Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drove long way for interview that was incorrectly advertised

• 19-12-2013 6:46pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 389 ✭✭micromary

Basically, I travelled to Cork from North County Dublin yesterday for a interview. The place was a nightmare to find. To cut a long story short, I was advised by phone last week verbally that it would be just 1 interview only and also as I was non native I would be tested on the language in question that I would be applying for. I asked if this could be done on the telephone as it would save the journey if for whatever reason I was not selected further for a face to face interview. They said no and that for the interview they would need to see me.

In the end the interview was a disaster. I was not interviewed by the people that I was supposed to be. Neither could speak the language that was requested for the job. They were both yawning and laid back on the chairs. Some of the questions were patronizing and when I asked one particular question re next year they both laughed to each other. It was also made clear that it was a 2 interview process with the language test coming afterwards if successful (word mentioned several times)I did not even get a glass of water when I arrive despite one of them drinking from a bottle.

The lesson I have learned is 1) Ensure that everything re the interview process is in writing and 2) Unless I have a telephone interview first and am determined it is a job that would improve my job prospects then there is no bother driving down. (especially in the dire weather conditions yesterday):mad:

Has anybody else had a similar experience and what was their thoughts after the interview was done?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

This is a long long loooong time ago, but I once turned up for an interview to be told the person wasn't expecting me. I showed them the time and date, and they agreed that I was right, but the interviewer wasn't available, but if I'd wait they'd find someone else. I waited a considerable amount of time (without being offered either water or coffee).

Eventually 2 people came down, apologised and brought me into a meeting room. They'd never seen my CV before, so took a few minutes to read the copy I brought with me. There was some small talk, then one of them said something like "with x years experience as a senior blah, could you explain what attracted you to this very junior position in a different area?" I explained that I was interviewing for the position of even more senior blah. We all looked at each other for a while, then I suggested that I'd just go home (having also travelled a considerable distance).

Found out when I got back to the car that a relative had died unexpectedly while I was in the interview (though I probably can't blame that on the company. Really).

Weirdly, the company offered me the original position I had applied for, despite the fact they never interviewed me for it. I declined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 685 ✭✭✭FURET

I traveled all the way from Cork to Hamburg for an interview. I was an intern with a large company at the time and had no guarantee of a job at the end of the internship, so I was desperately hunting for my first paid job in the profession.

I found a nice-sounding vacancy on Monster.de, researched the company on Google, and liked the sound of it. So I applied.

Two days later I got a reply from the company's owner. There soon followed a detailed phone interview. I found out that the company was basically just her and one other employee, a relative newbie like myself. The next day I was invited over for a face-to-face interview, to be held the following week. The air fare was to be refunded, but not the accommodation, which set me back 70 euro. I was utterly penniless at the time, but thought it a good investment.

The interview went OK for the first half an hour. Then the dogs lumbered into the meeting room - two great big smelly labradors, who proceeded to lie at my feet and make whimsical noises throughout the discussion. I'm not a dog person, and when I was informed that they were permanent features in the office, a sliver of doubt entered my mind.

Finally the owner wanted to talk money. I'd done my research. I knew what the market rate in northern Germany was for someone of my experience level. The lady was offering 10k less. I think I actually stared at her in quiet disbelief, but I don't remember for sure.

Still, I was fairly sure I'd get the job. It had involved a test at the start. The test consisted of improving a lengthy text that had been written by the company's only other employee. The text was pretty dire considering its purpose, and I dramatically improved it. Anyway, at the end I thanked her for her time. She said she'd be in touch soon, and that I'd done an excellent interview.

Three days later she emailed me to say that I hadn't got the job. I was surprised and a bit astonished, given the standard of the text that I'd had to improve during the interview. I actually told her that I wouldn't have taken the job even if she'd offered it to me as the salary was "very low". She told me that I couldn't expect higher from anyone. True to her word she reimbursed the air fare. And two weeks later I was offered a job by the company in Cork that I was interning for. The salary was 12k higher than she was offering.

Lesson: If you're traveling abroad for an interview, it's best to make sure at the outset that no one's time is likely to be wasted. I think it's one of the rare cases where you can be up-front about your salary expectations with the hiring organization.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 389 ✭✭micromary

Excellent stories. Proves FURET that if you wait a little something better will come nearby. I agree with you when going abroad. It is better being upfront re money etc to avoid experiences like your's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,260 ✭✭✭Irish_Elect_Eng

One piece of advice on this theme.

Many interviews set up by agencies are provisional in nature until they confirm with both interviewee and interviewing company. I have had experience in the past of candidates turning up asking for me when I was not expecting them, because an agency had "arranged" the interview.

When offered an interview by an agency. Ask the agency who your contact will beat the interviewing company and ring to confirm the interview with the company independently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭camel jockey

Put it down to experience, and move on.

As someone who regularly interviews people for technical roles, candidates can be time wasters also. One great example was a lady who had all the latest technologies at the time on her CV. When asked about each, her answer was 'I've never used X, but would like to, which is why I included it on the CV'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Phantasos

I was went for an interview with a media company in Dublin a couple of years ago. I came from across the country to attend the interview like yourself. When I got there, I had a pretty good interview (the manager even knew people from my hometown). I went away delighted with myself.

A couple of weeks passed by, and no word. I waited a little longer, assuming they were just interviewing other people. Then one day, I went onto their blog and saw a congratulatory post for the new recruit to the company - in the position I advertised for. I got no response when I emailed them for feedback on my interview. I got no response AT ALL, not even a generic rejection letter. I was disgusted.

There really are some horrible companies that treat interviewees like ****. They are the minority, but it is such poor form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,799 ✭✭✭gerrycollins

Years ago when deciding my future I considered moving back to my home town but with little jobs in my area there I would have to be sure of my choices.

With a reputable recruitment company in my field I took a few interviews in Dublin and one in Galway (home).

I drove to Galway for the interview, had a great interview with the owner, great plans options to expand his business and drive that expansion worth him etc. Then he asks why am I looking into a junior position with such senior expertise.It was them I just looked at him and in front of him rang the recruitment company to give out which he took my phone and gave out to them too.

Needless to say I didn't take the role and he even paid my petrol money as a way of saying sorry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

I drove to Galway for the interview, had a great interview with the owner, great plans options to expand his business and drive that expansion worth him etc. Then he asks why am I looking into a junior position with such senior expertise.It was them I just looked at him and in front of him rang the recruitment company to give out which he took my phone and gave out to them too.

You could come across a little more clearly in this post yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,001 ✭✭✭Mr. Loverman

micromary wrote: »
    1) Ensure that everything re the interview process is in writing

Don't do this. It is quite likely the person arranging the interview will think you are weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭dazberry

Don't do this. It is quite likely the person arranging the interview will think you are weird.

I'm weird so, I generally ask for the information to be put in an email, just to have a point of reference, not to catch anyone out, just to ensure that I don't get it wrong.

D.

dazberry wrote: »
    I'm weird so, I generally ask for the information to be put in an email, just to have a point of reference, not to catch anyone out, just to ensure that I don't get it wrong.

D.

I actually interviewed you in real life...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Good recruiters generally offer to email you the details before the interview anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Good recruiters generally offer to email you the details before the interview anyway.

I always ask for the details and directions by e-mail, then call the recruiter the day before (or even the morning if time allows) to double-check.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, I'd always get the details in writing.

I remember being sent to an interview by a recruiter once; Sent to a 9am interview on a Saturday in an industrial estate. The directions were fairly vague, e.g. Unit 10, such-and-such estate. Except as is typical, the name of the estate was not the same as what it's called by the postman :rolleyes:.

Luckily I was way early, so I eventually after hunting around a number of estates, I found the unit (just a number on it, no name) about 8:55. Closed, all shutters down. OK. Hung around. Rang the company reception number around 9:10. No answer.
    A guy pulls up in a car about 9:20, looks at me and asks what I'm here for. "Uh, an interview?". "Oh right". He opens up and then tells me to take a seat in an office while he gets himself some coffee. Interview starts around 9:40, the guys spends twenty minutes asking some really vague questions, and using terminology that's either completely out of context or hasn't been used since the late 80's. And of course he's looking at me like I'm the idiot when I ask him to clarify what he's talking about.

Pretty glad I heard nothing back about that one.

The OP doesn't want the interview details (date, place, etc.), she wants their interview policy.

Most companies don't have an interview policy, so asking for one will raise a few eyebrows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Strangest one I ever had was for a management job.

1) The interview panel was 4 hours late!
    2) the first round interview was over 2hrs long and they had me sitting in the middle of a circle of 8 interviewers on a stool.
    3) Round two : they were late yet again and a similarly weird interview with totally irrelevant questions.

After all that they gave the job to the CEO's son !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭daheff

Had one interview where I turned up at the office for the interview to find out that nobody was there. When i came home I checked my phone to find out that I had a number of missed calls. Apparently they wanted to do a telephone interview first but nobody had the courtesy to tell me that prior to it happening.

Couldnt even blame it on an agency as I applied direct to them for the job.

I ended up getting the job and stupidly took it....left 6 months later out of pure frustration with their disorganisation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Sala

I showed up for a number of interviews when I was looking for a trainee solicitor job only to be told at that stage they weren't paid positions. It's kind of the thing they should tell you before you take a half day from work to go to their fecking sham interview

Phantasos wrote: »
    I got no response when I emailed them for feedback on my interview. I got no response AT ALL, not even a generic rejection letter. I was disgusted.

There really are some horrible companies that treat interviewees like ****. They are the minority, but it is such poor form.

Yes I have experienced that Phantasos. It is just poor manners especially as you made the effort. In the long term it is probably best that you did not join.

As regards interview policy being wierd or raising eyebrows. I could not give a damn about that Mr.Loverman. To be honest if they were written down and set in stone and I knew exactly what I was getting myself into then I would have saved myself a horrible trip down and back to Cork.

daheff wrote: »
    I ended up getting the job and stupidly took it....left 6 months later out of pure frustration with their disorganisation.

Companies can be as bad as agencies sometimes. What I take out of this is that if I feel the interview has not gone well or if I am unsure of anything after all questions are asked & answered and the offer is sent, then it is maybe time to think again about joining!

I've had two incidents where I was asked to do a project for a company as an 'interview task' (maybe up to 4 days worth of work). Then been told oh, sorry you didn't get the job only to find my material published online as part of their portfolio of work!!

This happened me dealing with two separate companies on the continent who were looking for marketing consultants.

Certain unscrupulous organisations are willing to take serious advantage of people who are desperate to pick up new jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,133 ✭✭✭Explosive_Cornflake

SpaceTime wrote: »
    I've had two incidents where I was asked to do a project for a company as an 'interview task' (maybe up to 4 days worth of work). Then been told oh, sorry you didn't get the job only to find my material published online as part of their portfolio of work!!

This happened me dealing with two separate companies on the continent who were looking for marketing consultants.

Certain unscrupulous organisations are willing to take serious advantage of people who are desperate to pick up new jobs.

Would you own that work as you are not paid? Would there be copyright issues?

Possibly, but I don't know if it would be worth bothering pursuing.

I got the impression in this case that several small companies were basically 'interviewing' candidates and using their proposals / work sample in pitches to other companies !

In one case a company was just interviewing hundreds of translators giving them long tasks to complete or even bringing them in-house for a day or two to get work for free!

You live and learn though! I won't ever do 'free' work like that again and I'll be a little more thorough about investigating any company that I apply to.

If someone wants to see a portfolio, I have one available. If they want me to produce a short piece of material, I will make it very clear that it's subject to copyright and only usable in the context of an interview and I will not do anything that's a large quantity of actual work if it's meant to be a demonstration of my skills.

Unfortunately, there are some well dressed cowboys out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Works both ways, we advertised a job, clearly stated it was 6mths and 5 days a week. Clearly stated the hours.

Called up 8 for interview , 4 of them said they couldn't work full time or the hours didn't suit.

Why waste everyone's time by not reading past the first line of the ad?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,648 ✭✭✭✭beauf

When I used to work in graphics a lot of places used interviews to steal ideas.

Possibly, but I don't know if it would be worth bothering pursuing.

Of course it's worth pursuing, it's your work. Send them an invoice for your contracting work

bluewolf wrote: »
    Of course it's worth pursuing, it's your work. Send them an invoice for your contracting work

I did that, and it was just completely ignored and actually hung up on when I called them.
    The issue would be that I'd have to pursue them under Belgian law rather than Irish law and it's probably not worth the hassle.
    They do owe me about 34 hours work though.

Unfortunately, I think it's just a case of chalking it down to experience and never allowing that kind of situation to occur again.

Basically, all of my written material, infographics and research appeared in a PDF brochure on their website which had been used to secure a contract.

Clearly I was just a bit too naive !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭stooge

Shortly after finishing college I applied for a job, did a telephone interview and was asked to attend a face to face interview.

The office was a 3hr drive from my house. Drove down, arrived at 9.30 for the 10am interview and waited for almost 2hrs to start (as the interviewers were 'busy' in other meetings). Interview went well howvever and the HR man told me right after the interview that "I did an excellent interview and all I needed to do now is a medical and I would have the job".

Travelled down again a week later for a medical with the company doctor who said i was fit and healthy and that there were no issues. I then waited for the contract to be sent out in the post.

After about 7-10 days of waiting I decided to call the HR guy who told me that the contracts would be sent out in the next few days...

Another 5-7 days and still no contracts I thought WTF is going on? HR guy refuses to answer calls and emails. Alarm bells are ringing in my head.

Eventually after almost 8 weeks of waiting and trying to get the contracts sent out I get a letter int he post stating:

"Business requirements have changed. At no point was I ever offered the job and no contracts were sent out. We wish you every luck ...blah blah blah"

Needless to say I was f'ing raging. Valuable lesson learned though, don't for one second assume you have a job no matter how well the interview went and the feedback you were given.

I'm self-employed now, and I don't really need to apply for jobs like that anymore. However, anytime I deal with an unfamiliar company that I'm unsure of and where there might be a potential time or financial loss involved, I spend a while doing a quick background check on them.

If I'm going to commit to any kind of potentially complicated process where I'm going to be owed money for work done, I might even pull their CRO records (or equivalent) before I do too much work.

There's a lot of free information available on companies and businesses.
    Google, Solocheck and without any cost involved you can at least check if their CRO status is normal, records have been filed etc. if you're really fussy, you can purchase the published records for a small fee.

I also find LinkedIn increasingly valuable as at least you generally can get a sense of who a person's been endorsed by and why.

I've just been burnt a few times with companies who have "offices" that turn out to be VoIP geographic numbers in multiple locations and all that kind of smoke and mirrors nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,513 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Interviewers were an hour and half late as they were interviewing the guy before me. They didn't seem to understand anything about their product. I just cut the interview short as a waste of time it took about 15 minutes in total.

When I went to bus stop I saw the guy who had been in before me. He was going for the same role. His interview had been 2 hours in total. He said it was kind of wildly rambling. He had similar experience to me and was looking for similar wage.

The next day they offered me the job! I contacted the other guy and he got a PFO. I turned it down. The wages suddenly dropped in the offer as their upper limit was for the exceptional yet I had said that was my minimum. The got really snotty about wage and I was telling them I didn't want the job either way but they kept going on about the wage. I met the person who got the job years later and they said it was a disaster and he lasted 3 months before quiting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,295 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

I got the impression in this case that several small companies were basically 'interviewing' candidates and using their proposals / work sample in pitches to other companies !

Yeah, a number of Irish companies were pulling this stunt in 2009/10.

You just gotta believe in karma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭fret_wimp2

Unfortunately thats the game we play when job hunting OP.

Recruiters/HR Dept/Companies write a spec, and its often written by someone who has no idea about the role.

You then travel for the interview and find its just not for you. But thats good also. An interview is a 2 way process, they are checking if you are good enough for the role and you are finding out if you want to work for this company also. they are on the stand also.

The fact that you have to travel is irrelevant. If your aware of the job location and the location of the interview, and you still accept, then your accepting the "risk" that the job wont be what you expect.

FYI - Im from the West of ireland and when job hunting many years ago, as all jobs in my field were in Dublin I had quite a few trips to dublin, all fruitless, no travel reimbursment, no food expenses. Thats just how it is.

fret_wimp2 wrote: »
    An interview is a 2 way process, they are checking if you are good enough for the role and you are finding out if you want to work for this company also. they are on the stand also..

I totally agree with you on this one if of course you can afford to have that option. Many unfortunately may need to take the first thing coming which as has been commented here may lead in disappointment and the position not working out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭mightyreds

I went for a trial day in a company once was grand handy enough job, busy all day but nothing you couldn't pick up handy enough, was then told the plans for the next day what i'd be doing and what was happening,
    then when I got home was called to say not to come back they'd ring me when they needed me never got paid or anything for it I knew what they were at the second they rang free days labour and I was never getting paid no matter how hard I tried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭road_high

Have travelled to several interviews in various location at my own expense throughout the years that I wasn't successful at. One job I met them 3 times and came second for the job. It just goes with the territory I'm afraid and often they change their minds about different roles/candidates along the way.

mightyreds wrote: »
    I went for a trial day in a company once was grand handy enough job, busy all day but nothing you couldn't pick up handy enough, was then told the plans for the next day what i'd be doing and what was happening,
    then when I got home was called to say not to come back they'd ring me when they needed me never got paid or anything for it I knew what they were at the second they rang free days labour and I was never getting paid no matter how hard I tried.

Well, you did say it was a trial. It's not that you necessarily did badly it's just likely someone else did better. Same as any interview.

One thing that has come from my interview is that the head of HR of the company has written back apologising for the lack of clarification of the process among other things. Something small has come out of it!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,824 ✭✭✭mightyreds

smcgiff wrote: »
    Well, you did say it was a trial. It's not that you necessarily did badly it's just likely someone else did better. Same as any interview.

Yeah I get you, it was just funny they way they went about it rang me new years day (last year) asking could I come in the next day that they were needed someone with a forklift license asap.I thought I'd a job then half way through the day I was told it was a trial. Then have all the plans laid out for the next day what I'd be doing where I'd be working, starting time etc. I got a call on the way home to say not to come in. I knew it wasn't my work or anything as I was good on the forklift.

Another one is a company allowed ask in an interview, have you ever had an accident in the workplace and have you claimed from it.

I thought I'd a job then half way through the day I was told it was a trial.

Ah, that's totally different. That's bad alright.

Another one is a company allowed ask in an interview, have you ever had an accident in the workplace and have you claimed from it.

Of course, it's not discriminatory at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 295 ✭✭kryptonmight

A few years back i did an interview for a contract role in IT. There were two guys interviewing me, one was ok but the other was a rude prick. I felt like punching him in the middle of the interview and/or walking out.

I finished the interview anyway and I never left an interview before or since with such a dislike for a possible job. I didn't care either as i thought it went badly.

Cut to a few days later and the recruiter phoned me up saying they offered me the job which was a huge surprise. Even though i was unemployed i turned the job down. The recruitment agent asked why and i said i couldn't work with that guy under any circumstances.

I have also had other agents forward my cv without my permission, one of which resulted in me getting an interview i didn't really want but felt like I had to take, which meant a 180 mile round-trip drive.