Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deer hunting licence advice please!!!!

• 19-12-2013 9:55pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

Well lads.
    I'm looking for help on finishing my deer hunting application. I only discovered that 100 acres is needed for the licence. I have permission on 40 acres in Dublin and Wicklow. But I'm finding it hard go get the other 60 acres as im from the midlands and not to many deer about here .iv been fox shooting for years with a .22 hornet but Iv bought a new howa .243 and have got a left hand thumbhole stock in from the states, so I am very eager to get my deer licence sent so I can apply for the licence on the new gun.And hopefully be ready for next season.id appreciate any advice. Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,248 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

Its a hard one to help with lad.

The only thing I can think of is to keep knocking on doors and hopefully something will happen for you.

Another thing is trying to get in on a lease but I don't know how it would work this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

In the same position myself but for one thing I can get permissions, I have 62 Acres not enough but working on more, as the so call rule is 100 Acres, as was explained knock on doors, but you and me are heading in the other direction, as the season is heading towards the close will not get shooting this season, but I am gearing to next season so try this option yourself work on getting that extra few Acres for the next season, and the best of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 finih2

Iv only looked at going in on one lease but it will cost 400 for this season. if it was earlier in the year id pay no prob but ill probely be waiting months for the gun licence to come back.and ill have to pay again next season.it turns to be a very expensive gun then!! Ha

iv been trying fairly hard for a good few weeks now with no joy so that's why I chance put up an ad on this to see if anyone had the same problem.

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    In the same position myself but for one thing I can get permissions, I have 62 Acres not enough but working on more, as the so call rule is 100 Acres, as was explained knock on doors, but you and me are heading in the other direction, as the season is heading towards the close will not get shooting this season, but I am gearing to next season so try this option yourself work on getting that extra few Acres for the next season, and the best of luck.

Fair enough.I new buying the gun I wouldn't get shooting this season. Iv been wanting to start deer hunting for years, so when I finally had the money to upgrade to a suitable gun for deer I went for it,thinking if I tried hard enough id get the licence!!!

finih2 wrote: »
    Fair enough.I new buying the gun I wouldn't get shooting this season. Iv been wanting to start deer hunting for years, so when I finally had the money to upgrade to a suitable gun for deer I went for it,thinking if I tried hard enough id get the licence!!!

Did you apply for the .243 through a Gun Club is that how you got the .243:confused:

400 wouldn't be bad for a lease but your right its a bit late in the season to be paying up especially if you won't be shooting this year. You should most definitly try stay in touch for the lease for next year. Providing its a decent one obviously.

Did you apply for the .243 through a Gun Club is that how you got the .243:confused:

No iv the gun scope and can sitting in shop all paid for

So you don't have the Gun yet?

Can I ask had you a rifle before this one, or is this your first?

Ye I have a .22 hornet for 5 years and 2 O/Us longer .I have the new gun paid in full waiting in a gun dealers.but I need to try get my deer licence so I can apply for my firearm licence

400 wouldn't be bad for a lease but your right its a bit late in the season to be paying up especially if you won't be shooting this year. You should most definitly try stay in touch for the lease for next year. Providing its a decent one obviously.

If I get my license id like to start small kinda for a year or two befor I go taking a lease.like go out with a friend for a while and get confident at wat im doing.if I got the opportunity to have a go at two or three deer next season id be happy.i only shot what I can eat

Ye good thinking. I only have one deer this year so far.

If you have lads that will take yo out aswell that's the job then. Because even on your 100 acres you will walk it in an hour or so and that's only of there isn't a spot for you to lie up and wait.

Good attitude doe fair play.

Hope you don't mind me adding another comment I got another 100 Acres to add to the 62 Acres I had so now in a position to apply for the Deer Licence. keep in touch and let me know how your getting on.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭Mackcon

Just add some of your midland permission , I had the same problem a few years back , one permission was leased through Nama he couldn't sign , another farmer died and his son couldn't sign due to probate , got a friend of a friend to give it to me he's in Wexford with 200 acrs bit of forestry but no deer what so ever and got it , just have to blag it a bit if your passionate about it , he who dares wins