Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ox mountains Sligo

• 01-01-2014 4:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭

A mate has access to a couple of thousand acres on the Ox mountains, between Ballysodare and Ballina. He has asked me up to go stalking,he knows theirs deer on the ground,but he's not sure what "type" they are ,as he's not a stalker.Has anyone stalked this area and if so ,is it just Fallow,or could I expect to bump into a few Reds .Any feed back would be much appreciated. Regards,Arrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Think there is red deer in the national park up there.

A google search says there is fallow deer in the union wood.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Larry60

Mostly Fallow, odd Red, in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭allan450

i shoot that area.a lot of that area is protected union wood do not go near it.its a nature reserve.the area im thinking your on about a gun club has bought the rights to it so you cant shoot that either.pm me and il put you straight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 snatch73

I shoot that area too, hadn't heard about any gun club buying sporting rights in the area. When did this happen? And which club?
    There is a mix of fallow and red on my permissions, mostly fallow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭Larry60

Union wood is a protected area but it is East of the N4. The area under discussion is West of the N4 and covers many miles and a number of local gun clubs. I know some land owners along there who are happy enough with deer hunters on their property but who do not let hunters or others on their lands with dogs.
    If you have permission from the landowner and a deer licence you are good to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭staghunter

I know bunnyconlon gun club else own or lease most of the shooting rights in there area it's not just permission off farmers they have and they wouldn't be long telling ya where to go if ya were found on there shooting grounds.and west Sligo gun club would be around that area to I think.this may sound stubid but whats a union wood is it just coilte or green belt or something.I hear theres some very good reds up that side original release's were of native red but some farms reds were released a couple of years back.supposed to be some huge stags up that way

the gun club im in for the last few years had awful trouble getting the shooting rights back.some doctor from dublin had a syndicate coming down and shooting it took alot of trophy heads out of the area i shoot.plus 5 reds where lamped and left in the field.so any suspicious van/jeep will be reported in minutes.ox mountains is a big area so i guess alot of clubs have rights on it.the ground i shoot an other club has the game rights bought.

ive heard of that docter every where he goes he causes trouble I know off guys in geevagh in Sligo that had bother with him.loads of money and loves throwing it around buying rights off farmers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭arrowloopboy

Do yis have to pay for permissions up your way ?

not where i shoot gun club bought rights off coillte.

allan450 wrote: »
    not where i shoot gun club bought rights off coillte.

Stalking rights ?

staghunter wrote: »
    ive heard of that docter every where he goes he causes trouble I know off guys in geevagh in Sligo that had bother with him.loads of money and loves throwing it around buying rights off farmers

ya the arab doctor.thats him alright.they took alot of deer from it.dont want to see them again

yes so only members of the club have permission to shoot their.i think 3000 acres.

Fair play Allan,it must be a well run club,clubs down my way are hard pushed ta buy a few hundred birds.

ox mountains is a big area so i guess alot of clubs have rights on it.the ground i shoot an other club has the game rights bought.[/quote]

So u can shoot deer on another gun clubs ground?? Didn't know that was legal.

snatch73 wrote: »
    ox mountains is a big area so i guess alot of clubs have rights on it.the ground i shoot an other club has the game rights bought.

So u can shoot deer on another gun clubs ground?? Didn't know that was legal.[/QUOTE]

There are game rights and stalking rights which I suppose can be slit.

So u can shoot deer on another gun clubs ground?? Didn't know that was legal.

There are game rights and stalking rights which I suppose can be slit.[/quote]

Didn't know that. Thought it was all one, as in 'shooting rights'.

I know there are a few syndicates shooting in that area, as I know a couple of lads that are shooting deer in the area that pay into syndicates. Don't know who they pay the money to, whether it's farmers or coillte, but I'll find out.

Depends on if there game clubs I suppose.

How ya mean? Is deer not game?

We'll they prob are or did I hear that they are classed as vermin but still protected.

Either way just because your in the club doesn't entitle you to shoot the deer. You need to have your license from npws. I couldn't imagine the club having a license for the members it's an individual application and assessment.

We'll they prob are or did I hear that they are classed as vermin but still protected.

Either way just because your in the club doesn't entitle you to shoot the deer. You need to have your license from npws. I couldn't imagine the club having a license for the members it's an individual application and assessment.

No, don't think they are classed as vermin.
    I understand that you'd still need your licence from NPWS, but I just find it strange that one club has 'stalking rights' and a different club has 'game rights' on the same land.

I get what your saying alright. And I'm not 100% on it. But it's not the first time I've heard it. I was actually only talking about it on a stalk Sunday morning regarding proper deer management. Maybe the land is rented from the club either.

I just never heard of it before myself, that's why I thought it strange. 2 clubs shooting on one bit of ground, (regardless of size), could be a safety issue. But I know if I was in a spot stalking a deer and someone came walking thru with a couple of dogs shooting game birds, I'd be a bit pissed off.

on coilte leases there is two separate leases that can be got.one for the bird shooting and one for the deer shooting.yon cant have the two lease holders on the ground at the same time as far as I know because of safety issue.stalking can only take place from first light until until eleven am or twelve pm not fully sure which one and signs must be erecected while stalking is taking place not sure about the bird shooting.thats how a gun club could may have the shooting rights for birds and a separate syndicate may have the stalking rights for deer

I see what u mean, it was the safety issue that made me wonder.
    I interested in how they split the time between the two clubs so that both clubs have a fair amount of time on the lease.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

on coilte leases there is two separate leases that can be got.one for the bird shooting and one for the deer shooting.

Plus one on this, here is the coillte link explaining the three licenses put out to tender:

http://www.coillteoutdoors.ie/index.php?id=74

thanks stag hunter you saved me all that typing.thats 100 percent.stalkers have to be out by 11.but it never shot for birds to be honest.only woodcock which is very rare.

And what time can stalkers go in for an evening stalk? Just wondering.

im not sure on that.i dont think much heed is taking on the hole alot to be honest.but if the **** hits the fan the finger will be pointed at someone.

evening stalking wouldn't be allowed in some woods but you can discuss this with forest manager and he may allow you to do some evening stalking.its down to him

im not sure on that.i dont think much heed is taking on the hole alot to be honest.but if the **** hits the fan the finger will be pointed at someone.

If they aren't taking much heed, it's only a matter of time before the sh#t hits the fan so.

were talking 3000 acres deer one side game shooting the other.dont lose any sleep over it you wont be shooting their.anyway would have go in stalking if you pulled up and seen aload of vans with dog boxes waste of time any few shots deer would be gone.im more worried about the poaching then who was rights and different time frames.im off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭PL05

would,nt be too concerned about who else shoots on a lease, thats just the way some leases go. I,d be more concerned about bunny huggers and the like thinking they own the countryside and on some occasions doing a bit of damage to peoples property etc, who probably have more right to be where they are.

dont lose any sleep over it you wont be shooting their.

I sleep very well at night thanks.
    I shoot in the area regularly, have plenty of permission on that mountain!! Have taken a nice few stags off it already this season. And hope to take a few hinds in the next few weeks.

And yes, there's plenty of poaching going on as well, but that problem is everywhere. Last year it was rife in and around Ballina because there was a few decent stags shot there and then photos and the location posted online by the idiots who shot them.
    Bit like the lads from Carlow that we're posting on Facebook about how many they were poaching and how they'd never be caught.

Some people just can't help bragging!!

i was joking about the dont lose any sleep but your 100 percent.to be honest i wasnt even going to get involed in this tread in case someone gave locations exact locations.i put up a few pics of woodcock bags.but thats because i think people wont believe me.id be a bit clever now to stick up a pic of a big red which the backround in the pic.somepeople dont think.il send you a pm later

So anyway,which of yis is inviteing me up for the rut next year to shoot a red:D:D:D.Theirs no need to put us up(their probably be 2 of us):eek:.

Thanks for the information lads,
    I'll look into this further ,before I step in on anyones lease/permission/half gun/club ground /Coillte/Union wood.

Arrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Never seen red deer on it only black Fallow and odd wild goat..Its a hole of a spot...I know one spot that was good but you'd loose a jeep on the pass. Union wood is well dried up.