Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quick Return System

• 11-01-2014 12:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭

I used to follow systems as featured in the Sporting Life Weekender years ago without much long term success. Still love the concept of a winning system so was interested in the "Quick Return = Quick Profit" system mentioned in the Irish Field last week.

Essentially, you back anything in Ireland that has run 1st,2nd or 3rd in the past 6 days. Profit to a e1 stake since 2009 an incredible e2681 - that's 268 grand for a e100 level stake lads :eek:

Anyway I am monitoring the system (just at the weekends though due to time) - last weekend there were 3 qualifiers

Boondooma - 3rd (favourite, highly uninspired ride from Davy R)
    Lukes Benefit - Winner 100/30
    Getoutwhenyoucan - Winner 2/1

So to a e100 level stake that's + e433 after weekend 1

Only 1 qualifier this weekend - Prince of Milan 1.50 Punchestown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Sounds a bit too good to be true, best of luck with it.

Out of interest is there an easy way of seeing when the horse last ran or do you just click each horse on one of the racing sites?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

You appear to have found the holy grail,emale me your bank details and I'll send you some europeans thanks for this :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Interesting but very hard to prove or disprove those figures, no one will go and scan through the results.

I am skeptical though, the word ''system'' and horse racing sends a shiver down my spine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

The main problem I have with "systems" based on historic data is you'd think bookmakers are sharp enough to cop onto them, making past history not necessarily a reliable guide to the future as the market corrects

I remember years back backing very short priced international teams to win by lowish margins (1-0 & 2-0) was very profitable but bookmakers noticed & changed their odds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Imhof Tank

SRFC wrote: »
    You appear to have found the holy grail,emale me your bank details and I'll send you some europeans thanks for this :pac:

I am monitoring and sharing this, not backing anything. No need for the :pac: smart guy

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Sounds a bit too good to be true, best of luck with it.

Out of interest is there an easy way of seeing when the horse last ran or do you just click each horse on one of the racing sites?

Eh, days since last run is printed immediately after the horses name in most papers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Motivator

I've heard of this before. It is profitable but requires a huge amount of discipline. For the lads who enjoy a bet on a daily basis it won't work as there's limited amount of Irish meetings every week - factor in the possibility of going a few weeks without a winner & lots of people would give up. As it is the start of a new year I'm going to give it a try for the laugh & see how I get on. My punting is minimal the last while so something like this will give me the interest without having to be studying cards day in, day out.

Cheers for the thread OP. Like I said I've heard of this before but never followed it as I enjoyed a punt on a daily basis up until a few months ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Imhof Tank wrote: »
    I used to follow systems as featured in the Sporting Life Weekender years ago without much long term success. Still love the concept of a winning system so was interested in the "Quick Return = Quick Profit" system mentioned in the Irish Field last week.

Essentially, you back anything in Ireland that has run 1st,2nd or 3rd in the past 6 days. Profit to a e1 stake since 2009 an incredible e2681 - that's 268 grand for a e100 level stake lads :eek:

Anyway I am monitoring the system (just at the weekends though due to time) - last weekend there were 3 qualifiers

Boondooma - 3rd (favourite, highly uninspired ride from Davy R)
    Lukes Benefit - Winner 100/30
    Getoutwhenyoucan - Winner 2/1

So to a e100 level stake that's + e433 after weekend 1

Only 1 qualifier this weekend - Prince of Milan 1.50 Punchestown.

an interesting new thread. please keep it running. don't mind the narky ones.

Prince of Milan a faller today but at 16/1 wasn’t expecting much from him

System now +€333 on a turnover of €400

Some further detail on this from that article:

“Since 2009, 1859 horses who made the first three on their previous start have returned to action within six days or less. Of this number 672 have been successful, resulting in a 36% strike rate. Punters following all such qualifiers would have made an impressive profit of €2681.65 to €1 stakes

National Hunt 290 winners from 803 runners (36%), profit €1243 to €1 stakes
    Flat 382 winners from 1056 runners (36%), profit €1438”

There is no note to this article to say the results have been proofed by the Racing Post or whatever but I will take the raw data quoted in something published by the Field as 100% reliable..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

More likely to make money in the summer at galway ect with this system,I wouldnt have the patience for it,stats are there to be broken aswell montjeu's couldnt win in cheltenham after all,or so they said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,961 ✭✭✭✭mailburner

Interesting op
    I like it but for me it's simply because if a horse wins and
    they run it within a week then there's a good chance that
    1. they think it has a good chance of going in again
    2. the horse may more than likely be running on its merits which
    alone is a plus given how many are out for spin

I'll follow with interest before getting involved

I will take the raw data quoted in something published by the Field as 100% reliable..

Looks like I spoke too soon - big embarrassing correction printed in today's edition.:mad:

"The profit and loss figures in last week's article were inaccurate. A €1 bet on the 1859 horses who, since 2009, returned to the track within six days of being placed would have generated a loss of €.76 to SP and a profit of €249.94 to Betfair SP"

Pretty major botch. Embarrassing for the Field. Will continue to monitor privately for the craic anyway.

Eh, days since last run is printed immediately after the horses name in most papers.

Ah, old school :P

I can't remember the last time I used a paper to go through the form.

Why only Irish racing, surely the results would be similar in the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Ah, old school :P

I can't remember the last time I used a paper to go through the form.

Why only Irish racing, surely the results would be similar in the UK

Too young you are young fella.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Looks like I spoke too soon - big embarrassing correction printed in today's edition.:mad:

"The profit and loss figures in last week's article were inaccurate. A €1 bet on the 1859 horses who, since 2009, returned to the track within six days of being placed would have generated a loss of €.76 to SP and a profit of €249.94 to Betfair SP"

Pretty major botch. Embarrassing for the Field. Will continue to monitor privately for the craic anyway.
    How in the name of God did someone make that big of a cock up in the numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,447 ✭✭✭barney4001

maybe better doing TENNER LUCKY DIP IN THE LOTTO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Nice bit of free advertising for betfair :)

BumperD wrote: »
    Nice bit of free advertising for betfair :)

The Field may have to do another apology, they may not have netted the commission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Not having a pop at the OP, but this system has been awful.

Yeah when I put this up initially it was in the middle of the bad weather where most weeks there were just the 2 meetings on at most so there were practically no qualifiers after the first week for the next month.

I take it you have been monitoring yourself to be able to say it has shown awful returns. How awful has it been out of curiosity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,771 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

there are people out there who will beat the bookies others wont. there's no system otherwise we would all be in profit and there be no bookies to bet in