Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The old bin man Christmas bonus

• 23-12-2013 11:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭

Does anyone remember the days before we had wheelie bins, when we used black bags that you left outside your garden and the bin men had to physically throw them into the back of the truck..Then at Christmas they would come banging down your door looking for a Christmas bonus. If you didnt pay up they might just "forget" to collect your rubbish in the new year.

Has that completly gone now or is there still parts in Ireland where it exists? i personally never understood why i had to give a bin man an unofficial bonus of £20. Id say the lads miss those days though

Or maybe they just extorted me for years & this wasnt a regular occurance elsewhere :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,487 ✭✭✭banquo

We still do it. Binman, postman, etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Still do it at work with the postman.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,479 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

I never see them as Im at work when they are around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,330 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Wouldn't do it for the binman now, pay enough for the bins

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

I don't do it since they started charging for bin collections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 379 ✭✭Its All Wright

Thet havent knocked on my door in years..word must have got out that i give a sh!tty bonus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,902 ✭✭✭RayCon

Don't give anybody a "Christmas Bonus" ... Postman, Binman or whoever...

... then again I don't get one in my job either so boo fcukin hoo.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Nah, it hasnt bin done in ages

antodeco wrote: »

Ha i see where this is going.. What a load of rubbish

Leave it out!

(before 6am)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Some wheelie bad jokes being thrown out here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

RayCon wrote: »
    Don't give anybody a "Christmas Bonus" ... Postman, Binman or whoever...

... then again I don't get one in my job either so boo fcukin hoo.
    Do you not think the unemployed and pensioners deserve a bonus?

gramar wrote: »

I know. I wonder how long itll take before they are recycled later in the thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's funny how all the same threads appear this time of year.

It's like déja vu all over again.

I don't tip, I fly-tip.

I know. I wonder how long itll take before they are recycled later in the thread

I refuse to on with this.

Yeah I refuse to take any further part in these shenanigans

Looks like the recyling has started early this christmas!

Right forget this im going off to take a dump .... Sorry

Don't litter the jacks and leave it looking like a tip.

Its going to look like a landfill when im finished...fair to say this thread has taken a turn for worst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Thread should be locked, and THROW AWAY the key.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,782 ✭✭✭P.C.

Reminds me of this joke.

The first bin man knocks on the door, and the woman gives him €5 Christmas bonus. Same with the second, so they tellthe driver. He knocks on the door, and the woman takes him upstairs and shags him. He is surprised at his luck, and asks her why she gave the other €5 but he gets a shag. She says to him: my husband said - give the bin men €5 each, but feck the driver.

Its going to look like a landfill when im finished...fair to say this thread has taken a turn for worst

indeed...it's become a hazardous waste of time.

Its bin gas though

yeah...it's wheelie bin excellent....

Lets not lie to ourselves, the jokes have bin garbage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Why would I want to give the postman a Christmas bonus when he shoves junkmail into my letterbox :mad:

mikeym wrote: »
    Why would I want to give the postman a Christmas bonus when he shoves junkmail into my letterbox :mad:

Id assume An Post are paid for this the post man himself is just doing his job description which is to deliver post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

...and a pickpocket!

I think I will skip it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

Do you not think the unemployed and pensioners deserve a bonus?

Why should the unemployed deserve a bonus? If I bust my ass all year working and don't get one why should the taxes I pay go towards a bonus for someone else?

People on welfare used to get a Christmas bonus..its a difficult one though, id say theres families out there who really needed it & still do & then theres others just leeching off society but how do you give to one & not the other, maybe they should reintroduce it & only give it to families & not people who are sitting at home playing their xbox & smoking dubbies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭WellThen?

They used to clean up at Christmas.....;)

eamonnq wrote: »
    I think I will skip it.

I wonder if they do knock & i refuse to give it and i report them will they get the sack

This is getting silly now..

WellThen? wrote: »
    They used to clean up at Christmas.....;)

Id say they went off & spent it on filth & dirt

I wonder if they do knock & i refuse to give it and i report them will they get the sack

I would say you would be wasting your time reporting it.

eamonnq wrote: »
    I would say you would be wasting your time reporting it.

Yeah i could litterley make a mess for myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭youtheman

Reminds me of the joke about the fellow just back from holidays and there is a knock on the door and a Chinese bin collector is outside :
    Bin man : where u bin?
    Man : Lanzarote
    Bin Man: no understand, where u bin?
    Man: I'm telling you, Lanzarote
    Bin Man : no, where u wheelie bin ?
    Man : ah fu*k it, … Blackpool
    It's the way ya tell 'em !!!!!

youtheman wrote: »
    Reminds me of the joke about the fellow just back from holidays and there is a knock on the door and a Chinese bin collector is outside :
    Bin man : where u bin?
    Man : Lanzarote
    Bin Man: no understand, where u bin?
    Man: I'm telling you, Lanzarote
    Bin Man : no, where u wheelie bin ?
    Man : ah fu*k it, … Blackpool
    It's the way ya tell 'em !!!!!

One of those jokes where its so bad you cant help but laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭lougholad

:Dhas this practice "wheely bin" done away with:D