Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wanted: Touring bike

• 27-12-2013 9:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭

Hey i'm on the look out for a decent touring bike - Surley LHT / Dawes / Thorn / Trek . I'm about 5ft 10in. I'm going on a long tour so if i'm looking for other gear as well - some decent panniers / light weight tent etc. I'm looking for a touring bike for my missus as well, she's 5ft 2in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭JonDoe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 530 ✭✭✭chippers

JonDoe wrote: »

Nice bike at a great price. I was looking at other Dawes on the Spa Cycles website as well. I'm cautious about buying online without her trying it out first. I'm not sure on her sizing and it's a risk that the bike might not fit. We're going for a few months in the saddle so for my sanity it's important that she has a bike that fits really well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 503 ✭✭✭JonDoe

Depending on where you're going too the Alfine might not be best. You need servicable parts "in country", simple steel frames, square taper cranksets, V brakes maybe even 8 speed drive trains. If you're carrying loads 26 inch wheels will give you more stability as the centre of gravity will be that much lower.
    You could build something up cheaply if you look around for steel framed mountain bikes. A lot of them have braze ons for racks.
    Anyway something will turn up, have a nice time and don't argue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭paul a newman

have a surly cross check, built with straight bars, mainly deore groupset and cxp 33 wheels, mint cond, selling for price of frame e430, based in D5 work in D8

Hi Paul, thanks for the offer. Lovely bike but not sure if it's the best for the trip. We're going to be gone for a while and the bikes will be fully loaded with gear (front and back)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭jlx1

Hi have a Dawes horizon 2012 used a couple of times like new 500 euro

jlx1 wrote: »
    Hi have a Dawes horizon 2012 used a couple of times like new 500 euro

Hey jlk1 can you tell me a bit more about the bike. What size is the frame? Have you made any changes / upgrades to the bike since buying it or is it the same as:
    http://www.spacycles.co.uk/products.php?plid=m1b1s21p2415

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 tonycon28

Hi Paul, what size is the frame?

Tony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 573 ✭✭✭paul a newman

its a 54cm, ordinarily i ride a 22 or 56, but because its a flat bar, 54 will do. suitable for 5ft 8 up to 6ft id say. only done 100k, has m guards and pannier

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

chippers wrote: »
    Hey jlk1 can you tell me a bit more about the bike. What size is the frame? Have you made any changes / upgrades to the bike since buying it or is it the same as:
    http://www.spacycles.co.uk/products.php?plid=m1b1s21p2415

Hi that is the exact bike, mine is totally standard just tyre upgrade it has a 53cm frame.

jlx1 wrote: »
    Hi that is the exact bike, mine is totally standard just tyre upgrade it has a 53cm frame.

Jlk1 - I cann offer €400 for the bike subject to inspection, how does that sound?where are you based?

chippers wrote: »
    Jlk1 - I cann offer €400 for the bike subject to inspection, how does that sound?where are you based?

Hi thanks but 500 would be the lowest it's basically new also I forgot I upgraded the brake callipers to shimano cyclocross ones, I'm not too pushed to sell it really sure think about it and let me know cheers.