Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

planning permission

• 30-12-2013 7:35pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,434 ✭✭✭

hello lads,do i need planning permission to knock a old hayshed that was damaged in recent storm so i can put a new hayshed (near enough same type shed ) in exactly the same place,could do without the hassle of that. thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,831 ✭✭✭Markcheese

It could depend on who's watching ??
    But if your just " repairing" a storm damaged shed who'd complain ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

You wont need planning. theres an exemption too if your under a certain size and you have existing sheds under a certain sq footage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭slippy wicket

Same thing with us, the end wall of an old stone shed with a lean to of it came down in the storms, we were thinking of clearing the site and putting up an A frame shed in its place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Same thing with us, the end wall of an old stone shed with a lean to of it came down in the storms, we were thinking of clearing the site and putting up an A frame shed in its place.

Feck it I have some I wished they had blown down as the auld lad won't let me knock them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

Feck it I have some I wished they had blown down as the auld lad won't let me knock them!

Haha , thats not too bad . My ould lad does be pointing out trees and bushes and warning me that they aren't to be touched after he cocks his toes . Just things he remembers growing up at the same time as himself so ill probably respect those wishes .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Markcheese wrote: »
    It could depend on who's watching ??
    But if your just " repairing" a storm damaged shed who'd complain ...
    id say you would be fine once you dont have any nosey neighbours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

When were on the topic of planning, would I be right in saying is prob need planning to put a shed over an existing open slurry pit, just a thought went through my head the other day and remember a lad in the IFJ done it not so long ago, pit wouldn't be deep but wouldn't need it for storage for the whole winter either it would probably do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭Corkfarmer

There are a number of exemptions to planning permission, the main ones are under 200m2 but if its within 100m of other similar buildings the total area of all similar sheds can't exceed 300m2. It can't be within 10m of a public road or within 100m of any houses shops etc otherwise you need planning. You would want to be 100% on not needing planning as it could prove costly if your wrong. Also most larger farms will have more than 300m2 in a yard so they would need planning.
    http://http://www.teagasc.ie/advisory/farm_management/buildings/planning_permission/PlanningRequirementsforFarmBuildingDevelopment.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

simx wrote: »
    When were on the topic of planning, would I be right in saying is prob need planning to put a shed over an existing open slurry pit, just a thought went through my head the other day and remember a lad in the IFJ done it not so long ago, pit wouldn't be deep but wouldn't need it for storage for the whole winter either it would probably do

yes and no, but there is damp all of a chance of getting planning refused as you need it to reduce smell, safety and whatever else so there is no chance of refusing you. I had to get planning a while back for such a job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭knockmulliner

Check out the development levy situation in your county as they are significant and vary from county to county. I would think replacing a shed that is obviously dangerous with a similar safe one is not a problem