Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help/Adivce needed

• 12-01-2014 10:25pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭

Hi guys , Im planning to organize a round of golf and an overnight stay for 8 or so lads . Im hoping to do this for first or second week in March .

Im hoping to get somewere quite close to a town with a few pubs around . We are from south Dublín so ideally i was hoping to get somewere within an hour or 90 min drive away .

Lads would any of yous have any suggestions ? The quality of the golf course is not really a big issue as besides 2 or 3 us we would not be the grestest bunch of golfers .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 187 ✭✭peepee

Kilkenny is a good town

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭delboykelly

Bunclody, and I'd say you'd get a good deal in the hotel across from the golf course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,865 ✭✭✭TRS30

Have been to Carlingford a couple of times on stag/ golf trip and found it very good. Good bars/ restaurants and golf courses near by.

I know it is the opposite side of Dublin however not very far on M50/M1.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Play Esker Hills or Castle Barna and stay in the Central Hotel in Tullamore.

I've priced something similar for the end of the summer (details in a few weeks) but it involved a round on the Saturday morning, dinner, B&B and round on the Sunday. Was working out around €90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭kagni

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Play Esker Hills or Castle Barna and stay in the Central Hotel in Tullamore.

I've priced something similar for the end of the summer (details in a few weeks) but it involved a round on the Saturday morning, dinner, B&B and round on the Sunday. Was working out around €90

Did that exact trip last year, two nice courses and hotel was fine.
    Might also be worth looking at Dungarvan, nice town and some decent courses there also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Danny dyers double

Thanks for the replys guys .

We ended up going with Glasson hotel in Athlone . 115 per person for B+B , round of Golf and evening meal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭markthespark77

id recommend portumna, its an 1.40 min drive from Dublin, u could stay in the arch house bar b&b its right in the centre of the town, course is a 2 min drive away, and the arch house have a bus and will drop u off and collect after ur round if u fancy a few drinks in the club afterwards.

ps, played the cource today and in savage cond.

Thanks for the replys guys .

We ended up going with Glasson hotel in Athlone . 115 per person for B+B , round of Golf and evening meal

Glasson is a fine course. If your there more.than a day make sure to play athlone as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,512 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

charlieIRL wrote: »
    Glasson is a fine course. If your there more.than a day make sure to olay athlone as well.
    Few nice places to bring herself for walks local to glasson too if ye are into that. Portlick woods is one of them.

Good man Charlie, I can see Danny bringing the 8 lads he was booking for on a romantic walk :)

PARlance wrote: »
    Good man Charlie, I can see Danny bringing the 8 lads he was booking for on a romantic walk :)

Crap crap!! Got threads mixed up!

Anyway..........15th in glasson is some hole. Almost had a hole in one there last time I played there!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭mister gullible

Dundrum House, Tipperary, great course and good on course accommodation.
    Cahir Park, Tipp, nice course and close to accommodation in the town.
    Portumna, good course and good greenfees. Not sure what accommodation is available now (I heard Shannon Oaks closed down?).
    Birr is a good track and nice accommodation at County Arms.
    Heard good deals can be had at Rosapenna.
    Sometimes if you deal direct with Golf club they will give you a good discount on green fees and also point you towards a good accommodation deal.