_R

I picked up my Classic and Iberital MC2 grinder from adverts back in June last year and it's been great (apart from figuring out my OPV was sealed shut with limescale that required some tinkering about and cleaning) .

Anything that goes wrong you can get parts easily. Just make sure it's been scaled and cleaned regularly. Mine came with the wand mod already completed and I did the OPV mod myself after I took it out to descale.

Sure here's one up now:
    http://www.adverts.ie/small-kitchen-appliances/gaggia-classic-9-bar-silvia-wand/5073695

More:
    http://www.adverts.ie/for-sale/q_gaggia+classic/

I'm definitely getting a Gaggia Classic, even though there are some negative reviews on that also! I am going with a new one from Amazon, as there is a pretty good deal up at the moment and I want to get the most out of it. I will then get a Rancilio wand.

However, I am looking for feedback on the MDF. I am at a stage of desperation, as I had my heart & budget set on it but I have read many bad reviews and now I feel as if I am back to square one!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

What's your budget for a grinder?

Well, the MDF is €150-€175 and had really settled on it but I with mixed reviews, mostly negative. I am rather at a loss as to what I should do. I am leaning towards, just going for it and if I don't like it, there is always a market for these on adverts.ie. I'm thinking!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,195 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Yeah, not a bad idea,
    My first grinder was a vario though I then ended up having to wait over a year to buy an espresso machine to go with it.

bibba wrote: »
    Well, the MDF is €150-€175 and had really settled on it but I with mixed reviews, mostly negative. I am rather at a loss as to what I should do. I am leaning towards, just going for it and if I don't like it, there is always a market for these on adverts.ie. I'm thinking!

Have you looked at a:

http://www.happydonkey.co.uk/hd0866-iberital-mc2-auto.html

Well, the Vario was suggested and that is what I would do. Get that now and use it with my cafetiere, at least I would have fresh ground coffee. But €449 is a lot of money!

I wonder if there is any merit in my strategy of pigging out on the Classic & MDF to get myself on the ladder. Maybe sell on the MDF next year or so & put the money towards a Vario or something similar.

It just seems at lot of the people on the serious forums have very strong views and will really rubbish what they consider to be "low end" equipment. O.K. may be they are experts and I should listen to them.

But something tells me that the MDF has been around a long time for a reason. What are the odds that I will regret it from the beginning or that my espresso will be undrinkable, as the experts seem to be suggesting?

That MC2 would be a good idea if they will ship here!

Thanks for the advice

Thanks for the advice, guys! I had a look at Happy Donkey, but they fairly adamant that they no longer ship outside of UK. I am starting to think that Ireland is not a great place to be when buying coffee grinders!

I just got so confused and frustrated with all the mixed reviews that my head was spinning!

What is the worst that could happen if I went with the MDF! I mean if it works out better than using pre-ground on my old De Longhi, I'd be happy enough TBH.

It will be 1000 times better than pre ground.

Have you checked out reviews of Baratza Virtuoso? Might be a bit outside your price range though.

Failing that I'm sure you will see a massive improvement with the MDF and you can always upgrade in a year or 2 when budget allwos and sell the MDF for at least half what you paid for it, win win.

Thanks Adrian! That was what I wanted to hear, although I still haven't ruled out the Vario totally!I could buy it and play with the cafetiere while I save. This is one of the biggest decisions I have ever made! I think it might be what they call first world problems!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭mandarin

You could always consider getting a secondhand commercial grinder (Mazzer Super Jolly, etc). They are built like tanks and made to last, there are always some for sale on Adverts, Donedeal etc, and often for around half the price of a new Vario.

Ok lads its been 3 months since I originally posted this thread. Seems like an eternity to me!

The Ipad I was banking on hasnt arrived yet, its on its way seemingly (won in work).

Thankfully however I have finally sold my Nespresso machines (yes I had two one in work and one at home).

So now I'm now €200 better off and sooooooooooo close to my new baby, the Gaggia Classic.

Typically though for me the Classic has gone from £179 to £228 which I know is still cheaper than I'd get it in Ireland but judging on the past stats it'll hopefully fall in price again.

http://uk.camelcamelcamel.com/Gaggia-Classic-RI8161-Machine-Professional/product/B0000C72XS

I've signed up to the camel comparison site posted earlier in the thread and now I play the waiting game.

In the mean time it'll give me time to get other items:

Milk jug
    Silvia frother arm
    Knock box
    Thermometer
    Naked portafilter

Any other suggestions welcome or examples of the above that you think are good quality and price point also welcome!

Come on amazon drop your price pleeeeeeeeeeasssssseee!

James_R wrote: »

I bought a tamper off Gaggia out in Citywest when I bought my MDF a year or two ago. The one you quote is tempting though, probably more of a I'll get it when I have the other set done. The Gaggia one will do for now.

http://gaggia.ie/range/accessories/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭okedoke

I modded my mdf to stepless. Very straight forward, I just followed one of the online guides, I can't remember which one. You just need some kind of plumbing tape. It took a couple of attempts to get the right amount of tape on but has worked perfectly since I did it (around a year ago) and is very smooth to adjust and maintains its grind level well.

okedoke wrote: »
    I modded my mdf to stepless. Very straight forward, I just followed one of the online guides, I can't remember which one. You just need some kind of plumbing tape. It took a couple of attempts to get the right amount of tape on but has worked perfectly since I did it (around a year ago) and is very smooth to adjust and maintains its grind level well.

Sounds good but for now I'm leaving the mdf unmodded. Needs a good clean this weekend however.

Seriously amazon drop your god damn price again..... Eh pretty please.

So I decided to clean my gaggia evolution. I got it second hand for about 50quid over a year or so ago. Being new to the whole coffee thing I just went with it but with recent leaks I decided to look into it a bit more.

I took out the screen and the group gasket seal. The shower part was manky. No wonder the coffee was finding it hard to get through.

As for the black rubber group gasket part it was starting to show signs of cracking etc..

So whilst ordering some peripherals for my new Classic set up I decided to buy a new group gasket amongst other things just to try and get some better espresso between now and amazon dropping their price in the next few months. In fairness just by cleanin it I'd say it'll be better. Can't wait to install the group gasket part.

So my group gasket arrived this morning looking all fresh and clean.

I had the other parts all soaking in cleaning agent and are now brushed cleaned and rinsed.

I cant wait to get home to reasemble everything and make an espresso to see will it get me through the next few months before Amazon please god reduce their price again or am I better just biting the bullet with Amazon at the £228 for the classic now.

I'm praying for a decent shot of espresso with no leaks. Considering how clogged the shower screen part was and how old and cracked the group gasket looked I'm pretty hopeful of a decent result that'll get me through the next while.

Going to do a proper descale as well.

Is there anything to be said for a backflush as well maybe? I've never done one and I'm sure I need to learn before the classic is introduced to my household.

The Evolution is my test machine for a lot of this stuff.

New group gasket fitted and machine cleaned within an inch of its life.

Lads it makes a MASSIVE difference. Leaks gone, way better flow. Should have done it ages ago

Only hung really left to fix on the machine itself is the green indicator light is broken. Could be a fuse or a bulb or well anything I suppose. I haven't a clue. Is there and easy fix anyone know?

Even with just the new group gasket it means I can now wait for the price to drop on the classic and I'll actually be able to sell the evolution on.

This is turning in to my personal blog.. :pac:

My milk jug, thermometer, tamping mat and knock box arrived this morning.

My set up is starting to come together.

On a slightly unrelated note I purchased a bag of Lavazza beans last night whilst out shopping as I only have the monthly sub 3FE coffee to keep me going currently and I wasnt near a coffee shop that sold good beans.

Maybe it was my morning taste buds not being awake or something but I made a cup of filter using the lavazza beans with my aeropress and it wasnt terrible at all. :o

I do need to get extra beans though as the 3FE monthly sub just isnt enough for me each month. Might sign up to a second sub somewhere else as I'm so rarely in town these days.

Must be the morning taste buds!!! ;)

If we could get some kind of regular group buy going here that might solve your subscription issue. I've the 3fe and a 6 month Square Mile one at the moment.

Must be the morning taste buds!!! ;)

If we could get some kind of regular group buy going here that might solve your subscription issue. I've the 3fe and a 6 month Square Mile one at the moment.

Haha cheers.

Ah yeah that'd be a great auld plan. Bags not organising it. :D

In the mean time I might look into the square mile 6 month one.

I've never used them before. I assume its quality stuff?

edit.. just noticed they're not Irish. Well its in pounds anyway so I assume.

I'd rather go with an Irish sub were prefable to support our own and all that. One of the main reasons I went 3fe instead of Hasbean.

Coffeemojo.ie are one that I'll be looking at. Any other Irish roasters worth a look at?

Haha I'd be happy to organise if we tied it in with a regular cupping session somewhere. Even if it was bi-monthly it would be great.

Yeah Square Mile are pretty great, worth sending your Euro over to the UK for but they are pricey.

You could look at Badger & Dodo? Although I've not been a huge fan. Or Cloud Picker? although I don't think they do a sub https://twitter.com/CloudPickercoff

Haha I'd be happy to organise if we tied it in with a regular cupping session somewhere. Even if it was bi-monthly it would be great.

Yeah Square Mile are pretty great, worth sending your Euro over to the UK for but they are pricey.

You could look at Badger & Dodo? Although I've not been a huge fan. Or Cloud Picker? although I don't think they do a sub https://twitter.com/CloudPickercoff

Yeah I'd be up for a bi monthly meeting. Cupping is something I've never done outside of my own home.

There's a joke there but I'll leave it alone. I did it once in 3fe but it was pretty informal and good craic. I'd love to get some tasting sheets and flavour wheels printed and really have some fun!!