Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Murderer Offender List

• 23-12-2013 11:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46

Do you think there should be some form of a murderer offenders list or serial murderer offenders list?

If so should you have the right to know if a murderer or serial murderer lives nearby?

My own opinion would be that murderers who murder strangers should be on a registered murder offender list so that the public can take precautions against such characters.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

No and no.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 10,598 Mod ✭✭✭✭Robbo

Shrobbs wrote: »
    Do you think there should be some form of a murderer offenders list or serial murderer offenders list?

If so should you have the right to know if a murderer or serial murderer lives nearby?

My own opinion would be that murderers who murder strangers should be on a registered murder offender list so that the public can take precautions against such characters.
    I think the main thing we should take away from this is murder. Moreover, murder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Like burning down their houses?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

How could you avoid them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,950 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Best drive out the pediatricians too, can never be too sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Yay, that's we need, lynch mobs. And hangings. Been ages since we had a good hanging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,779 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Best drive out the pediatricians too, can never be too sure.
    They're all the same sure.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

How about pickpocketers get done for sexual harrasment too while we're at it?

It's practically the same as feeling someone up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Would it not just be easier to ask "What are you in for?" ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 153 ✭✭Arrow.

In fairness, if more people generally find they're living near known serial murd-diddly-urderers then they're not living on this planet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,085 ✭✭✭meoklmrk91

I don't think so, maybe it's because I am a Culchie but I'm not even sure there is a need for a sex offenders list in Ireland, everyone knows everyone's business, you can't piss crooked in small town Ireland without someone knowing about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭kop-end

...and the Cheesemakers, let's be having them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,339 ✭✭✭Artful_Badger

Dont see how it matters what they did as long as they aint doing it now. I'd imagine living next door to a murderer would be a dream compared with living next door to any of the hundreds of thousands of anti social scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭kop-end

meoklmrk91 wrote: »
    I don't think so, maybe it's because I am a Culchie but I'm not even sure there is a need for a sex offenders list in Ireland, everyone knows everyone's business, you can't piss crooked in small town Ireland without someone knowing about it.

What about the City, it's not all Glenroe up here, I hardlt talk to my next-door neighbour...come to think of it...he may be a murdrer..:eek::eek::eek::eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Hello_MrFox

They should also name and shame all the people who have been caught speeding, drink drivers, people who litter/illegal dump rubbish, people who did not pay there TV license etc. Lets just make a list for bloody everything while were at it and broadcast it live on the RTE news at 9.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

Dont see how it matters what they did as long as they aint doing it now. I'd imagine living next door to a murderer would be a dream compared with living next door to any of the hundreds of thousands of anti social scumbags.
    "Why yes, our new neighbor is so much more considerate than our old ones, he's even installed soundproofing in the basement." :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,316 ✭✭✭circadian

Here, lads, I don't wanna be on no list.

circadian wrote: »
    Here, lads, I don't wanna be on no list.
    Don't murder anyone and if you do, then don't get caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,316 ✭✭✭circadian

You could have told me this before I done 15 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

There's a house a few doors down from me that gets raided by the drugs squad fairly regularly
    NDU were watching it the other night when I was out looking for a stupid cat that did a runner in the thunder, fairly sure at this stage with the amount of comings and goings and dodgy looking yokes who call to the house at all hours that the residents are dealing but sure what can you do... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Nope, no lists at all, for anything.

You brake the law, get sentenced and when that sentence is up you should be as free as you were before.

Anything else amounts to further unwarranted punishment. E.g if people belief someone should be on a list then they should still be in custody.

angelfire9 wrote: »
    There's a house a few doors down from me that gets raided by the drugs squad fairly regularly
    NDU were watching it the other night when I was out looking for a stupid cat that did a runner in the thunder, fairly sure at this stage with the amount of comings and goings and dodgy looking yokes who call to the house at all hours that the residents are dealing but sure what can you do... :(
    Sorry to hear that.....possibly make it look like an accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭angelfire9

Sorry to hear that.....possibly make it look like an accident.

Sad to say the dealers are actually an improvement on the residents that were there before them

angelfire9 wrote: »
    Sad to say the dealers are actually an improvement on the residents that were there before them
    The previous crowd must have been neighbors from hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Shrobbs

Holsten wrote: »
    Nope, no lists at all, for anything.

You brake the law, get sentenced and when that sentence is up you should be as free as you were before.

Anything else amounts to further unwarranted punishment. E.g if people belief someone should be on a list then they should still be in custody.

Thats not very practical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,386 ✭✭✭Eire Go Brach

Is there anything that could be done anyway?

Let's say for someone who brutally murdered a women and left her body up the mountains and the justice systems failed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

It would be just as useful as the US Sex Offenders Register.
    Thousands of offenders living under bridges, unable to find accommodation or jobs. Which results in them becoming bitter, hateful, angry & therefore far more likely to re-offend and in a more extreme manner.

When you start creating registers for any kind of offenders, you are taking punishment away from the courts and handing it to the people. That will never work out well.

Prison exists both as a deterrent, and to punish. But without rehabilitation, you are never really fixing the problem. But Offender Registers seriously hamper rehabilitation which just results in a continuation and escalation of offending behaviour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭poppyvally

They should also name and shame all the people who have been caught speeding, drink drivers, people who litter/illegal dump rubbish, people who did not pay there TV license etc. Lets just make a list for bloody everything while were at it and broadcast it live on the RTE news at 9.

Ah! f/o we're talking about serial killers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

Don't do what Donny Don't does..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭pavb2

Don't do what Donny Don't does..

Dey do dough don't dey dough

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=qu8q9-M7GTU

It would be just as useful as the US Sex Offenders Register.
    Thousands of offenders living under bridges, unable to find accommodation or jobs. Which results in them becoming bitter, hateful, angry & therefore far more likely to re-offend and in a more extreme manner.

When you start creating registers for any kind of offenders, you are taking punishment away from the courts and handing it to the people. That will never work out well.

Prison exists both as a deterrent, and to punish. But without rehabilitation, you are never really fixing the problem. But Offender Registers seriously hamper rehabilitation which just results in a continuation and escalation of offending behaviour.

Great point. Buts It's no comfort if you live close to the person and fear it's you or your partner he could murder next. It's all about self preservation really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Great point. Buts It's no comfort if you live close to the person and fear it's you or your partner he could murder next. It's all about self preservation really.

Maybe you should murder your neighbours , that way your safe and wont have to worry bout him being on the list.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Cantremember

Good idea OP. Would enable people to be more wary of certain individuals and tackle landlords about who they park beside you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,319 ✭✭✭Absoluvely

pavb2 wrote: »
    Dey do dough don't dey dough

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=qu8q9-M7GTU

Dey do do dat dere doe don't dey doe?

http://youtu.be/Gu9q_vedO7w?t=3m36s

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭House of Blaze

Most murders are one time deals though in fairness unlike sex offenders.

Crimes of passion etc.

Having someones name on a list isn't going to protect you from the six people on your street who might be about to murder someone.

Seems kind of pointless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭NightOfTheHunt

I would rather not know about it, but at the same time would like to know about it. A highly conflicting issue. Damn you OP. just as I was going to sleep now I need to sort this internal struggle out. ahhhh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,928 ✭✭✭Hotfail.com

Good idea OP. Would enable people to be more wary of certain individuals and tackle landlords about who they park beside you.

It's all grand until the murderer realises you stopped him getting a house and goes after you :D:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

May I be the first to welcome our new murderer overlords.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

A murderer murderer list would be awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

And knowing where they live would make you safer?
    Would it matter if that killer lived 3 houses away or 3 cities away? A killer who chooses to kill again could do so anywhere they wish. Murderers can drive and use public transport too!

Maybe you should murder your neighbours , that way your safe and wont have to worry bout him being on the list.

I do not think that would be very fair on the neighbours. But judging by the sympathy for murderers here. I think I'd be ok :)