Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

530'BMW v AUDI A6 QUATTRO V SKODA OCTAVIA VRS

• 16-12-2013 12:25am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17

Looking at buying 1 of the above,
    It must be an estate and i'm just looking for general feed back on what people that drive them found good and bad,
    Looking at 2010-2011 year on all three any feed back be most welcome!:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

1st 2 of 2010 will be light years ahead in terms of build quality and comfort.

If you have the money narrow the search down to those two right now. Also the Audi A6 is arguably the best sporty estate platform there is.

I know if i won the lotto i would buy an RS6 Avant debadge it and troll supercars @ traffic light and i could bring my dog along !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 rsgreen28

I love the look of the VRS but what is putting me off is how plain they are on the inside nothing very exciting at all,
    The RS6 Avant is some toy but im afraid i have to stay a small bit since able and buy a diesel to keep all sides happy
    But saying that the power in the Quattro is great and with a small remap would not be long ripping up the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

rsgreen28 wrote: »
    I love the look of the VRS but what is putting me off is how plain they are on the inside nothing very exciting at all,
    The RS6 Avant is some toy but im afraid i have to stay a small bit since able and buy a diesel to keep all sides happy
    But saying that the power in the Quattro is great and with a small remap would not be long ripping up the road!

Don't need an RS6 to have fun a 3 litre diesel one with a double clutch semi auto system 4wd and a mild remap would be a hoot.

Just used the RS6 as an extreme example

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

The skoda doesn't compete in that company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭daRobot

A6 all the way. It's a complete all rounder, and a much rarer sight than a 5 series which really seem to be everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

daRobot wrote: »
    A6 all the way. It's a complete all rounder, and a much rarer sight than a 5 series which really seem to be everywhere.

Unfortunately I'll have to agree.
    Pity, as the RWD of the 5'er makes it more fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Why is the Octavia in consideration with the other two?

Next we will mull over the merits of purchasing an s-class vs a nice 1.2 fiat bravo.

Why is the Octavia in consideration with the other two?

Next we will mull over the merits of purchasing an s-class vs a nice 1.2 fiat bravo.
    Is that a 5 door bravo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Well F10 530Ds are a rarity on these shores..
    unfortuantely you'd prob have to stick a big 530D sign on the rear window to differentiate from the more common 520Ds.

A6s are a very nice car inside and I actually think they're better looking than the F10 especially the estates...BMW estates are awful looking yokes compared to the Audi estates.
    I drive BMW myself and was thinking of changing over to Audi estate.

Blazer wrote: »
    Well F10 530Ds are a rarity on these shores..
    unfortuantely you'd prob have to stick a big 530D sign on the rear window to differentiate from the more common 520Ds.

A6s are a very nice car inside and I actually think they're better looking than the F10 especially the estates...BMW estates are awful looking yokes compared to the Audi estates.
    I drive BMW myself and was thinking of changing over to Audi estate.

F10 m550d's are even rarer ;)
    Only in LHD but could be brought in.

I'm of to test drive both the A6 and the 530 this weekend so will soon have my mind made up,
    I only had the VRS up as a few friends were on about them so i said i'd ask it was on the bottom on my list anyways
    but there still not a bad looking estate IMO... I'll let ye no how i get on with the A6 and 530 anyways!!!
    Worst thing is they wont have any white one's in this side of Christmas! ! !

ah sure after xmas they'll be doing the 141 deals so it works out better for you?
    Then again who buys a new car 2 weeks before xmas? :D

Being waiting for 3 months for a new car and i just want it now lol... and it'll be nice to show off to the family over the xmas ;)

dont you know you'll just get pitying looks from the neighbours because you're driving last year's car? ;)
    Hold off for 2 weeks and you can lord it over them..well for 6 months till the 142 comes out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,914 ✭✭✭kooga

sorry to gate crash lads, but i am thrilled with my 12 plate skoda superb L+K 2.0tdi 170bhp 4x4.
    up till i changed I was an audi a6 avant man but for the last six months i am thoroughyy enjoying this car.

Uk import............the only drawback its a left hooker but i like to be different!

Blazer wrote: »
    dont you know you'll just get pitying looks from the neighbours because you're driving last year's car? ;)
    Hold off for 2 weeks and you can lord it over them..well for 6 months till the 142 comes out.

I'm looking at a 2011 car you must of picked me up wrong... i wish i was able to afford a 142 wish full thinking!!!

ah I was wondering alright :)

Gf's brother bought a white A6 saloon and I love the look of it..white wagons are very nice looking as well.

Ya i was also like WTF is this guy on about haha,
    Cant wait to get a rip in the Quattro ill be smiling for awhile after it :)

Have you ever hurd of anyone remapping the A6 Quattro...?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

Ya i was also like WTF is this guy on about haha,
    Cant wait to get a rip in the Quattro ill be smiling for awhile after it :)

Have you ever hurd of anyone remapping the A6 Quattro...?

I've hurd the wurd about the burd.... :D

A mate remapped his A6 wonderful results (as there is with any remapped turbo car when doen right)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,603 ✭✭✭thecomedian

tossy wrote: »
    I've hurd the wurd about the burd.... :D

A great episode :)