Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

travellers

• 10-01-2014 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭

Do you respect the travellers .

I show them respect for the ones that live around my area. Better to keep on the good side then the wrong side. The lads are grand and women just don't respect the people around here well the young generations

cena wrote: »
    I show them respect for the ones that live around my area.

How long do they have to be there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

This thread won't last long, ha ha....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭tightropetom

This won't end well.

**pulls up a seat***

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,407 ✭✭✭lkionm

Yay. Love these threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Do you respect the travellers.

They're just misunderstood, once you understand how they think, they are very easy to get on with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Hang on I just need to make some popcorn:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

BANG!!!!

What was that?

It was the thread being locked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭lukesmom

I respect all travellers except those who pay for priority boarding hate those!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

This thread won't travel well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,115 ✭✭✭✭cena

How long do they have to be there?

They have there Own part of the area they live. Called the halting site. They have been living there longer than I have been alive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭Stone Deaf 4evr

I show them respect for the ones that live around my area. Better to keep on the good side then the wrong side. The lads are grand and women just don't respect the people around here well the young generations

This would imply a fear of them, I'm all for mutual respect, but something aint right if you're only showing respect for fear of reprisal.

**insert rant about travellers in my dads town**

Grumble grumble etc....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Kippure

They are lovely people.

WHAt ya Tryn taaa saay Baaus :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

Better to keep on the good side then the wrong side.

That's not respect, that's fear.

They have there Owen part of the area they live. Called the hunting site. They have been living there longer than I have been alive

Who is Owen??? :)

lukesmom wrote: »
    Who is Owen??? :)

Some traveller lad....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I can't put into words how much i love them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

I have friends who are 1st generation settled traveller's & nicer, more decent folk you wouldn't meet.

Listening to their opinions, they are ashamed of the actions of some of the younger generation of their community, who they believe have lost their way & pride, forgoing tradition & their own language etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

I don't understand this. :confused: It's put me right off my prejudice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

To be honest I try keep my dealings with travellers to a minimum. I know It's prejudice but I just rather it that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 480 ✭✭saltyjack silverblade

I love the videos they send each other on youtube. Quality.

They have there Own part of the area they live. Called the hunting site. They have been living there longer than I have been alive

Hunting or halting?

Cavemen or travellers?

There only sh!te in the bucket!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

In before the lack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I respect all travellers except the ones who pay no tax while still happy to use state resources. Same goes for non travellers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Proper travellers? Yes. One way ticket to somewhere miles off the beaten track. Nothing to fall back on but a well thought out backpack and a positive attitude.

The guided tour brigade? No. No respect at all. Might as well stay at home and watch telly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

I've no reason not to respect them

Once you understand what makes them thick, they are a lot easier to get on with.

I respect travellers. I've met some who were the kindest and loveliest people you could ever meet. I've also met some who are absolute scumbags. Exactly the same with "settled" people - some are the kindest and loveliest people you could ever meet, some who are scumbags. If you show me respect, I'll show you respect.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Some shower, riding around in the breeze, living the life they please.

Although, maybe they're not all like the Wilburys, so I probably shouldn't judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

Wow...how is this open???

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

I respect travellers. I've met some who were the kindest and loveliest people you could ever meet. I've also met some who are absolute scumbags. Exactly the same with "settled" people - some are the kindest and loveliest people you could ever meet, some who are scumbags. If you show me respect, I'll show you respect.

Agree totally, there are some settled people who don't understand the word respect and vice versa.
    If they respect me, I respect them.

Have met and played sports with many and have never yet had an issue with them. A couple of them have got through school and got jobs for themselves and are trying to make a life for themselves, there are plenty of settled who you couldn't attribute that to.

Take them as you find them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭thecatspjs

I don't like them and I deliberately avoid them. I've had so many run-ins with travellers down through the years while working in a shop that I've become a discriminating racist. I'm not happy about it and if I ever meet a traveller I'll be civil and polite but I will always be a bit on edge and I would never trust them. I wouldn't hire a traveller if I was an employer and I wouldn't be happy if they lived near me.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

RoboRat wrote: »
    Once you understand what makes them thick, they are a lot easier to get on with.

Hmm..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

some of them are great musicians

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Most of the lads I know were also very good amateur boxers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

I think most of them are animals to be honest, well from what ive seen around my area anyway.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 19 Cowboy2014

I hate travellers they stole my mum's phone before Christmas I'd love to give her a thousand scars

Cowboy2014 wrote: »
    I hate travellers they stole my mum's phone before Christmas I'd love to give her a thousand scars

Why would you want to scar your own mother?

Hmm..

Its in their breeding, they are just different to us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 218 ✭✭burnhardlanger

Travellers remind me a lot of every other human being.

Some are sound, some are not sound.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

Jaysus your lovely...shed crap christmas and now ya wanna brand the poor woman :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Billy the Kid killed many innocent people but that doesn't mean all cowboys are bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

RoboRat wrote: »
    Its in their breeding, they are just different to us

So they say anyway, in a tactical effort to be classified as a separate ethnicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

They should be in the WWE

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

Not happening here. Locked.