Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eddie Irvine sentenced to six months in jail

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,575 ✭✭✭ZiabR

Zcott wrote: »
    For a nightclub brawl in Italy. If he has the balls to punch Ayrton Senna, he'll punch anyone. Article suggests it's unlikely he'll spend any time behind bars, though.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/eddie-irvine-sentenced-to-six-months-for-milan-nightclub-brawl-1.1649565

Heard on the radio that the sentence is suspended so he wont be serving any time it seems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭Hoagy

If he has the balls to punch Ayrton Senna, he'll punch anyone.

Other way round, actually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

He won't spend a minute in prison, he will appeal it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

BBC NI are reporting that the sentances to both brawlers are likely to be suspended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭youtheman

Saw a photo of Eddie in the Irish Times today. Man, he has gotten 'heavy around the jowls' as we say at home. He aint no 'George Clooney' threat anymore. I don't feel so bad after putting on a few kgs over the Christmas !!!!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Ed Winchester

Didn't Senna deck him??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭endplate

Yup Senna hit him. Irvine was lapped by Senna the race leader and Irvine unlapped himself. Senna paid Irvine a visit after the race and gave him a slap. Japan 1991

Irvine should've headbutted him back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭eyescreamcone

Senna Legend

Irvine Not!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭billie1b

Any prison sentence of 2 years or under in Italy automatically becomes a suspended sentence due to some law

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Whats he doing with himself these days any way? Other than acting the maggot.

endplate wrote: »
    Yup Senna hit him. Irvine was lapped by Senna the race leader and Irvine unlapped himself. Senna paid Irvine a visit after the race and gave him a slap. Japan 1991

Japan 1993

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,206 ✭✭✭Zcott

iDave wrote: »
    Whats he doing with himself these days any way? Other than acting the maggot.

I think he's involved in property. Financially at least, he has his head screwed on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Senna Legend

Irvine Not!

Yes, in the truest sense of the word.

Irvine did embody what I expect to see in a F1 driver though, flamboyant and arrogant and did what they all dream of doing, drive and win for Ferrari.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭Stainless_Steel

Anyone see the F1 legends interview he did on Sky Sports F1?

Thought he came across well. Very realistic about his own ability, and has a very high opinion of Schumi. He admits to letting Schumi pass but not due to team orders, just that he was too fast to try and defend against.

But what impressed me most was his criticism of the modern F1, mainly DRS creating manufactured overtaking. He said he wants to see one/two people being streets ahead because that means you have true class within a highly skilled sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,880 ✭✭✭Hippo

I think he's involved in property. Financially at least, he has his head screwed on.

Following the events of the last few years, this may be open to question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭endplate

billie1b wrote: »
    Japan 1993

D'oh yeah 1993 thanks billie1b

endplate wrote: »
    D'oh yeah 1993 thanks billie1b

No probs, was a great grand prix.