Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pie in the Sky hopes for 2014

• 02-01-2014 6:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭

Before Rancher gets annoyed this isn't an IFA bashing thread.
    Am not going to ever make any factory up with my numbers but was annoyed last wkd when I was chatting a knowledgeable farmer from Northern Ireland who was telling me about the Craic that is happening with 'Polish beef' coming on its hols to North for the last few months,then been stamped as been Irish thus driving down prices for Northern and Southern Irish beef:(.......
    No million dollars prize for which beef Baron is behind this enterprise.
    Time for IFA and ICMSA and Northern farming bodies to make some bit of noise about this........

Will be a bit late if we hear about it in a BBC expose programme in two years time when our farmers have been screwed out of business in meantime.
    My pie in sky hope for 2014 is that factories get taken down a peg or two

What's yours?.......
    ps All the best for 2014.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

mine is to get the same six months we had in 2013 from june to december

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Consistent seasons for once, in the right bloody order, and to manage to lease/buy about 50klitres of quota, everything else I can keep on top of!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭MFdaveIreland

biddy2013 wrote: »
    mine is to get the same six months we had in 2013 from june to december

A summer like 2013 starting tomorrow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭jersey101

Timmaay wrote: »
    Consistent seasons for once, in the right bloody order, and to manage to lease/buy about 50klitres of quota, everything else I can keep on top of!

What's the idea of buying quota next year Tim??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

Before Rancher gets annoyed this isn't an IFA bashing thread.
    Am not going to ever make any factory up with my numbers but was annoyed last wkd when I was chatting a knowledgeable farmer from Northern Ireland who was telling me about the Craic that is happening with 'Polish beef' coming on its hols to North for the last few months,then been stamped as been Irish thus driving down prices for Northern and Southern Irish beef:(.......
    No million dollars prize for which beef Baron is behind this enterprise.
    Time for IFA and ICMSA and Northern farming bodies to make some bit of noise about this........

Will be a bit late if we hear about it in a BBC expose programme in two years time when our farmers have been screwed out of business in meantime.
    My pie in sky hope for 2014 is that factories get taken down a peg or two

What's yours?.......
    ps All the best for 2014.

Think you might need more proof than just hearsay

jersey101 wrote: »
    What's the idea of buying quota next year Tim??

Well buy at the 2c/l priority pool, i know I don't have a hope of getting anything close to 50k of that ha.

Ye I dunno what I'll do next yr I'll be well over next autumn if we get a good spring/summer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Match nos to quota next year lads because a super levy on top of a dropping milk price wil not be pretty.yed be better vet to tidy up herd as much as ye can.there will be very little quota to be got in priority pool. In second exchange.im under 35 but over 350 k Ltrs and only got 350 odd Ltrs at 3 cent in first exchange.

Agreed mahoney, getting 50k in extra quota was in line with the title of this thread ha. But anyways, I think I'll supply on for the early part of the quota year, assuming what they say and the milk price does drop at the back end it makes since to supply as much now as I can, then I'll cull a fair few so as I supply the bare min to cover the liquid quota next winter. I'm over 350kL also, and got 4kL in the priority pool for temp leasing this year, cost me 2c/l I think, at the time I didn't know if I'd even use it, but money well spend as I'll almost certain I'll fill the quota now, I'll apply for as much as I can get of it next year.

We got 5k l From the hardship scheme this year and last year. Very handy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,493 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Pie in the sky for 2014 hmmmm
    1 get a proper,spring and the rest ala 2013

2 finally get into that 80 acres next store
    3 the dept announces that quotas will be abolished early at 31 dec 2014!
    4 deliever 8 k Ltrs at 4.2 fat 3.55 protein on less than a tonne of meal and mostly grass
    5 win the lotto,,hire a farm manager,stick in 2 robots and travel the world
    6 Munster win the Heineken cup beating Toulon in final,Ireland win the grand slam in Paris in march with bod bagging a brace of tries and retiring with the body intact and the accolade of been the greatest rugby player this country has ever produced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

personally get mortality rates down around 1.25% of animals handled,

€6 a kilo for meat so that everyone in the beef system is rewarded and making money. realistically it will be on par to worse than 13.

that there be no threads on boards farming and forestry about the ifa:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

1. Sligo to win the all ireland

2. Bob to get married

3. Hire a Swedish aupere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭case 956

go for the cows from 1st may in a t shirt every morn til next oct in 25 plus degrees

that every cow hold to 1st serve of ai

milk price go to 60 c a litre and beef 6 euro a kilo

price of a pint drops to 2 euro

no superlevy ever again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

[quote="hugo29;88271903"

3. Hire a Swedish aupere[/quote]
    Hire a Sweedish something but a Sweedish aupair will really make living in the house hard !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

hugo29 wrote: »
    1. Sligo to win the all ireland

2. Bob to get married

3. Hire a Swedish aupere

I can ask Viktoria is she interest in Aupere work, just dont mention that word marriage to her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

rancher wrote: »
    TBH if you read my original post carefully you would see I am just talking about the type of 'hearsay' as you call it that knowledgeable farmers are 'in the know about'......I enjoy your posts so won't reply again but when you said you need more 'proof than just hearsay' tis a bit like a lad working in central bank in August 2008 saying 'array Anglo Irish Bank wouldn't be acting the maggot!'.....if ya catch my drift
    Am a paid up IFA member but top table must be great fans of a good oul comedy film called 'Hear no Evil,See no Evil.'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

case 956 wrote: »
    go for the cows from 1st may in a t shirt every morn til next oct in 25 plus degrees

no superlevy ever again

Jeez imagine if all these bag lads got there hands on 60c/l milk price when they have there new John Deere, there new sheds, expanding milking parlour and 200 cows. And picking up every bit of spare land about.....With the 60c/l they will take over the world :)

And a big tax bill

TBH if you read my original post carefully you would see I am just talking about the type of 'hearsay' as you call it that knowledgeable farmers are 'in the know about'......I enjoy your posts so won't reply again but when you said you need more 'proof than just hearsay' tis a bit like a lad working in central bank in August 2008 saying 'array Anglo Irish Bank wouldn't be acting the maggot!'.....if ya catch my drift
    Am a paid up IFA member but top table must be great fans of a good oul comedy film called 'Hear no Evil,See no Evil.'

No but I like to get the whole story before I lead a charge.....been caught out a few times

At 60c/l I dont think I'd even bother buying land, I'd just buy up every single milking cow I could get my hands on, setup a feedlot and have the grain lorries coming every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

case 956 wrote: »

no superlevy ever again
    Dont ye know that if milk is making 60 cent it will cost 58 cent to produce it and if beef is making 6euro a kilo it will cost 6.50 to produce it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

keep going wrote: »
    Dont ye know that if milk is making 60 cent it will cost 58 cent to produce it and if beef is making 6euro a kilo it will cost 6.50 to produce it.
    was going to say something similar as in the price of nuts or ration would go through the roof

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

biddy2013 wrote: »
    And a big tax bill

noting a new diet feeder and putting the son/daughter on the books wouldn't sort out....:rolleyes: imagine the feed bills:eek:

No but I like to get the whole story before I lead a charge.....been caught out a few times

As I said Rancher didn't mean it to be taken as just IFA bashing......it's a bloody disgrace though that this is happening and is actually indirectly mentioned in this weeks Journal......article where British farmers are bitching at us and Northern Ireland undercutting them for beef.
    Suffice to say gentleman I was talking to has witnessed unusual traffic entering Northern plants .... Lorries full of chilled beef on its hols.....I thought beef usually exited factories not the other way around;)

As I said Rancher didn't mean it to be taken as just IFA bashing......it's a bloody disgrace though that this is happening and is actually indirectly mentioned in this weeks Journal......article where British farmers are bitching at us and Northern Ireland undercutting them for beef.
    Suffice to say gentleman I was talking to has witnessed unusual traffic entering Northern plants .... Lorries full of chilled beef on its hols.....I thought beef usually exited factories not the other way around;)

It's not unusual for factories to be processing bought in sides

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Western Promise, Rancher
    Time for a few private messages between ye

Half of Connaught and Munster's rainfall to move east to Leinster :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

just do it wrote: »

Keep it :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭Conmaicne Mara

What, for free? I don't feckin think so!!!!!! They're in drought don't you know :cool:

Just for 1 year, then we'll see who the real farmers are ;)

It's not unusual for factories to be processing bought in sides
    Western Promise, Rancher
    Time for a few private messages between ye
    .......And who started this thread?:)

And your point is...........
    I don't understand your post,

And your point is...........
    I don't understand your post,
    Telling Just do it to relax:)....let's all
    Happy New Year and peace and goodwill to all Farmers and farming bodies,
    From original post I was just making point that factories are still acting the maggot which is playing with a lot of farming families futures,
    From my own farming perspective my great hope for 2014 would that they find a spray that kills rushes for ten years when applied once;)
    Peace be with ya Rancher.

With all due respect Western Promise it sounds like you've specific information and despite your second post on this thread stating you'd not be making any further comment you've continued to post.

It's unfair to use hearsay for having a go at any organisation. If you have hard evidence you should pass it onto an official in private that can follow up on it. If there is something genuinely wrong going on then that could ultimately benefit the farming community. Cloak and dagger statements on here wont. If that organisation then fail to act on it maybe, just maybe, you have a legitimate reason to gripe. And this is my last reply on this issue;).

Other than to say I don't always agree with rancher but admire him for the obvious large voluntary effort he has put in over the years for what he believes is in the best interest of the farming community. I don't know him from Adam and my comment is based solely on what I've read on here.

Happy New Year:)

Totally agree with you.....wasn't griping at you or Rancher,reality is that **** is going on,Happy New Year.