Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

borrowing for christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭lostdisk

Set up a charity there. Be on a hundreh graaand be two yeaars bosco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,696 ✭✭✭Lisha

No, I did not spend too much on my own kids and I got a bit stingy on presents for godchildren, nieces and nephews.
    Found it hard to stick to budget but fir once I did not waver and put anything on credit card.

I hate money lenders though. The interest they charge is extortionate.

I dunno if a one present type campaign is of any use though. A lot if kids in my sons class who get the outlandish presents are they ones whose parents are on benifits.

Ah answer, moneylenders are scum of the earth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,113 ✭✭✭shruikan2553

Christmas is at the same time every year. You should be able to plan for it with whatever you "earn". No point complaining you cant afford bills afterwards, you know how much you have to pay so dont do it if you cant afford to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I don't ever hear these apparent numerous annual stories of people borrowing beyond their means for Christmas from dodgy lenders, and then seeming surprised at having to pay it back/complaining about having to pay their bills.

The woman in the story linked does seem like an irresponsible dope, but it is one story and it is not news; it is rabble-rousing, whipping up hatred towards single mothers/unemployed people in general, not just the arsehole ones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,496 ✭✭✭Boombastic

Lisha wrote: »

I dunno if a one present type campaign is of any use though. A lot if kids in my sons class who get the outlandish presents are they ones whose parents are on benifits.

it probably wouldn't, as you say, they get these presents off parents, not santa.
    Christmas is at the same time every year. You should be able to plan for it with whatever you "earn". No point complaining you cant afford bills afterwards, you know how much you have to pay so dont do it if you cant afford to.
    It still seems to come as a suprise to some people

I don't ever hear these apparent numerous annual stories of people borrowing beyond their means for Christmas from dodgy lenders, and then seeming surprised at having to pay it back/complaining about having to pay their bills.

The woman in the story linked does seem like an irresponsible dope, but it is one story and it is not news; it is rabble-rousing, whipping up hatred towards single mothers/unemployed people in general, not just the arsehole ones.

Tune in to joe duffy, he's covered peoole borrowing fro money lenders a few times this year and will more than likely cover it again in the new year, it happens

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

I have no doubt Joe Duffy covers such stories, but by all accounts he covers a lot of topics.

Moneylenders exist for a reason.

They seem to get a lot of flak, maybe because they seem to be working outside the normal financial infrastructure. I'm sure a few are acting illegally, but the same could be said for the banks credit unions and building societies in this country.

Consumerism!
    The god of the modern people, worshipper will spend as much as is necessary to appease their dependants, based on the expectations that advertising places in their minds regardless of their ability to afford such items.

Unfortunately, many parents confuse their children’s dreams with expectations and will buy regardless of the financial hardship that such purchases will cause.

It really comes down to managing their expectations without coming across as "mean", and for many, going to moneylenders is the worst thing possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Facebook friends with a girl I was in school with, she's got two kids (7 and 4) lives in a council house, and doesn't work. She's 24.

She posted a pic up Christmas Morning, "Santas been". OMG. I tell ya, those kids must have been crapping themselves with excitement when they woke up. Two go carts, among a sea of other stuff.

You would wonder though, how people who need so much financial assistance from the government can afford such a lavish day.

Facebook friends with a girl I was in school with, she's got two kids (7 and 4) lives in a council house, and doesn't work. She's 24.

She posted a pic up Christmas Morning, "Santas been". OMG. I tell ya, those kids must have been crapping themselves with excitement when they woke up. Two go carts, among a sea of other stuff.

You would wonder though, how people who need so much financial assistance from the government can afford such a lavish day.

Maybe social wefare need to watch fb closer and make cuts to payments as necessary.

Boombastic wrote: »
    Maybe social wefare need to watch fb closer and make cuts to payments as necessary.

She's actually a great mother, the kids want for nothing by the looks of things but you'd wonder how someone not working can drop that kind of money for one day.

Maye she is, if providing materialistic things make you a great mother' In my opinion setting a good example to your children by working and not relying on the state to paay your way for you, would be a better mother.All that tells me is the rate handouts she's recieving is too high

Not just materialistic things, not to digress, I don't know her very well but her kids seem well minded, looked after and she's not always out posting up "drinkies wit d girlies gettin ****in rotton" type statuses like most other single mothers i know.

But I would agree, that if you can spend that much on Christmas using taxpayers money then yeah you'd wonder why they're getting so much. Unless she's borrowing money and then spending the year paying it off which is even more stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Murt10

Maybe the kids father and grand parents bought them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Murt10 wrote: »

Stop ruining this with logic!

Better story when we jump to conclusions about social welfare payments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

Maybe just maybe she saved all year or maybe she has a kind family member.

Ffs the nasty begrudgery of some people on this forum is endless.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

Doubt the baby daddy bought them, he's locked up

Maybe they did. If they are that generous, why is the council providing housing and not the generous grandparents/father. I don't want personalise to this about lexis' friend because there are many in similar situtations.

MAYBE she starved herself all year to buy toys for the kids

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

MAYBE she starved herself all year to buy toys for the kids

Then she is an idiot, food is vital for life, loads of toys at christmas are not

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,516 ✭✭✭wazky

Then she is an idiot, food is vital for life, loads of toys at christmas are not

Maybe she sold the third kid to pay for the toys?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

maybe the ghost of chairman mao taught her how to work the evil capitalist society to her own advantage

Maybe just maybe she wants her kids to have a happy childhood not a miserable one.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭marshbaboon

Cut the welfare payments, drop the parents on wolf island & ship the children to India to be melted down into tallow for a power plant.

These welfare pirates have to dealt with quickly and severely.

Maybe just maybe she wants her kids to have a happy childhood not a miserable one.

Yeah, nothing makes children happier than having an emancipated, anorexic, starved mother with no energy to do anything and a ps4.

Cut the welfare payments, drop the patents on wolf island & ship the children to India to be melted down into tallow for a power plant.

These welfare pirates have to dealt with quickly and severely.

I know - they shouldn't just melt down the Children - they should melt down all welfare recipients and their free houses and cars and prams and mobile phones.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭Omeceron

Maybe Santa brought the presents.

Yeah, nothing makes children happier than having an emancipated, anorexic, starved mother with no energy to do anything and a ps4.
    It's better than your solution to make them poorer because of your begrudgery

Terry Pratchet

I doubt boomtastic is jealous of a go kart :/

Better to blame begrudgery, than the parents choices, i suppose. I didn't bring the children in to the world, but blame me if it makes you feel better

Quite frankly, having loving parents is worth much more that a pile of "tat" bought just to fill a "santa's sack". One or two "special" toys will be more than enough for most children.

Parents, can you now see how many of the toys you've just given your children are actually played with more than once. I have just looked at the pile of toys in the kids room and can count on the fingers of one hand the times they've actually been played with!

There was a survey recently (can't be arsed to find the source, but) that showed that most children will usually only play with one or two toys on a regular basis, the rest are stuck in the toy box!

I doubt boomtastic is jealous of a go kart :/

Not jealous; begrudging

Terry Pratchet

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

Not jealous; begrudging

i doubt he'd care if the children were showered with ipads, ps4's and new ferraris provided it wasn't done with taxpayer money

Better to blame begrudgery, than the parents choices, i suppose. I didn't bring the children in to the world, but blame me if it makes you feel better

Oh right yeah she obviously chose that her babys father should go to prison

Terry Pratchet

i doubt he'd care if the children were showered with ipads, ps4's and new ferraris provided it wasn't done with taxpayer money
    How do you know what money paid for it?

Terry Pratchet

Eh?? It's not like he was put in there and is an innocent victim, to be fair.

She chose to have a child with him at 16 and another one a few years later (assuming the same father) Maybe her generous parents should have taught her about contraception and consequences. I suppose it's not the fathers fault he ended up in prision, that too would be societies fault, and mine

Eh?? It's not like he was put in there and is an innocent victim, to be fair.

Some friend you are

Terry Pratchet

Some friend you are

What? Haha OMG. We're Facebook friends, I know her from school. She chose to have two kids with him, it's nobody else's fault he's locked up tbh.

How do you know what money paid for it?

It could be money from a robbery he carried out or drug dealing.

The 18-34 age bracket are the most likely to use a moneylender with 12 per cent say they will do so in 2013.
    The survey showed that 7 in 10 consumers will take a month or more to financially recover from the costs of Christmas with 6 per cent of people saying they will still be feeling its financial effect nine months from now.
    http://businessetc.thejournal.ie/money-spent-christmas-1217659-Dec2013/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,880 ✭✭✭Kaiser D

Her kid is actually called Mya-Renee, ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭candy-gal1

On the subject on whether Id ever get a loan etc I go by my dads advice which he gave me from a young enough age, never take a loan/lend out unless its for a house, a house is a long term investment so its worth it and and you can live in it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 GoAheadCaller

Neither a borrower nor a lender be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

never lend borrow or steal i was always told…

spent 150 quid on sons xmas presents and another 150 in his bank account. That equates to 6 quid a week….

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,797 ✭✭✭KyussBishop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

In which case she's doing it wrong.

OP banned for trolling.

Lads, if you report someone as a troll you should be ignoring them as per the charter.

Just as bad as trolling is "Feeding the Trolls". Please do not reply to comments that are blatantly from a troll. Do not to abuse them or call these posters trolls. It is up to the moderators to judge this, so simply report the posts or private message any moderator of after hours. At the point at which a troll has gotten a negative reply from you they have won. The trolling was successful and has been fed. When encouraged by success and feeding, trolls often return.

If you hang around long enough you will get to spot them quickly. We can all lose the head with people on the internet. Mainly because it's easy.
    But we would implore you to not feed the trolls. Instead report them to us moderators.