Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Im Going to be in Todays Golfer Magazine

• 18-12-2013 6:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭

Hi All,
    Bit of a mad one, got an email off howdidido.co.uk regarding my big drop in handicap and would I like to be featured in Todays golfer magazine with promise of aload of free clubs/bags/balls, I replied thinking yeah right whatever, this was back in october, Then few weeks later I got an email from editor of Todays golfer wanting an interview and for me to do a photoshoot, I said yeah no bother so arranged a time for the phone interview which went grand, asking me how did i reduce my handicap so much etc, then he arranged for the photoshoot which took place last month at my home club, got the full treatment, make up about 50 different lights and aload of different photos, I was getting a bit sick of it towards the end because they werent getting the shots they wanted, Photos looked good, just nervous how its going to look in the magazine, They said its due out around christmas time!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭golfwallah

Brilliant!

Well done!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

dar_cool wrote: »
    Hi All,
    Bit of a mad one, got an email off howdidido.co.uk regarding my big drop in handicap and would I like to be featured in Todays golfer magazine with promise of aload of free clubs/bags/balls, I replied thinking yeah right whatever, this was back in october, Then few weeks later I got an email from editor of Todays golfer wanting an interview and for me to do a photoshoot, I said yeah no bother so arranged a time for the phone interview which went grand, asking me how did i reduce my handicap so much etc, then he arranged for the photoshoot which took place last month at my home club, got the full treatment, make up about 50 different lights and aload of different photos, I was getting a bit sick of it towards the end because they werent getting the shots they wanted, Photos looked good, just nervous how its going to look in the magazine, They said its due out around christmas time!! :)

Well done !
    As a matter of interest , what handicap did you drop from and by how many shots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭dar_cool

Cheers lads, went from 15.0 to 6.0 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

Sheeet, I'm trying to break single digits, (if you count no effort or motivation practice wise as trying) but it's a hell of a jump, great stuff.

I hope you get a right old slagging from the lads over the photoshoot.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

Did you get the free clubs etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

Fair play to ya, that's a serious reduction in handicap. Well done again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

Congratulations, that's a serious achievement in a year alright.

Nice to see the websites & magazines showing an interest in this kind of thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,511 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

Nice one Darren!
    I'd have given you long odds in Esker that day! Some achievement.

Don't talk to me about those photo shoots, a nightmare... But they pay the bills :)

Thanks lads. I got an sldr driver off them. They said when it comes out they will send me whstevers lying around the office. Ha ha. Proper job!!
    Yeah Parlance. That esker outing seems like years ago. Serious amount of practise since then though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭John Divney

You should slide the setting to 'Boss' :cool:

Out of interest did you go technical/Camera work and analyse and rebuild your swing or do it through sheer volume of practice, trial /error.

Just sheer practise. Didn't get any lessons at all. Started off with top fligh balls. Now using pro v's. Says it all really

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

How much practice were you getting in?

2/3 times a week if not more on some weeks. No kids. Fiancee doing college in the evenings. Plenty of time to be practising. I focused on chipping and putting at first then driving then mid irons. Something I want to work on for next year is long irons mainly 3 and 4. Very hit and miss with them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭markie4

It's obviously the clubs :)

Well done! Fantastic achievement

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭Tin_Cup

Congrats and well done! Looking forward to checking out the article!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

Fair play and congrats on the gargantuan drop in hanpicap, pity the GUI and Irish Independent dropped that Most Improved Golfer competition they ran a couple of years ago. Hoping the article will have details as to your secrets regarding practice routines etc as I spent the year going in the wrong direction despite great ambition. It's one hell of a game/sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

Great work on the drop, massive difference in those two handicaps. Better still is getting the recognition I'm sure the driver/other stuff is by some way 2nd to the actual recognition by making the magazine itself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭billy3sheets

Congrats. I once dropped from 18 to 12 inside a calendar year (July - July) which felt great. I credited lessons with a lot of that and would still recommend them highly.
    I know the drop from 12 to 6 is far harder to achieve.
    Well done man!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭benny79

well Done thats great achievement! Let us know when the article is out its 1 of the best golfing mags on the market imo, but never seems to include Ireland much so good to see.

by the way how did you know you were practising the right things? or doing the right things practising? I spend a lot of time practising & playing this year and went from 18 to 20! :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,093 ✭✭✭Dbu

Great achievement man, wow

dont think the sldr would suit you, so i will give you a ton for it....lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Amazing - will be watching out for it.

People often don't believe that people can improve that much. It will be nice to have a documented case.

Well done.

benny79 wrote: »
    well Done thats great achievement! Let us know when the article is out its 1 of the best golfing mags on the market imo, but never seems to include Ireland much so good to see.

by the way how did you know you were practising the right things? or doing the right things practising? I spend a lot of time practising & playing this year and went from 18 to 20! :(
    Good question. I don't really know. Sounds silly but I was changing little things and using them on a round. How I practise is go out on the course and hit 2 shots for every 1 shot if you know what I mean. Hit 2 balls 2 different ways. I hate the driving range. Never go to it or use it. Much prefer walking around hitting a few balls than standing there belting balls. I'd only use the range to warm up. The putting and chipping you can see the results instantly with practise. Using the right clubs helps. I got a 2 ball putter and love it. Helps me line up putts way more easier than a bladed putter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

Fair play to ya OP, brilliant achievement... I went from 16.8 to 12.9 this year and next year it's Single Figures or bust!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,824 ✭✭✭levitronix

dar_cool wrote: »
    Hi All,

they werent getting the shots they wanted ... what did they want a high draw off the deck with driver over a lake ??? You need more practice !!

the sounds deadly , sldr is on my list for next year

Magazine came out the other day. Great to see good few Irish people in it
    IMAG0574_zps29fb930a.jpg
    IMAG0575_zpseddf2989.jpg

Ha ha gas!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 63 ✭✭Neil Andblomee

Wow you're famous now, you'll have alot to live up to now everytime you play, you'll have to play good or they'll be saying "how did this guy drop so quick?". No pressure, enjoy!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,890 ✭✭✭DuckSlice

Congrats pal. Hope you enjoy the sldr it's a beast of a club!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

Well done. Saw the article in the magazine, very interesting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Well done Dar, great shooting. Might be a bit late now but if you are round in the morning there's a few of us playing in Castleknock.... Nice and handy for ya :)