Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ethernet/Upc/Eircom Help

Options
  • 23-12-2013 11:53pm
    Registered Users Posts: 36

Hello everyone,before I start i am not very good at networking so please don't give hard answers and be nice.

I am wondering about a few things. Does anybody know if the router you get when you get UPC takes 2 or more Ethernet cables for internet.

I have the eircom router down stairs and I need to get the Ethernet cable upstairs. We are currently thinking out getting UPC, so we will be getting a new router. I have to get the Ethernet cable through a wall but I will need to cut the cable (to make the hole as small as possible) and re join it. That part it not a problem. I was wondering if I was to drill the hole in the wall an run the cable through it and re join it would it be worth it because the UPC router might not take Ethernet. I am wondering if the UPC router takes Ethernet cables for the internet.

Thanks in advance,
    Dylan.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 36,167 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Yeah, they all come with 4xGigibit(fast) Ethernet ports.

Dont split and join the cable, it'll slow it down to stone age speeds. Buy a length of raw cable long enough for the job and then crimp each end when you're done running it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭advertsfox

Actually don't even chase a cable, get some Homeplugs for €35 and save yourself any hassle / holes in walls. You simple plug one in beside the Eircom router and another beside wherever you need the ethernet point upstairs. Below link €37 in Argos: