Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Super Bowl Parties 2014 - Dublin

• 09-01-2014 12:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭

288204.jpg

Could only find a thread for last year, maybe a place to put all the places having Super Bowl themed nights or parties on February 2nd.
    Some of the usual places and if people want to add to the list we can update the master list?

Woolshed Baa and Grill - https://goo.gl/maps/qFfHM - (this might be a ticket affair?

Peader Kearneys https://goo.gl/maps/wUFJe-(Although there is a charge on this party edited on charge)

Portobello Hotel / Bar - https://goo.gl/maps/if9gB (last year there was no charge) - This is the one i attended last year, not as packed as i thought it would be but decent atmosphere and the bar stayed serving till the end and there was hot dogs and foam fingers a plenty.

Harry's on the Green - https://goo.gl/maps/JvSVp - Dublin Rebels are hosting their Super Bowl Party here

Hogs and Heifers - Swords - https://goo.gl/maps/NGynF - Will be running a Super Bowl night, details on their facebook, cheerleaders, hotdogs n all and drinks promotions - (This has been made a ticket affair. 5e a ticket available from the Bar)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

Dublin rebels will be in Harrys on the Green again.

I figure to watch at home this year though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,176 ✭✭✭BKWDR

adrian522 wrote: »
    Dublin rebels will be in Harrys on the Green again.

I figure to watch at home this year though.
    Updated the list
    Yeah I might be staying local myself, although last year was decent craic, unless the Pats make the final il probably wander up the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

I was in the Portobello last year, just sitting at the ground floor bar though, we were on a rollover from a stag, otherwise I'd have watched at home though which is probably what I'll do this year.

Bateman wrote: »
    I was in the Portobello last year, just sitting at the ground floor bar though, we were on a rollover from a stag, otherwise I'd have watched at home though which is probably what I'll do this year.

I was just at the big screen down stairs at the bar. They must have been expecting huge numbers as down stairs was open with hot dog stands and stuff but quikcly closed off

Yeah was unfortunate, looked like a nicely done setup but didn't get the numbers as you say

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,196 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

I remember asking about the superbowl there and was told the place would be absolutely mobbed. Obviously an attempt to get us to come in crazy early, but in the end we just went elsewhere.

I think that place has a good sound and TV setup but the quality of the beer is pretty poor, pints served in there are sometime close to undrinkable and cost about €6 which is a pity as the location and the rest of the setup is spot on.

Captain America used to do a Superbowl thing as well, not sure if they still do.

I remember asking about the superbowl there and was told the place would be absolutely mobbed. Obviously an attempt to get us to come in crazy early, but in the end we just went elsewhere.

I think that place has a good sound and TV setup but the quality of the beer is pretty poor, pints served in there are sometime close to undrinkable and cost about €6 which is a pity as the location and the rest of the setup is spot on.

Last time i was in the Portabello (not my side of the city) i was in with a mate and we just asked 'oh whats that Caeldonian Smooth' like? Bar man answered '€3.20 is what its like...'

"Three of them please...."

Drank it all night, was smooth and easy to drink like john smiths/smithwicks , killer hangover.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Yeah home for me this year too, BBQ and Beers its hard to beat and you actually get comfy seats along with a good view of the TV!

Can't be beat but its good to have the banter with lads who are into the game as well, given that its the last game until September! The girlfriend is up on the rules and watches it too but doesn't get "into it"... ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Will be watching at home as normal (not sure anywhere in Limerick be showing it) Like the idea of Super Bowl party but want a comfy chair & unobscured view of TV.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

BKWDR wrote: »
    Can't be beat but its good to have the banter with lads who are into the game as well, given that its the last game until September! The girlfriend is up on the rules and watches it too but doesn't get "into it"... ha
    Send her to bed :pac:

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Will be watching at home as normal (not sure anywhere in Limerick be showing it) Like the idea of Super Bowl party but want a comfy chair & unobscured view of TV.

Yep, after the last Rebels party in Dandelion which in fairness the biggest gripe is against the massively expensive platters, no matter where we stood we were in someones way..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 228 ✭✭Lothaar v2

Yep, after the last Rebels party in Dandelion which in fairness the biggest gripe is against the massively expensive platters, no matter where we stood we were in someones way..

Dude...

I'm going to post a thread on this year's Rebels party today and I had a quick look through the ones I set up for the last few years. You made this comment SO many times. I wish I could do something to make up for Dandelion's overpriced platters that left such a bad taste in your mouth... it had nothing to do with the Rebels, or Superbowl parties in general. And we took your feedback on board at the time - for the past couple of years we've paid a lot more attention to the food on offer at the event to create the best possible experience for everyone.

You've every right to complain if you had a bad experience. It just seems a bit OTT at this stage.

Tell you what... If you're free this Saturday, you can bail over to my gaff and I'll whip up some grub to make it up to you. We're slow-roasting lamb shoulder for an awesome shepherd's pie, so you're in for a treat! Best I can do. But please... let it go, man. Let it go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

Perfectly valid to mention past experiences with superbowl parties in a Superbowl parties thread.

Lothaar v2 wrote: »
    Dude...

I'm going to post a thread on this year's Rebels party today and I had a quick look through the ones I set up for the last few years. You made this comment SO many times. I wish I could do something to make up for Dandelion's overpriced platters that left such a bad taste in your mouth... it had nothing to do with the Rebels, or Superbowl parties in general. And we took your feedback on board at the time - for the past couple of years we've paid a lot more attention to the food on offer at the event to create the best possible experience for everyone.

You've every right to complain if you had a bad experience. It just seems a bit OTT at this stage.

Tell you what... If you're free this Saturday, you can bail over to my gaff and I'll whip up some grub to make it up to you. We're slow-roasting lamb shoulder for an awesome shepherd's pie, so you're in for a treat! Best I can do. But please... let it go, man. Let it go.

Sorry mate, i dont mean to nag, the previous parties were all top notch and the food has nothing to do with you guys.

Now.. can i mention the cheerleaders ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭Vanolder

Don't think i'd be bothered going to one as watching from home is preferable for me.... but where, if any, in Limerick can you go to a superbowl party, Flannerys??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭baddebt

BKWDR wrote: »
    Hi Guys,

Could only find a thread for last year, maybe a place to put all the places having Super Bowl themed nights or parties on February 2nd.
    Some of the usual places and if people want to add to the list we can update the master list?

Woolshed Baa and Grill - https://goo.gl/maps/qFfHM - (this might be a ticket affair?

Peader Kearneys https://goo.gl/maps/wUFJe-(Although there is a charge of 50e on this)

Portobello Hotel / Bar - https://goo.gl/maps/if9gB (last year there was no charge) - This is the one i attended last year, not as packed as i thought it would be but decent atmosphere and the bar stayed serving till the end and there was hot dogs and foam fingers a plenty.

Harry's on the Green - https://goo.gl/maps/JvSVp - Dublin Rebels are hosting their Super Bowl Party here

Hogs and Heifers - Swords - https://goo.gl/maps/NGynF - Will be running a Super Bowl night, details on their facebook, cheerleaders, hotdogs n all and drinks promotions

€50 into Peader Kearney's ...wtf ,
    last year is was €6 , free drink and plenty of food at HT ,
    have they naked cheerleaders or something this time round !!!

i myself shall be staying at home this time round

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

Vanolder wrote: »
    Don't think i'd be bothered going to one as watching from home is preferable for me.... but where, if any, in Limerick can you go to a superbowl party, Flannerys??
    Showtime cinema might show it,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,286 ✭✭✭OAOB

baddebt wrote: »

I know 2years ago it was 50 quid all you can eat and drink and last year was 6 quid with one free drink.
    50 quid all you can eat and drink is a good deal

baddebt wrote: »

OAOB wrote: »
    I know 2years ago it was 50 quid all you can eat and drink and last year was 6 quid with one free drink.
    50 quid all you can eat and drink is a good deal

Sorry guys edited main post, i had googled their night and found it was 50e and when i rang last year the guy at the bar told me it was 50e in and to make sure i bought well in advance.
    It it's 6e, thats not a bad deal if you get fed and a pint!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Hubert de la Poer

Just called Woolshed - it's free entry for Super Bowl.

Thinking of watching Pats game there tomorrow night - anyone know if the other places listed so far showing the Super Bowl are showing the playoffs, as fancy trying somewhere different?

Just called Woolshed - it's free entry for Super Bowl.

Thinking of watching Pats game there tomorrow night - anyone know if the other places listed so far showing the Super Bowl are showing the playoffs, as fancy trying somewhere different?

Thing is it will just be a regular Saturday night and the pats game will go on till 4am so doubtful they will stay open til the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Justin10

Woolshed posted on their Facebook during the week that the full pats game will be shown.

Rochey18 wrote: »
    Woolshed posted on their Facebook during the week that the full pats game will be shown.

It will be shown but bar will close at normal time to I'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

It will be shown but bar will close at normal time to I'd say

They'll serve until at least 3.

Well in the past they have closed a good deal earlier than that..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13 Hubert de la Poer

Well in the past they have closed a good deal earlier than that..

Well at least they're showing it!

As I posted earlier I was looking for somewhere else to see Pats game but very few options.
    Annoying that so many places show the Super Bowl but can't be arsed to show the regular season or playoffs.

Rochey18 wrote: »

Thought you were looking for some where other than the Shed... Sorry yeah you can always rely on that bar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Paddy Houlihan

Lothaar v2 wrote: »
    Dude...

Was at the rebels party last year had an absolutely great night, Loads of tvs American food buckets of beer huge crowd and great atmosphere have tickets got early this yeary m only gripe with last year was that from when we got there around 9 until coverage started all that was on the tv was Spanish football would of been great if there could of been some nfl action on the screens. All I need now is the niners to beat the seahawks

Hey Paddy , there is a thread over here for the Rebels Party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭SHOVELLER

What happended to the €50 tickets at Peadar Kearneys?!

SHOVELLER wrote: »
    What happended to the €50 tickets at Peadar Kearneys?!

I had originally put up 50e as that was the price i was told when i enquired last year, but someone said it was 6e in the end.