Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ulster fry

• 23-12-2013 10:46pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,349 ✭✭✭

One of the best videos on Youtube hands down.

Is your mouth watering?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Good lord I have no idea how people face that first thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Is your mouth watering?

That heavy breathing..disgusting. Managed 10 seconds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

You must have only seen 2 or 3 videos on youtube.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

If it's a fry why do the sausages look boiled?

Was he also chewing on the mic while filming this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Sausages aren't cooked right at all. And ketchup mixed in with egg yolk? Bleah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭Elessar

Did I just watch a man eat a plate of sh*te?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,816 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Beans ?? On a traditional fry ...???
    I know the tomatoes more a garnish than anything else ...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

The Ulster fry is scutter. However the Ulstermans appetite for grease is insatiable. Richest people in NI are the lads operating chip vans on the side of roads or shopping centre carparks at 8 a.m

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Fcuk that ,gimmie the full Irish any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,329 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

The Ulster fry is scutter.

I disagree. It's a fry with a soda farl. A soda farl improves everything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

It always has to be a full Irish ....... the Ulster has no pudding!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭wilkie2006

SV wrote: »
    That heavy breathing..disgusting. Managed 10 seconds

Heavy breathing = eating one of those manky yokes every day.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 806 ✭✭✭getzls

Markcheese wrote: »
    Beans ?? On a traditional fry ...???
    I know the tomatoes more a garnish than anything else ...
    Beans? Not an Ulster Fry if it has beans,

Was there any mushrooms?

A fry is not a fry without mushies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,689 ✭✭✭Karl Stein

Cienciano wrote: »
    I disagree. It's a fry with a soda farl. A soda farl improves everything

Yep, and potato bread. If there's no potato bread it doesn't qualify as an Ulster fry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

I was wondering how many posts if would take to start arguing over the authenticity of the ingredients e.g. beans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Madam

No beans or tomatoes in an Ulster fry - those are an English invention;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

I think they can all agree the Ulster flag should be a plate of fried offal on a white background.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Lads, toasted rye bread drissled with a teaspoon of olive oil. You're welcome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,055 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I'm going to cook a fry now after watching that. Starving.

• Administrators Posts: 54,417 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Is that french bread toasted on the right hand side? It has no place on that plate! Where is the potato bread?

No drink either? Can't be eating a fry without either a pot of tea or a pint of milk. Especially when there are soda farls involved.

I don't think people should get too hung up on the 'beans-and-mushrooms' question as they're more like optional condiments rather then staple constituents when it comes to the Ulster fry.

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Lads, toasted rye bread drissled with a teaspoon of olive oil. You're welcome.

Get out of here you breakfast hipster.

I don't think people should get too hung up on the 'beans-and-mushrooms' question as they're more like optional condiments rather then staple constituents when it comes to the Ulster fry.

Indeed, I hate mushrooms but the beans are required for me to add a bit of moisture.

Each fork-full should be dipped into the egg, then have some beans added and then dipped in HP sauce.

• Site Banned Posts: 263 ✭✭Rabelais

Fupping beans. Little evil pellets of hate in a pool of radioactive orange gloop.

awec wrote: »
    Indeed, I hate mushrooms but the beans are required for me to add a bit of moisture.

Don't like mushrooms either (it's a texture thing, yuck). I'll have some beans if they're available because it's nice to mop up the bean juice with a bit of soda bread.

Yum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Rank - where's the pudding?

Foxhound38 wrote: »

Ulster says no to pudding.

awec wrote: »
    Ulster says no to pudding.

Lol :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

New year's resolution: knock AH in the head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Foxhound38 wrote: »

Pudding?!? Ulster says NO!

Edit: Damn you awec, you wee shite you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

He must be having one of those every morning. He sounds close to a heart attack judging by his breathing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,879 ✭✭✭signostic

Is your mouth watering?

I will never want to go to Ulster ever...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,055 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Tomatoes really enhance a fry-up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Get out of here you breakfast hipster.

Nooooooo, NOOOOOOOOO :( Listen to me....are you listening? It's soooooo gooooood and it tastes sooooooo rustic. I'm here to help you's people stuck in the 70's with greasy fry ups :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 14 Cliky

Is your mouth watering?

You're odd if you enjoy this vid. Likely you enjoy receiving heavy breathing calls from perverts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

My breakfast joke...
    A guy walks into a doctor’s office. He has a sausage coming out of his ear, a waffle coming out of his nose, and bacon coming out of his other ear. He says worriedly, ‘Doc, what’s wrong with me?’ The doctor replies,

‘You’re not eating properly.’

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭le la rat

No way should a rasher be left untouched for 55 seconds

Mint Aero wrote: »
    I'm here to help you's people stuck in the 70's with greasy fry ups :)

Fry-ups are going nowhere - they were around long before the 70's and they'll be around long after you and I.

Tomatoes really enhance a fry-up.

Nah, I don't eat the tomato at all.

I reckon it was added to make people feel better about themselves. The token fruit.