Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fake bank accounts

• 30-12-2013 7:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭

Is it possible for someone to set up a fake bank account in this day and age? I was recently scammed by someone selling tickets. I lodged the money into a bank of Ireland account that had a name and address that matched the account only for the person not to turn up with said tickets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭paul64

Mr.S wrote: »
    Nothing fake about that account, its his.

He basically just pulled a runner.

So ya reckon I can follow this lad up through the bank and the cops?

Go into your bank and request a charge back and explain what happened.

I paid into his account over the counter with cash I asked the teller to check the details on account and she said it all matched up

It surely will go somewhere it's fraud me man and I doubt the address is anyone related to him at all

Tickets to events such as concerts, plays, matches etc are not to be resold or bought from anyone other then the official vendors. *offically* - thats to cover them.

If you bought them via eBay and PayPal then atleast you would have had some protection, same with paying from your bank account to his.

How are you going to prove he didn't send the tickets?

I know it sucks, but really it was very silly to pay cash into his account.

The address is more than likely genuine!

I hope the address is genuine mate he will wish then he sent the tickets. Ridiculous thing for me to do but it's turned out he's caught a few lads today not just me the address is real but I will find it's not the person I'm looking for

I'd go over asking for the guy by name, has he lived he in the past, explain what happened, say your going to the Guards and will be reporting his name, address and bank a/c - hopefully it'l scare them.

The address will be linked to him in some form, either a previous address hes lived in and hes never bothered to update the bank, or he lives in, parents house etc. Its hard to fool a bank, when you open up accounts you need ID and matching proof of address etc.

I'll be in the cop shop in the morning they will call into him hopefully he is there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭dobman88

I doubt the gards will do much, it's your fault, not theirs. Why would they go to a house cos you say a fella MIGHT live there. They need to act on facts not someones hunch. It was a dirty thing to do to you though. Just next time, meet the guy in person or leave a trail of some sort not just cash straight into the account.

dobman88 wrote: »
    I doubt the gards will do much, it's your fault, not theirs. Why would they go to a house cos you say a fella MIGHT live there. They need to act on facts not someones hunch. It was a dirty thing to do to you though. Just next time, meet the guy in person or leave a trail of some sort not just cash straight into the account.

It's still fraud mate surely the cops have to investigate I have proof I was talking to him and proof I lodged money and proof he stopped answering my calls it's turned out he's scammed a few people today aswell with same thing

It doesn't matter that you have "proof" of chatting to someone and putting money in their account. For all the gards know, you could be mates who have had a falling out and now you want your money back. They need solid facts, not a series of coincidences.

It is definitely not a fake account btw. Go round to the house and ask for the guy, if he is there you can ask what the story is (in a non-confrontational way) and then you can tell the gards he is definitely there.

I appreciate your advise I'll go to the bank first see what they say but the facts are I tried to purchase tickets off him and he has done a runner I live 100 miles from him so we are not mates and I really do hope the person behind the account is the proper person if ya know what I mean

Yeah, I hope it's the right person too. Hope you get sorted, nothing worse than being ripped off, regardless how much it is. Best of luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,594 ✭✭✭sandin

Don't waste gardai time at present and don't wast bank time. - Bank has nothing to do with it.

You need to be 100% sure he has scammed you and did it intently. When you have all the information you go to your local garda station and file a complaint but not until you have ALL the facts and made reasonable efforts to get re-reimbursed.

Possibly threat of making a complaint of criminal action against the person to the gardai may work.

sandin wrote: »
    Don't waste gardai time at present and don't wast bank time. - Bank has nothing to do with it.

You need to be 100% sure he has scammed you and did it intently. When you have all the information you go to your local garda station and file a complaint but not until you have ALL the facts and made reasonable efforts to get re-reimbursed.

Possibly threat of making a complaint of criminal action against the person to the gardai may work.

I have made complaint to gardai they know who he is and they are going to arrest him ASAP they were already looking for him he's done this a fair bit before it's only a matter of time until they catch him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,227 ✭✭✭Sam Mac

paul64 wrote: »
    I have made complaint to gardai they know who he is and they are going to arrest him ASAP they were already looking for him he's done this a fair bit before it's only a matter of time until they catch him

did this go anywhere OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 mrdr

Where was this person from, I had a similar experience, but when i asked him to send me a picture of the tickets he said i was too paranoid, I let him think I was going ahead with the deal, I told him I lodged money in his account, he then wanted me to send him a picture of the lodgement receipt.I told him he was being paranoid, after a while after he thought he had 500 euro coming to him I took him back down to earth and then gave him an ear full about him being scum via text messages, he then told me he liked my style, and started up conversation with me as if we were best friends, his bank account is in Bray.