Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

One million in cash dug up....

• 15-12-2013 8:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/1215/493051-limerick-cash/

Two men have been arrested after more than €1m in cash was found by gardaí in the outskirts of Limerick.

The men in their 40s and 50s from Limerick were arrested when they were found digging up the cash at the time.

The money is believed to be the proceeds of crime.
    It was discovered in an area known as Portcrusha, Montpelier, Co. Limerick yesterday.
    It followed a five month investigation led by the Divisional Drugs Unit backed up by crime units across Limerick.
    The men are being held at Henry Street Garda Station in Limerick.

It's rumoured that it was dug up in anticipation of endas speech tonight, things are getting better I tell ya :P:D:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Dogs will be dogs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Ah feck it. Thats only 10 minutes from me. Why didn't I go digging :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

Chucken wrote: »

Because you go chucken instead... :pac:

Get. Out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Chucken wrote: »

Instead of dogging :P:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭HomelessMidge

This is actually widespread, numerous dealers with a few quid to spare Bury it.

I'd always be afraid of forgetting where I put it though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,105 ✭✭✭ectoraige

Apparently they had it in an old footsafe in a garden shed but reburied it a few years ago, leaving only a couple of jam jars behind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

If I had a million squid in cash I sure as feck wouldn't be caught digging it up from the ground. It sounds like a bad movie plot.

realies wrote: »
    Instead of dogging :P:)

Well it is raining out there. ;)
    ectoraige wrote: »
    Apparently they had it in an old footsafe in a garden shed but reburied it a few years ago, leaving only a couple of jam jars behind.

..and they didn't start a thread here about it? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,494 ✭✭✭Riddle101

They should have bought themselves a car wash to launder the money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackeire

Say you just happened to be out digging and found this million quid, what would you do with it?
    you'd be found out quick enough if you bought a house, new car etc..

Or would you just hand it in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,281 ✭✭✭mackeire

Say you just happened to be out digging and found this million quid, what would you do with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 PopRocks

I'd hide it under the floor boards and just use it for day to day living.

Smoke a whole lot of weed. Dealer probably isn't gonna get suspicious and report you to revenue...

Riddle101 wrote: »

They were close enough. They were drying the money in a tumble dryer when they were caught :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

mackeire wrote: »

Wouldn't buy a new house with it as it would be totally suspicious, but renting would be ok. Not a new car either, just a different car.

But yes, I would totally make the best of that sweet sweet drug money.:pac:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/1215/493051-limerick-cash/

Two men have been arrested after more than €1m in cash was found by gardaí in the outskirts of Limerick.

The men in their 40s and 50s from Limerick were arrested when they were found digging up the cash at the time.

The money is believed to be the proceeds of crime.
    It was discovered in an area known as Portcrusha, Montpelier, Co. Limerick yesterday.
    It followed a five month investigation led by the Divisional Drugs Unit backed up by crime units across Limerick.
    The men are being held at Henry Street Garda Station in Limerick.

It's rumoured that it was dug up in anticipation of endas speech tonight, things are getting better I tell ya :P:D:)

When i seen the thread title i thought of Bertie in his allotment.

http://www.ppai.ie/photos/competition-2013/1922.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭tim3000

Riddle101 wrote: »

There is a user on Boards called "The One Who Knocks" I really hope he thanks your comment :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

Martin Cahill buried money where they built a bypass.

Also, there is apparently two priceless paintings that still remain in the Dublin mountains (a pair of Venetian scenes by Guardi) .

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

From RTÉ News "The money is believed to be the proceeds of crime".

No shít like !

Daqster wrote: »

Also, there is apparently two priceless paintings that still remain in the Dublin mountains (a pair of Venetian scenes by Guardi) .

Doubt they're priceless anymore, :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

It is the largest amount of cash seized in the history of the State.

The 53-year-old convicted criminal, was one of two men caught in the process of transferring the money buried underground, into a container on land at Portcrusha, Montpelier, Co Limerick when gardaí swooped on the scene,
    He was held for questioning under Drugs Trafficking legislation but was released without charge this evening and a file is being prepared for the DPP.
    The other man was released without charge last night.
    Both men were drying out the wads of cash in a tumbler drier in the container when gardaí made the arrests.
    A digger which was being used to retrieve the buried cash was also located at the scene.
    The buried cash was wrapped in plastic and stored in boxes and hidden several feet under the ground.

What would they be charged with ? It's not illegal to bury money ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

"We'd like to go to heaven but we're Always diggin' holes"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

So, money doesn't grow in trees - it grows in fields!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭The One Who Knocks

It wasn't me, I promise!

What would they be charged with ? It's not illegal to bury money ?

I'd imagine the guards have more on them.;)

We went over for an aul nose today thinking the place would be buzzing but nothing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,068 ✭✭✭Hitchens

RTE News says the money is still in Garda custody.....

.........guess what the next headline will be! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Daqster wrote: »
    Martin Cahill buried money where they built a bypass.

I didn't know the Guards were into painting?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭gobnaitolunacy

Victor wrote: »
    So, money doesn't grow in trees - it grows in fields!

Cash crop?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 770 ✭✭✭ComputerKing

I feel so sickened I have ran, cycled, and driven past this exact location atleast once a week for a few years and never once thought to dig up the field and become a millionaire.