Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aldi Warehouse, Mitchelstown

• 13-01-2014 9:03pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭

Meeting with a recruitment company tomorrow prior to an interview next week. Anyone any experience here? I'm 19, just out of school with a good leaving cert. What are they looking for?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

What have/are you applying for?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭RedMickeyMouse

Voice order picking, got a call this morning from the recruitment company with the Aldi interview next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭gustafo

i know a lad who works there with the last few weeks, he says tis alright but tough going they work you hard, he starts very early i think around 5 in the morning, i think the pay is 11 or 12 an hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

You need to be organised, flexible and perform well as part of a team.

Have examples ready of when you were organised, flexible and demonstrating team working.

Do you have experience?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

Hey OP I've been waiting for these jobs to come up again, any chance you could tell me what the name of the recruitment company is?

FearDark wrote: »
    Hey OP I've been waiting for these jobs to come up again, any chance you could tell me what the name of the recruitment company is?

Noel Recruitment!

Yes I have a years experience working in the storage area of a Hardware Shop, I was handling Goods Inwards and also regularly went out in the delivery van to assist delivery drivers.

Noel Recruitment!

Yes I have a years experience working in the storage area of a Hardware Shop, I was handling Goods Inwards and also regularly went out in the delivery van to assist delivery drivers.

Bump. Next interview is with Aldi themselves, next week. They're group interviews, anyone been through it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Bump. Next interview is with Aldi themselves, next week. They're group interviews, anyone been through it?

The interviews used to be very simple - question-answer type. It is probably done the same way in Mitchelstown. Make sure to highlight relevant experience, flexibility, hard work etc. If you live close by, mention it too that that would be easy for you to be on time, and be available on short notice. If you live a bit further point out that you drive a car.
    Nothing to worry about generally - the result will also depend on who else was interviewed with you.
    The job itself is tough and might seem to be boring for some people. If you are not afraid of heavy lifting and repetitive tasks you will be fine. If you keep working the time will fly by, especially in first weeks. There are targets to achieve - if you achieve them - great, if you don't - they will point it out and ask to improve. You will be notified regularely if there are issues with either a speed or an accuracy
    The warehouse itself is very modern with excellent facilities (fully equipped canteen, showers etc). Definitely a step up from the storage room in a hardware shop;)

Good luck, hope you get the job you want.

wonski wrote: »
    The interviews used to be very simple - question-answer type. It is probably done the same way in Mitchelstown. Make sure to highlight relevant experience, flexibility, hard work etc. If you live close by, mention it too that that would be easy for you to be on time, and be available on short notice. If you live a bit further point out that you drive a car.
    Nothing to worry about generally - the result will also depend on who else was interviewed with you.
    The job itself is tough and might seem to be boring for some people. If you are not afraid of heavy lifting and repetitive tasks you will be fine. If you keep working the time will fly by, especially in first weeks. There are targets to achieve - if you achieve them - great, if you don't - they will point it out and ask to improve. You will be notified regularely if there are issues with either a speed or an accuracy
    The warehouse itself is very modern with excellent facilities (fully equipped canteen, showers etc). Definitely a step up from the storage room in a hardware shop;)

Good luck, hope you get the job you want.

Thanks a million for the reply, have you got any idea what the shifts are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Thanks a million for the reply, have you got any idea what the shifts are?

Depends on the area you will be assigned to.
    The earliest shift starts around 5am, the latest at 7pm.In reality even if you are on the evening shift you might be asked to start at 2pm-5pm anyway.
    You will find out at the interview stage what is your shift, and what the regular hours are. There are no fixed hours anyway ( and no hours are guaranteed ), all depends on how busy it is and how many people are in on each day.
    For 19 yo it would be a good experience, you can do some additional courses in warehousing / distribution while working to increase the chances of getting better job in the future anyway, unless you have other job prospects in mind.
    Let us know how the interview went, and - hopefully - how is the job itself.
    Good luck and I hope you start soon.

I too applied for this a few days ago, had to re arrange my CV to mention a few years warehousing work I had done when I was a teenager/early 20's. I hope I hear back.

Hey OP how did you get on? I had an interview on wed but I didn't get the job. Interviewing with 4 other people got the best of me I thought.

Sorry to hear you didn't get on as well as you had hoped to :/ Got a call that evening from the Recruitment Agency saying that I'd been shortlisted. Not having my own transport was somewhere I think I slipped up. Another pal of mine was interviewed in the same group as me and we're both 19 and just out of school and had the same job previously so there wasn't really a difference. Hopefully something good will come of the shortlist though, I've got something temporary sorted for the moment though so not too much to complain about..

I think you were in there with me, guy sitting to my right, I was the one not wearing a suit as they only rang me that morning to tell me I had an interview. Two 19 year old lads in my interview anyway at 10:30... ring a bell? .... yeah I got the whole "shortlist" spiel off them too...

FearDark wrote: »
    I think you were in there with me, guy sitting to my right, I was the one not wearing a suit as they only rang me that morning to tell me I had an interview. Two 19 year old lads in my interview anyway at 10:30... ring a bell? .... yeah I got the whole "shortlist" spiel off them too...

Yeah I remember actually. Yeah that was us, I was the littler one :pac: seems odd really, impossible to know what they were looking for, oh well. Life goes on I guess. Might be worth your while trying SCI in Fermoy if you think you'd be up for travelling. They're giving out 3 month contracts at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭kelledy

In from Dublin but live in Scotland and the guy from that warehouse was over being trained to be a manager in the warehouse i was working in here.
    I can only presume mitchelstown will be identically run.
    I was in Scotland's only aldi warehouse for 3 months while i waited for something better to come along ....and it did thank god.
    I hated the job . The people were sound but it was an awful place.
    Day was
    6am start straight into work.
    300 pick rate an hour
    Moterised pallet truck up and down aisles voice picking.
    9am 15min break
    915 till order was picked for that day could be 12/1/2/3

15 minute break for back breaking labour and 300 picks per hour was very hard.

0 room for error .
    That's just my opinion but it was only ever a gap job for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Jaz90

Does anyone know what shifts they are recruiting for now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭bladebrew

I would imagine the shifts are all hours,
    I have applied before but didn't hear anything back, I have seen the same job advertised with a different agency that said in the ad if you don't live within 20 minutes then don't apply!
    I would imagine that is why I heard nothing as I'm in the city so it would be a 40minute drive,

Edit: here is that ad, it's C&M recruitment
    http://ie.indeed.com/cmp/C&M-Recruitment/jobs/General-Operative-Food-Retailer-Warehouse-b34854f83b81d814

Seems silly to pick staff based on location alone,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭Aaron97

Is there anyone on here that works at the Aldi warehouse in mitchelstown, what's it like to work there??

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭Chemical Byrne

OP, a friend of mine from Angelsboro near Mitchelstown worked there for a summer off college a few years back. It was not a good experience for him. One of the supervisors in there was a pure bully and my friend was a quiet individual. Eventually he had to stand up for himself and in response he was threatened and pinned against a window with a wheel wrench being held up against his throat. Don't know if this individual is still working there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭TheStook

I cant speak for Mitchelstown but I worked in the chiller in Aldi Naas which Im sure is ran the exact same especially as one of the main managers there went to Mitchelstown in January.

I was 19 when I got the job and I have to say it was a great place to work. I started at 5am-7am and finished anytime between 12pm-3pm. At my time of leaving there was 2 Irish people out of about 40 people (Mostly Polish) and it was not a problem at all. All of them were fantastic, genuine people who treated me as one of their own. It was obviously intimidating at first and I know for a fact that there is also a lot of Polish in Mitchelstown but from my experience they are a very easygoing and welcoming people.

It is worth noting however that most of the Irish people in their younger 20's who worked there over my 11 months really did not like the place so maybe It's more suitable for people like me who were simply using the place for a year to save money for college etc. I knew it was never gonna be permanent for me so enjoyed the work whilst I could.

As for the work, it can get quite boring order picking for hours but tbh it was quite satisfying when you finish a large order and wrap up the pallet. All the managers were bang on and never had a problem with any of them. Taking days off etc was not a problem once you give good notice.

Hi man, great to hear you got on well at ALDI I'm 18 just out of school and would love to work in a warehouse picking orders and loading trucks, I often see agencys looking for Warehouse Staff for the Aldi warehouse, the only thing is I live close to the city and my only way of getting to work would be a taxi, Would they picking be hard how many cases a hour do you have to do??

In my area it was 265 per hour, but I was in the chiller not the main area. So I was mainly lifting heavy stuff like butter,juice,ham,yogurts etc. I think they give you a month "training" period where they will not hassle you about your pick rate which is more than enough to reach it. Its hard at first but once you get a system going it actually became quite fun for me seeing how fast I could go and finishing before others. When we finished we had to clean and prepare the place for the next day so it didnt matter how early you finished picking after the break.

The amount you pick before the break was always set at 680ish, that's from 7am-9.30am. At the end I was quite fast and usually finished that 680 at 9am which meant a half hour of basically doing nothing. I would only recommend working there if you are young like me. Most of the older employees were very disgruntled about the lack of progression and the management but if you take the job for what it is it was a fantastic experience for me and will do wonders for my CV.

As for the interview, just stress that you have no problem working at any time and you're a team player etc.

Sounds like hard work 265, I suppose it might be alot harder in the freezer picking heavier items, would the vary you in the warehouses from week to week or would they have you in a specific part all the time, also could your contract be extended after the 11 months??

Yeah the Ambient area is a lot easier from what I heard.

And no variance, I was always in the chiller. From what I understand, the freezer in Naas is moving to Mitchelstown and the chiller is being extended.

You have to wait 3 months after your 11 month contract finishes to come back for some reason. This is part of why the older staff were disgruntled. I didnt care because I have no intention of coming back unless I'm really stuck come September (Finished in June).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 6910

Aaron97 wrote: »

Is there anyone on here that works at the Aldi warehouse in mitchelstown, what's it like to work there??

hi there I've worked in there since it open . what are u looking to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

Sorry for bumping this but I have a nephew looking at applying in Aldi, I see on their website the warehouse pays €11.50 rising to €13 can anyone tell me when it rises to the €13 and if there's any extra payments like shift premiums etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 6910

rpurfield wrote: »
    Sorry for bumping this but I have a nephew looking at applying in Aldi, I see on their website the warehouse pays €11.50 rising to €13 can anyone tell me when it rises to the €13 and if there's any extra payments like shift premiums etc?

Hi
    you start off at 11.50ph
    each year it go up and after 3 year it’s 13 ph
    there is no shift allowance
    but if u work on the evening shift it €2 extra an hour after 8pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

6910 wrote: »
    Hi
    you start off at 11.50ph
    each year it go up and after 3 year it’s 13 ph
    there is no shift allowance
    but if u work on the evening shift it €2 extra an hour after 8pm.

Thanks 6910 good to know

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭hawkeyethenoo

rpurfield wrote: »

im in aldi warehouse in naas, the wages are €11.70 an hour and €15.70 on sundays, double pay for bank holidays. the wage rises are yearly. the only shift ive been offered in naas is 5.15-6.00am until around 2pm-2.30pm, earlier or later finish depending on how much is to be picked.