Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinking before work?

• 31-12-2013 7:19pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4

Howya lads,

Right I work in a pretty big club and never worked NYE before. Safe to say, its either going to be good craic or hell (More likely this one!).

A few friends are going out before I have to go to work. I wonder would be safe to have a few pints beforehand?

What would YOU do boardsies!?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Road to ruin. If you're working than go to work without drinking first. Do you drink any other day before work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4 rocking_noiz

Nope, wouldn't really think of it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Start 2014 looking for a new job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

A few friends are going out before I have to go to work. I wonder would be safe to have a few pints beforehand?

What's a few to you? 2 and no more would be alright. Anything more and you're running a risk.

Aidric wrote: »
    What's a few to you? 2 and no more would be alright. Anything more and you're running a risk.

Ah no, 2 would be the max.

The more I think about it, the less its really worth it. Probably will get a few drinks after with the people anyway. Not much of a point really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

Depends on what your role in work is / the amount of responsibility you carry. If your a barman, I'd say drink away...enjoy yourself.

If you must drive people or work on a door etc I'd say it be safer not to drink...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Thought the rule of thumb for bar/club staff was.

Quiet pub = drinking on/before the job
    Club/busy late bar = Lines in work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 326 ✭✭mfergus

Ah no, 2 would be the max.

The more I think about it, the less its really worth it. Probably will get a few drinks after with the people anyway. Not much of a point really.

2 would be the max??? **** that it's not worth drinking for that. Let...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭danslevent

Drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,219 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

In my line of work it's a big no no. As I work with aircraft all sorts of **** can go wrong if you are impaired so no turning up half cut from the night before or even a pint at lunch with your dinner. I think it's in our policy that we have to be 8 hours between last drink and show time .

To be honest I'd just show up for work in a good frame of mind, sober and do your job.. Have somewhere to go afterwards or even just a load of beer in the gaff for when you get back. If anything did go wrong on a busy night, something innocent your fault or otherwise and your manager felt you had a few beers on you things might not fall in your favour to say the least. Anyway if you did you would prob start to feel ropey and hungover halfway through the shift so maybe not worth it... Just my two cents !

Strumms wrote: »
    In my line of work it's a big no no. As I work with aircraft all sorts of **** can go wrong if you are impaired so no turning up half cut from the night before or even a pint at lunch with your dinner. I think it's in our policy that we have to be 8 hours between last drink and show time .

To be honest I'd just show up for work in a good frame of mind, sober and do your job.. Have somewhere to go afterwards or even just a load of beer in the gaff for when you get back. If anything did go wrong on a busy night, something innocent your fault or otherwise and your manager felt you had a few beers on you things might not fall in your favour to say the least.

Oh don't worry, my responsibility is very little and in no where involves other peoples health!

Yeah, its not worth it at all really. Just load up for after, and if we have the energy, go all night :cool:

May as well not start a trend of drinking before work. It's like people who drink alone, a slippery slope if you ask me..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Not advisable.