Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Her Majesty's New Years Honours List 2014. Kighthoods

• 31-12-2013 12:34am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭

Our next door neighbour's head honcho has just dished them out for next year and thus given herself the task of tapping the worthy winners on the shoulders with a sword for the year ahead.

Arise Sir Lapin !!!

Here is a selected list of some the other gallant recipients (For the first time ever there are more women than men). -

THE MOST ANCIENT AND MOST NOBLE ORDER OF THE THISTLE

The Rt Hon David Alexander Cospatrick Douglas-Home, the Earl of Home CVO, CBE.
    The Rt Hon Robert Haldane Smith, Baron Smith of Kelvin. Chancellor of the Order

He deserves that thistle. (Whoever he is)

KNIGHTS BACHELOR

Antony Mark David Gormley, OBE. Sculptor. For services to the Arts. (London)

The Rt Hon Richard Geoffrey James Ottaway, MP. Member of Parliament for Croydon South. For parliamentary and political service. (London)

Great lads altogether.

ORDER OF MERIT

Sir Simon Denis Rattle, CBE.

Aren't you only delighted for him !

ORDER OF THE BATH
    KCB

Michael Charles Lancaster Carpenter. Speaker's Counsel, House of Commons. For services to Parliament and voluntary service to the community in Surrey. (Oxshott, Surrey)
    William Crothers. Chief Procurement Officer, HM Government. For services to Government Efficiency and Commercial Capability. (Woldingham, Surrey)

Pair of chancers - Modern day Sir Humphrys

MVO

David Barber. The Queen's Swan Marker.

Of Course.

And some people you may have heard of -

ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE

Mrs Penelope (Penelope Anne Constance Timson) Keith, CBE DL. For services to the Arts and to Charity. (Godalming, Surrey)

Mrs Karren Brady. Vice Chair, West Ham Football Club. For services to Entrepreneurship and Women in Business. (Solihull, West Midlands)

Mint Aero. for services to shíte talking on a global scale.

Charles Nicholas Parsons, OBE. For charitable services, particularly to Children's Charities. (Risborough, Buckinghamshire)

Full List

Because I can't be arsed trawling through it anymore and the Daily Mail one isn't up yet. (They're still trying to find an asylum seeker in a plane crash angle to it).

I think you'll agree they're we're all deserving recipients.

The question is - Which worthy plebs did the queen leave out ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Fell asleep on the 3rd line. Wake me up later. Ta.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Slow uptake here.

Surely Dame Whoopsadaisydoodles deserves one for services to reading bullshít ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭J_E

Who cares?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

Mint Aero says OFFWITHHISHEAD!

CJC999 wrote: »
    Fell asleep on the 3rd line. Wake me up later. Ta.

And that was the very very shortened version.

Are you not gloriously excited and full of joy that the Countess of Wessex has now been made a Knight Commander of the Royal Victorian Order ?

WilyCoyote wrote: »

Knighthood for WilyCoyote for actually reading my OP. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Lapin wrote: »
    And that was the very very shortened version.

Are you not gloriously excited and full of joy that the Countess of Wessex has now been made a Knight Commander of the Royal Victorian Order ?
    Could you post the lenghtened version please?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Tips for splenetic anti-Brit monologues:
    • Keep it short

• Never compile when pissed

• Get a fucking life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,184 ✭✭✭mrsdewinter

I usually think those titles are meaningless rubbish. Then I remember that Jimmy Savile used to include his OBE in the Jim'll Fix It credits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

This carry on is all very backward isn't it. Can never understand the meek acceptance never mind the outright love some British people have for monarchy. The entire concept is morally repugnant

I'm just amazed it's still so strong! People making immense fuss over a baby just because it happens to be born in a special family. It's something out of the Middle Ages, turned into a bizarre celebrity role.

Was Atari Jaguar included in the list?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

The British being the only nation with a monarchy of course...oh wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭lostdisk

Knighthood to who ever invented toilet roll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

Cool. Thanks. Yeah. Nice. I appreciate you sharing this with zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

I remember reading that per capita based on web hits and coverage the Irish cared more about the Royal Baby then Britain did...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭Tramps Like Us

MadsL wrote: »

Where did I say they were? The thread is about Britain isn't it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Where did I say they were? The thread is about Britain isn't it
    Great Britain

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Good fcuk!

CBE:
    Cherie Blair (women's issues)
    Tracey Emin (arts)

OBE:
    Stella McCartney (fashion)
    Ewan McGregor (acting)

Ewan is a decent enough actor but surely many where ahead of him in the queue for acknowledgements in that sphere.

Stella for fashion? Ha.
    Tracey Emin for arts? Most notably, she didn't make her bed ffs!

Stephen Fry and Billy Connolly would stick out for me as two people who should have got at least a text message from her madge at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,113 ✭✭✭SilverScreen

I had to look up what a Swan Marker was:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marker_of_the_Swans

And you can read all about Swan Upping here:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swan_Upping

Mind-blowing stuff.

Daqster wrote: »
    Tracey Emin (arts)

OBE:
    Stella McCartney (fashion)

Aha,

That explains why the Daily Mail haven't got a link up yet.

They're still busy trying to link the two women to a protest over a Scottish lesbian vegetarian's escapade with a member of UK Border Control in 1994.

No other monarchy has even half as much coverage.

Cydoniac wrote: »

How dare you say Her Majesty is fat!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭WilyCoyote

No other monarchy has even half as much cleavage.

There! fyp :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I'm just amazed it's still so strong! People making immense fuss over a baby just because it happens to be born in a special family. It's something out of the Middle Ages, turned into a bizarre celebrity role.

Populations in being largely moronic shocker.

Tabloids in running with news that their readerships want to read shocker.

Britain and many other countries in having monarchy shocker.

People still being shocked abut this shocker.

You're right there.

When it comes to Royalty, The Brits win.

There were two abdications of European monarchs this year (Netherlands and Belgium). Situations which changed the head of state in those countries overnight. And nobody gives a fúck.

Yet the rest of the world was talking about a baby in Britain that will probably become king when we are being fed through a drip in a nursing home if we're still around.

I had to look up what a Swan Marker was:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marker_of_the_Swans

And you can read all about Swan Upping here:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Swan_Upping

Mind-blowing stuff.

Frankly anyone who has to get close enough to a swan to ring it without using a tranquillizer gun deserves a fucking medal! Terrifying animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,397 ✭✭✭✭rainbowtrout

I always wondered what happened when two people with double barrell names got married

CVO (whatever that is)

Mrs Valerie Lane-Fox Pitt-Rivers. Lord-Lieutenant of Dorset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭EB_2013

Headmaster - Services to education....so you get an honour now just for doing your job. She must have a quota to fill every year.

Mrs Valerie Lane-Fox Pitt-Rivers
    Try saying that 10 times!

ROYAL VICTORIAN MEDAL
    RVM

James Anthony Butler. Stationery and Reprographics Officer, Royal Household.

FFS, when I was in college, reprographics was the fancy title that was on the door of the print/photocopying room....

Try saying that 10 times!

Or speaking to her if you were working in a call centre....

EB_2013 wrote: »
    Headmaster - Services to education....so you get an honour now just for doing your job. She must have a quota to fill every year.

Not looking - guessing that is a Private School...

Edit: Damn, I was wrong. Still, a Boys School founded in 1541!! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northampton_School_for_Boys

Found the Irishman!!

Phillippe Patrick O'Shea, C.N.Z.M. L.V.O. New Zealand Herald of Arms Extraordinary.

His arms are Extraordinary after all....

FFS, when I was in college, reprographics was the fancy title that was on the door of the print/photocopying room....

You think photocopying Camillas knitting patterns is going to do itself do you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,351 ✭✭✭NegativeCreep

I'm so confused right now.
    I can't even

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

That explains why the Daily Mail haven't got a link up yet.

They have articles up regarding this year's honours.

Here's two:

Campaigner who exposed horrific neglect at NHS hospital is honoured in new year's list

Females in the new year's honours list outnumber men

Mrs Valerie Lane-Fox Pitt-Rivers

Now there is a quad-barrelled gatling gun of a name.

I think her great great grandfather was this chap http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Augustus_Henry_Lane-Fox_Pitt-Rivers

Amazing museum of the incredible stuff he collected over the years from all around the world at the Pitt Rivers Museum in Oxford including costumes from Peru made for fleas!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Meaningless titles from a meaningless monarchy.

Well, unless you're British of course.

Ahhhhh Jessica Fletcher is now a Dame. Cabot Cove will be throwing a party.... at which someone will get killed.

ORDER OF THE BRITISH EMPIRE
    DBE
    Mrs Angela Brigid Lansbury Shaw, CBE. Actress. For services to drama and to charitable work and philanthropy.

Dame Penelope Keith is pretty damn obvious if you think about it, surprised she didn't get a gong before this...

Classic stuff...

Ahhhhh Jessica Fletcher is now a Dame. Cabot Cove will be throwing a party.... at which someone will get killed.

Never knew she was British, huh.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Never knew she was British, huh.

You don't have to be British.

Bill Gates has a Knighthood. He can't call himself Sir, but he is Bill Gates KBE.

sabat wrote: »

Very short list. Is that all you could find on the internet?

Can't believe you left out the late Peter O'Toole, given that he has been in the news recently for having the misfortune of shuffling off his mortal coil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,325 ✭✭✭✭Dozen Wicked Words

Not looking - guessing that is a Private School...

Edit: Damn, I was wrong. Still, a Boys School founded in 1541!! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northampton_School_for_Boys

Interesting fact. Matt Smith, previous Dr. Who went there.

Uninteresting fact, I went there. Was a kip when I was there, worse still when my older brothers were there. They then got huge amount of income from 'old boys' who had been there and donated. They got a theatre, and shed load of new buildings, so Dr who had a lovely time I'm sure.

Very pretentious school now, wants to be selective academically in who it takes and sees itself as above most other schools in town. That headmaster seems a right tool imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,954 ✭✭✭✭Larianne

He gave a selection, meaning not the full list. Sheesh! Easy up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Holsten wrote: »
    Meaningless titles from a meaningless monarchy.

Well, unless you're British of course.

Or Mint Aero.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Mint Aero. for services to shíte talking on a global scale.
    WilyCoyote wrote: »
    Chucken wrote: »
    Or Mint Aero.

Is this coming by post or? :confused: