Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sellers on donedeal

• 26-12-2013 5:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭

split from bangeromics

colm_mcm wrote: »
    There's only a little over a month nct on it though.
    Old diesel wrote: »
    At that money - hed want to be putting on a new NCT alright - which he may do if the car checked out - and it was a potential deal breaker.

Tbh - as a general point - if a car is in decent order - I can't figure out why for the sake of 50 euros and potentially only a couple of hours of their time - why a seller with a car with short NCT - doesn't just put it in for the test.

If it passes - the car is a lot more saleable - the general public assumes (wrongly) that a fresh test means a car is awesome.

Those of us more in the know - just start wondering if somethings wrong with the car.

makes for a great bargaining tool ;)
    I mean you could easily knock him down a good bit off his asking price by comparing other similar priced/year focus's with full NCT going for same sort of money and if the car is as genuine as ad appears ya could be getting a very clean well minded car, pay up €55 of your money for the NCT and chances are it will pass first time with want for nothing.

At the end of the day it still comes across as a genuine well looked after '02 car with decent 123K mileage with plenty of years of reliable everyday driving life left.

how cheap do ya need a decent car to get? lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,844 ✭✭✭Old diesel

DeFinch89 wrote: »
    makes for a great bargaining tool ;)
    I mean you could easily knock him down a good bit off his asking price by comparing other similar priced/year focus's with full NCT going for same sort of money and if the car is as genuine as ad appears ya could be getting a very clean well minded car, pay up €55 of your money for the NCT and chances are it will pass first time with want for nothing.

At the end of the day it still comes across as a genuine well looked after '02 car with decent 123K mileage with plenty of years of reliable everyday driving life left.

how cheap do ya need a decent car to get? lol

I agree with what your saying - im more thinking that its actually in the SELLERs interest to get the NCT sorted - to help the sale of their car.

Its probably hard enough for a seller to shift a car on at times - putting the 55 quid into an NCT could make their sale a lot easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭DeFinch89

alias no.9 wrote: »
    Comes down to driving style, a 16v will breathe better up to higher revs and that's where you feel the difference while an 8v tends to deliver all its got in a bit of a lump low down in the rev range. It's a bit like the 1.9tdi 'supercars' where the lump of power is very noticeable but it's over very quickly ;).

ah I get ya, thanks for the good easily relateable info :)
    Im a 16v dohc person, I prefer to have useable power throughout the rev range rather than a load of initial oomph and then... nothing lol
    I agree with what your saying - im more thinking that its actually in the SELLERs interest to get the NCT sorted - to help the sale of their car.
    It most definately would be in a seller's interest to profit from a fresh NCT
    Its probably hard enough for a seller to shift a car on at times - putting the 55 quid into an NCT could make their sale a lot easier.

I completely understand your side of the debate too for the sake of a mere €55 to put it through a test, even if it did fail, at least its still gives a potential buyer some basic history on car and points out on what it will need doing to pass NCT again.

On one side it simply doesnt make sense to not NCT what appears to be a perfectly good car and reap the extra profit you could rightfully demand with a fresh NCT.

On the other side, there is honest people out there selling decent honest cars for reasonable money without at least trying to put it through the NCT out of genuine and honest reasons.

I suppose it really just boils down to the fact that there are so many dodgy arseholes out there that do attempt to make a quick buck from selling ****e that really is too good to be true and this simple fact scares people off from buying what could potentially be the perfect ideal car, but because it lacks either NCT, has high mileage, old age, incomplete service history, an odd dent or scratch even so far all thats wrong is a dead battery and a car is to be avoided completely!

It is perfectly sensible to avoid a car when something doesnt add up, but I like to think I can take advantage of a small thing like no tax or some odd quirk that can really devalue a car but is easily/cheaply repaired/replaced or something that you can put up with for the sake of getting a really good bargain.

The way I see it is if theres something wrong with what could be an otherwise perfectly good car, it may be worth going up to see the car and having a thorough look and test drive of car, enquiring about history of car and if car comes across good and seller comes across as genuine then the fun can begin in getting the bargain you want by negotiating whats wrong with car and you could potentially drive away with a bargain minter :)

But it goes without saying BUYER BEWARE and apply common sense, if it appears too good to be true it usually is, there is rare exceptions to this but not common enough to be cautious about how much of a bargain your buying into.

Im a 16v dohc person, I prefer to have useable power throughout the rev range rather than a load of initial oomph and then... nothing lol

I completely understand your side of the debate too for the sake of a mere €55 to put it through a test, even if it did fail, at least its still gives a potential buyer some basic history on car and points out on what it will need doing to pass NCT again.

On one side it simply doesnt make sense to not NCT what appears to be a perfectly good car and reap the extra profit you could rightfully demand with a fresh NCT.

On the other side, there is honest people out there selling decent honest cars for reasonable money without at least trying to put it through the NCT out of genuine and honest reasons.

I suppose it really just boils down to the fact that there are so many dodgy arseholes out there that do attempt to make a quick buck from selling ****e that really is too good to be true and this simple fact scares people off from buying what could potentially be the perfect ideal car, but because it lacks either NCT, has high mileage, old age, incomplete service history, an odd dent or scratch even so far all thats wrong is a dead battery and a car is to be avoided completely!

It is perfectly sensible to avoid a car when something doesnt add up, but I like to think I can take advantage of a small thing like no tax or some odd quirk that can really devalue a car but is easily/cheaply repaired/replaced or something that you can put up with for the sake of getting a really good bargain.

The way I see it is if theres something wrong with what could be an otherwise perfectly good car, it may be worth going up to see the car and having a thorough look and test drive of car, enquiring about history of car and if car comes across good and seller comes across as genuine then the fun can begin in getting the bargain you want by negotiating whats wrong with car and you could potentially drive away with a bargain minter :)

But it goes without saying BUYER BEWARE and apply common sense, if it appears too good to be true it usually is, there is rare exceptions to this but not common enough to be cautious about how much of a bargain your buying into.

Great post

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Interesting debate. From my own experience there is a huge increase in the number of cowboys advertising and indeed buying on that famous dd website. Only this week read of two court cases involving buying and selling on that site. One buyer was left without a car for three months and the other a third buyer of the same car was defrauded of 9k. The amount of private advertisers on the site seems to have dwindled. You would need to be feckin Sherlock Holmes and have little else to do to be buying from the site now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

i think there should be a thread for dodgy cars.. so many 01's with just over 100k..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

JJJJNR wrote: »
    i think there should be a thread for dodgy cars.. so many 01's with just over 100k..

See here ;)

shawnee wrote: »
    Interesting debate. From my own experience there is a huge increase in the number of cowboys advertising and indeed buying on that famous dd website. Only this week read of two court cases involving buying and selling on that site. One buyer was left without a car for three months and the other a third buyer of the same car was defrauded of 9k. The amount of private advertisers on the site seems to have dwindled. You would need to be feckin Sherlock Holmes and have little else to do to be buying from the site now.

Thing is though - your not buying from the site - your buying from the seller who is advertising their car on the site.

Its like buying from an ad from the local paper.

The reality of life is that done deal is the most popular place to sell and buy cars now. So if you want to sell a car - its probably going to have to go on done deal if you want max exposure.

And thus if you want to buy a car - done deal is going to be one of your ports of call.

Carzone seems to be mostly dealers - and a lot of the stuff there would be outside the bangernomics remit.

Theres cars Ireland - but that's not as popular a site - and im sure the dodgy elements aren't going to just do done deal - and have nothing to do with other sites.

In actual fact - if other sites were to have a less dodgy reputation due to messers on done deal - guaranteed the messers will pop up there as well.

Sadly dodgy characters in the world of selling cars didn't just appear out of nowhere with the arrival of done deal :(.

don't know about anyone else but ive been hearing of dodgy dealings - clocking, crashed cars and more (engines been swopped around) long before done deal.

Btw - im not sticking up for done deal here - just giving my view on how I see these things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭shawnee

Thing is though - your not buying from the site - your buying from the seller who is advertising their car on the site.

Its like buying from an ad from the local paper.

The reality of life is that done deal is the most popular place to sell and buy cars now. So if you want to sell a car - its probably going to have to go on done deal if you want max exposure.

And thus if you want to buy a car - done deal is going to be one of your ports of call.

Carzone seems to be mostly dealers - and a lot of the stuff there would be outside the bangernomics remit.

Theres cars Ireland - but that's not as popular a site - and im sure the dodgy elements aren't going to just do done deal - and have nothing to do with other sites.

In actual fact - if other sites were to have a less dodgy reputation due to messers on done deal - guaranteed the messers will pop up there as well.

Sadly dodgy characters in the world of selling cars didn't just appear out of nowhere with the arrival of done deal :(.

don't know about anyone else but ive been hearing of dodgy dealings - clocking, crashed cars and more (engines been swopped around) long before done deal.

Btw - im not sticking up for done deal here - just giving my view on how I see these things

Points are well made and I agree with them , however it did start out with many private dealers. I would not recommend that anyone without a really good knowledge of cars and anyone that is not streetwise should answer an ad in donedeal. The number of dodgies has increased on the site.

shawnee wrote: »
    Points are well made and I agree with them , however it did start out with many private dealers. I would not recommend that anyone without a really good knowledge of cars and anyone that is not streetwise should answer an ad in donedeal. The number of dodgies has increased on the site.

I see where your coming from - but where then should someone needing a cheap car but not well up on their cars go then???.

Not saying Done deal is the place to go - but on a car worth a grand - it seems pointless going to a dealer - who in reality may be selling cars that aren't any better then some of what may be on done deal :(.

Not neccessarly a dealers fault always - more down to the nature of cars that come into dealers (particularly part exes) at that price range.

Your down to getting a mechanic to check the car out - and stuff - but that's something that should be possible with a private sale too - if seller is reluctant to allow mechanic come to look at the car - that in itself sends a strong warning signal.

The difficulty I see with avoiding done deal - whether you know your cars or not - if looking for a cheap car is this.

Imo - for the general public - Done Deal is known as a place for buying and selling stuff - many people know about it.

I hear rural lads - that hardly know how to turn on a computer - talking about how so and so bought such and such a thing after seen it on done deal.

So for many GENUINE private sellers - selling DECENT cars - done deal is likely to be the place to go to sell their car - the local paper looks pointless - because everyone looks on line now.

This is why Done deal attracts chancers - but while avoiding Done Deal in theory means you avoid a lot of the chancers - in reality - it also means your avoiding a lot of the decent cars too :(

And going to the dealer - doesn't still gurantee you will get a decent car at this price range.

I doubt very many people still use shop windows or notice boards to sell their cars either these days.

hope I don't come across as having a go - while been cautious about doing a deal with a seller on done deal is very prudent - just how realistic is buying a cheap car AND avoiding done deal - in practical terms

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭visual

Done deal isn't the problem. Before done deal was so popular auto trader and carezone also had its fair share of scam artists

The problem is there is a lot of shady guys flipping cars and blatantly lying about timing belt changes and doctoring the mileage.

If a car doesn't have nct it's most likely because the owner is convinced it will fail so didn't want to waste his own time and money.

If the owner really believed it would pass nct it be done asap as it adds both value and saleability.

visual wrote: »
    Done deal isn't the problem. Before done deal was so popular auto trader and carezone also had its fair share of scam artists

The problem is there is a lot of shady guys flipping cars and blatantly lying about timing belt changes and doctoring the mileage.

If a car doesn't have nct it's most likely because the owner is convinced it will fail so didn't want to waste his own time and money.

If the owner really believed it would pass nct it be done asap as it adds both value and saleability.

Exactly - this sort of stuff has been going on since before the chap who created done deal was even born.

The reason Done Deal is now caught up in this and associated with it - is down to the sites popularity.

It would be an interesting challenge to see if a cheap car could be bought without using done deal.

I definitely reckon theres a lot less cars in local papers etc since done deal came out.

Also I doubt too many people advertise on shop windows any more or notice boards on the likes of supermarkets etc.

I think a lot of genuine sellers with genuine cars will go to Done Deal for the exact same reason that dodgy people go to it.

My sisters old car was advertised through Done Deal - and id say with lots more people getting clued in with technology - your going to only see the numbers of cars been advertised online - increasing.

So ironically the reasons why dodgy sellers use done deal - is also the reason why it can't be overlooked if your looking for a cheap car :(.

Frustrating I know :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Moomat

I'd always try to have a look and see what else the person is selling through their account, be it donedeal, adverts, gumtree etc... Very often you'll see something like "reluctant sale, company car forces sale, Only owner since new etc" and then have a look at their other ads and they've 20 other yokes for sale! If they can't tell the truth on their ad then avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭DeFinch89

wondering where my posts went from bangernomics ha.
    The amount of feedback is awesome lads I really appreciate it :D

The problem is not with buy and sell websites.
    The problem lies is simply with one's greed.

Really it comes down to the potential buyer's responsibility to do a bit of homework and give the car a thorough lookover and check seller's story out as best you can, regardless how genuine a car/seller appears to be...

If your not as clued in about cars bring along a knowleable person/ trusted mechanic, a small fee could save you thousands on a bad deal.

And remember even the most reputable dealerships/garages have been known to do the odd dodgy deal.

At the end of the day it goes without saying to do as much background checks, thoroughly inspect a car and a good hard test drive before you hand over hard earned cash.