Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Saving For A Deposit To Buy A House

Options
  • 02-01-2014 10:03pm
    Registered Users Posts: 92 ✭✭

Hey Folks,

Need a little bit of advice on this.

My wife and I have been saving for a couple of years for a deposit to buy a house.

We are about 18k off where we need to be to in order to go to banks and get approval in place.

My parents have just finished renovating a house that they own and have kindly offered us to stay their rent free until we have enough for the rest of the deposit.

After working the figures out, it will take us 12 months of living their to save this amount and more. Our rent and childcare at the moment is over 2k a month.

So to get to my question, I am worried about the Bank not seeing a paper trail for rent paid, the last few years we have been paying 1000-1200p/m by DD which I know they like to see.

Is this a big issue for them? How best to work it in my favor? while keeping them happy that we have the means to pay them back the loan.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,818 ✭✭✭jlm29

DrBass wrote: »
    Hey Folks,

My wife and I have been saving for a couple of years for a deposit to buy a house.

We are about 18k off where we need to be to in order to go to banks and get approval in place.

My parents have just finished renovating a house that they own and have kindly offered us to stay their rent free until we have enough for the rest of the deposit.

After working the figures out, it will take us 12 months of living their to save this amount and more. Our rent and childcare at the moment is over 2k a month.