Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone interested in a bike swap?

• 02-01-2014 4:33am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭

Hey lads. I'm thinking of moving on my current bike and getting a "proper" road bike instead.

Currently have a Specialized Tri-Cross Sport Triple. 9x3 tiagra group set (105 rear mech) with canti's and bar too levers, 32 spoke wheels, specialized borough cx 32 mm tyres, sks mudguards, pannier rack, 105 spd sl peddles, charge spoon saddle.

Perfect commuter, light tourer or entry level cx bike. Takes up to 32 mm tyres with full guards or up to 38mm nobblies without. Wheels will also accept 24 mm + tyres.

Would be looking for either a steel frame or alu frame/carbon fork bike as trade.
    Preferably with proper sti shifters. I can't stand old shimano thumb shifters!

So if anyone has a bike they are thinking of retiring or looking to try cx, give me a shout.

293501_10151372981691294_886076654_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 708 ✭✭✭ray o

Seaneh wrote: »
    Hey lads. I'm thinking of moving on my current bike and getting a "proper" road bike instead.

Currently have a Specialized Tri-Cross Comp. 9x3 tiagra group set (105 rear mech) with canti's and bar too levers, 32 spoke wheels, specialized borough cx 32 mm tyres, sks mudguards, pannier rack, 105 spd sl peddles, charge spoon saddle.

Perfect commuter, light tourer or entry level cx bike. Takes up to 32 mm tyres with full guards or up to 38mm nobblies without. Wheels will also accept 24 mm + tyres.

Would be looking for either a steel frame or alu frame/carbon fork bike as trade.
    Preferably with proper sti shifters. I can't stand old shimano thumb shifters!

So if anyone has a bike they are thinking of retiring or looking to try cx, give me a shout.

What size is the Tricross?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Any pics?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

Tis a medium. I'll throw up pics later. :-)

I added an image to the OP, bikes is the same set up as in the pic but with a different saddle.

Is the medium a 52 or a 54?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

Hey,

This might be of interest to you, or not! I have one of these and am looking to get a CX bike for myself! This is similar in size to your Specialized.

http://www.dolan-bikes.com/dev/media/wysiwyg/infortis/dolan/reviews/preffisio-review-cycact.jpg

Shimano 105 Gearing and brakes. Double Cranks (instead of triple). NO THUMB SHIFTERS!
    I built it 18mnths ago approx. Use it for training and commuting, raced on it once.

At the moment there are mudguards and rack on it but will take them off if you wished.

Let me know what you think?

padjo5 wrote: »
    Hey,

This might be of interest to you, or not! I have one of these and am looking to get a CX bike for myself! This is similar in size to your Specialized.

http://www.dolan-bikes.com/dev/media/wysiwyg/infortis/dolan/reviews/preffisio-review-cycact.jpg

Shimano 105 Gearing and brakes. Double Cranks (instead of triple). NO THUMB SHIFTERS!
    I built it 18mnths ago approx. Use it for training and commuting, raced on it once.

At the moment there are mudguards and rack on it but will take them off if you wished.

Let me know what you think?

I'd be interested but your bike is worth more than mine, easily!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭mirv

Reckon you should get a second lightweight wheelset <1700g and some decent 25mm tyres <240g and tubes <100g and you'll have yourself a 'road bike'. An Aksium WTS including tubes and tyres for €220 isn't a bad choice and you'll definitely feel the difference as long as the rack comes off. You'll probably lose a half a kilo or more of rolling mass from that alone and you'll especially notice it when accelerating.

Not if there is no rear wheel on mine! I am looking for a replacement wheel as of yesterday, an old wheel I had been using finally gave up the ghost! On that basis we would be about square??

What year is the TriCross? Sure we might arrange a viewing and go from there? Where you based?

Im up near Drogheda. Often in Dublin during week also.

P

mirv wrote: »
    Reckon you should get a second lightweight wheelset <1700g and some decent 25mm tyres <240g and tubes <100g and you'll have yourself a 'road bike'. An Aksium WTS including tubes and tyres for €220 isn't a bad choice and you'll definitely feel the difference as long as the rack comes off :P

Ah, even at that the bike wouldn't be great for proper road use. The riding position is too upright.

Flip the stem as you've got it pointing up, and lose some spacers. You've got quite a lot of choice there, both above and below your cantilever cable post. Looks like you could end up about 3-4cm lower, which is a big drop!

Oh and I'm trying not to be cheeky here, but bend your elbows too! Gets you lower, and is infinitesimally more aerodynamic, and generally helps your handling and comfort over rough terrain as opposed to sitting up with your arms locked out.

Not if there is no rear wheel on mine! I am looking for a replacement wheel as of yesterday, an old wheel I had been using finally gave up the ghost! On that basis we would be about square??

What year is the TriCross? Sure we might arrange a viewing and go from there? Where you based?

Im up near Drogheda. Often in Dublin during week also.

P

I'm in Artane, it's a 2009 tri-cross sport triple, not comp, made a mistake in the op.

Tis a medium. I'll throw up pics later. :-)

I have Giant OCR2 size 54. Was upgraded to full Tiagra 9 speed groupset over time. The bike has had very little use over the last 2-3 years as I use my TT bike on the turbo and for racing. I had a singlecross a couple of years ago and liked the setup.

Spec here.

http://www.ukclassifieds.co.uk/giant_ocr_2_2006_spec-o1549652.html

any pics of the ocr?

To be honest I'm more interested in Padjo's dolan as it has mudguards :P

any pics of the ocr?

To be honest I'm more interested in Padjo's dolan as it has mudguards :P

I don't blame you :)

Seaneh, in my enthusiasm I failed to notice that your bike is a 9speed, pity! I really need a 10speed. On that basis I won't be swapping. Hoping you get sorted. P

Bamp.

Bueller, Bueller, Bueller?

Would be a perfect tourer for anyone looking for some extended summer spins. Front and rear pannier rack bosses and 3 sets of bottle cage bosses, comes with a decent pannier on the back too!

The rear derailleur was swapped out for a 105 by the previous owner so now has a 11-25 rear cassette, which means its less gappy and because it's a triple you can still climb up walls on the thing fairly handy. Full SKS Blume mudgaurds with plenty of clearance for 32mm tyres (currently has 32mm Specialized Borough CX tyres).
    Stock saddle was swapped for a charge spoon, which you can either keep or I'd be willing just swap bikes and we keep our own seats (I love the spoon so suits be grand).

Just to add to the previous post, this bike has just about the most comfortable ride of anything I've ever been on. The combination of the carbon wrapped seatpost, the long wheelbase and specialized genius when it comes to shaping alu means it takes even the choppiest back road surfaces in it's stride. If I could afford to just buy a new double groupset and lighter wheels I'd be swapping them onto it and just using it as a dedicated road bike but I'm a broke student and don't have the luxury. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭JohnDx

:)You should try one of the shops, I'm sure they still do trade-ins. Euro-cycles on long mile road, are having ongoing sale, so you'd probably get a good deal. Another place is the bike shop on Harold's cross bridge, he's well known for taken in 'wrecks' for trade.

JohnDx wrote: »
    :)You should try one of the shops, I'm sure they still do trade-ins. Euro-cycles on long mile road, are having ongoing sale, so you'd probably get a good deal. Another place is the bike shop on Harold's cross bridge, he's well known for taken in 'wrecks' for trade.

Seeing as the bike is worth more for sale or direct swap than I'd get trade in I don't think it's much of an option to be honest.

I might just try pick up compact crankset and second set of wheels on here if I can't find anyone who will swap.

I've seen aksiums go for about €160 new including tyres from some webshops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭slideshow bob

Seeing as the bike is worth more for sale

About what kind of money are you looking for? I know a student with a hybrid itching for something slicker for commuting. Let me know your price and I'll pass the details on to him.

I probably wouldn't sell unless I was offered enough to replace it with a road bike of similar spec/quality. Hence looking for a swap. Cheers though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,973 ✭✭✭De Bhál

Seaneh, in my enthusiasm I failed to notice that your bike is a 9speed, pity! I really need a 10speed. On that basis I won't be swapping. Hoping you get sorted. P

padjo
    what size is the Dolan?