Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Golf Holiday

• 30-12-2013 2:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭

Well guys looking to book a week of golf in portugal in march-april few lads. Has anyone used yourgolftravel or cassidys golf or have you used another firm you would use again?? Also any tips idea's 1st golf holiday so any help id be grateful thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭mike12

I have used http://www.golf-service.com/ for spain think they do Portugal as well. Good rates on the green fees and the car was always suitable for golf and cheaper than anything slse you could rent. They were great to email and give them an idea of what you want and they will come back with options. Really depends if you want to mix golf and beer or is the golf the main reason for the trip, if you want beer you need to be in a town rather than based at a golf course.
    Look for the green fees that include a buggy the can be expensive to rent at the course and if you are playing 4 days in a row it can be tiring if you walk.
    What we did the years we went is flew down early played that day then flew back late the last day and played that day as well.
    An idea of the price this is one of the trips we went to spain on. Worked out at €200 each for Car,Golf and Hotel. Also look at hiring clubs the cost of flying them there is usually €60 but you can get a set for €35. http://www.clubstohire.com/

Play Date
    Course
    Tee Time
    Pax
    Buggy
    Price
    Sum
    2010-02-05
    Chaparral
    13:50
    4+0
    €48,00
    €192,00
    Comment: Even players with buggy
    2010-02-06
    Monte Mayor
    11:45
    4+0
    €49,00
    €196,00
    Comment: Buggy included
    2010-02-07
    Alhaurín
    11:30
    4+0
    €43,00
    €172,00
    Comment: Buggy included

Items
    Quant.
    Price
    Sum
    GS RENT A CAR / GR D TYPE BERLINGO OR SIMILAR/ 05-08.02.10/ 3 DAYS/,
    € 43,00
    € 43.00
    OPTIONAL FULL INSURANCE WITH MAX EXCESS OF 200€ / 3 € PER DAY ,
    € 3,00
    € 9.00
    DISCOUNT OF 10% ON CAR FOR BOOKING CAR AND GOLF ,
    € -4,30
    € -4.30
    *PYR FUNGIROLA 2X TYPE E ROOMS/ 05-07.02.10/ 2 NIGHTS ,
    € 102,00
    € 204.00
    EXTRA DISCOUNT OF 5% ON HOTEL FOR BOOKING GOILF AND HOTEL,
    € -10,00
    € -10.00

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭lester76

Thanks mike il check them out..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭delboykelly

Howya. 8 of us went last October to Portugal with Go Golf Worldwide. I organised it and it was our first trip.

Went for 4 days and played 4 rounds.

Flew out on Monday at 6:30am
    Landed at faro airport at 9:30
    Had clubs hired from (clubs to hire)
    Had a bus company do all our transfers.
    Played Vila Sol at 1pm
    Then got bus to hotel resort
    Stayed at Gramacho resort
    Got two lovely apartments (one upstairs and one downstairs) with pool 20 meters away.

Tuesday played Gramacho @ 2pm
    Went out in Praia de rocha that night(taxi cost €5pp)

Wednesday played vale da pinta @ 2pm

Thursday got up early and cleared out of apt. Got bus back to vila sol and played at 10am the bus to airport.
    Then got flight home at 5:30pm

Costs
    *Apartment in Gramacho resort with unlimited rounds of golf €220
    *flights €160
    *Transfers €20 per person
    *club hire €60

We all really loved out trip. We are plannig to go again in 2015. The company we used were grand. Couldn't really fault them. Think I dealt with Thomas.
    What would we do differently??
    We would all bring our own clubs, defo, couldn't get used to the clubs we hired. And the wedges were crap. Also the next time we go we won't try fit as much in. 4 days and 4 rounds and a lot of beer.... Took us all a month to recover!!!
    One thing we really would def not change is the bus hire!!! We got bus transfers everywhere using a taxi company. I had emailed them before hand and they took us from airport to resort in day we landed and going home. It was as cheap as hiring a car and a lot less hassle. If you want any advice of have questions gimme a shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 peterjohnston

Allright?
    I Haven't used YourGolf Travel or Cassidy's but for portugal we normaly use Reservation Scanner for our hotels for max accommodation discounts (usually 70% less than tarrif). 7 of us went in October and between us we recon we saved over 3000 euros on our hotel bil, then it's just a matter of finding a decent flight on the cheap :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

@delboy

What were the courses like that you played. I'm going in May and I'm playing those courses

ForeRight wrote: »
    @delboy

What were the courses like that you played. I'm going in May and I'm playing those courses

Found vila sol very nice but tight. Need to be on form with the driver and I wasn't. Had the R1 and was all over the shop with it so needless to say, scoring was poor.

Gramacho was really nice, open fairways, some lovely holes and a good test.

Vale da pinta was really nice too, again lovely holes open fairways.

Good Greens on all the courses. Staff were ok but one or too I found to be a little rude(and I normally don't care bout things like that). We got a buggy every day and with the heat(and the alcohol from the night before, we really needed it).

Overall cracking experience. Only advice id say is bring your own clubs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Dossy

Im planning on going on a Golfing holiday in 2014 sometime, would bringing your own clubs not cost more? Over size and all that!!

Thanks delboy. Unfortunately I'm hiring a set over there. I've ordered the Razr set.
    I wanted to bring my own clubs but not one other person was so I didn't want to appear to be mr serious golfer arriving with my own stuff especially when I don't know many going.

I know I won't be happy with what I get though :(

Dossy wrote: »
    Im planning on going on a Golfing holiday in 2014 sometime, would bringing your own clubs not cost more? Over size and all that!!

It's anywhere from 35 to 60 euro to hire a set there. Plus you can get optional insurance for €6. It is handy to hire so you don't have to worry bout your own clubs getting damaged on the plane. But the travel bag will keep them safe.

I think it's €30 each way to take clubs with Ryanair or Aer lingus. So not much in he difference there really.

We all hired Taylormade rocketbladz irons.(nice set) and R1 driver and RBZ stage 2 woods. Nice clubs bout couldn't get used to them. I took my clubs to St Andrews before a few years back and I'll be doing that again when I travel again.

ForeRight wrote: »
    Thanks delboy. Unfortunately I'm hiring a set over there. I've ordered the Razr set.
    I wanted to bring my own clubs but not one other person was so I didn't want to appear to be mr serious golfer arriving with my own stuff especially when I don't know many going.

I know I won't be happy with what I get though :(

Ah yeah, your right, sure I had a golf travel bag and could have taken my own too but everyone wanted to hire so said I would too. But just out of interest ask everyone at end of trip and bet they all will have missed their own clubs. When we got home after out Portugal trip late on the Thursday night lads were sending picture messages to each other of them hugging their own clubs!!! Think one lad took his wedge to bed!!!!!!! ;-)

Brilliant this made me smile before bed haha

I was going to go grab my putter for a snuggle until I remembered we had a serious falling out last day on the course :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 310 ✭✭Dossy

It's anywhere from 35 to 60 euro to hire a set there. Plus you can get optional insurance for €6. It is handy to hire so you don't have to worry bout your own clubs getting damaged on the plane. But the travel bag will keep them safe.

I think it's €30 each way to take clubs with Ryanair or Aer lingus. So not much in he difference there really.

We all hired Taylormade rocketbladz irons.(nice set) and R1 driver and RBZ stage 2 woods. Nice clubs bout couldn't get used to them. I took my clubs to St Andrews before a few years back and I'll be doing that again when I travel again.

Thanks for info mate :D