Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dear Diary

• 15-12-2013 1:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭

I'm planning on keeping a personal diary in 2014.

Any other adult on here keep one? I am bit concerned about putting personal thoughts/feelings down on paper (in case someone else reads it) but like the thought of looking back on it in a few years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭xploderz

Get some free encryption software like Kleopatra and keep it locally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Jackpot!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,798 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Ah no,im not a ten year old girl.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

What would be the purpose of this OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 358 ✭✭SPM1959

Gongoozler wrote: »

I have a lot of 'life changing' plans for 2014. I like the idea of documenting how I am feeling during this time. I think writing down my thoughts would also serve as a form of motivation to achieve my goals/aims.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

Gongoozler wrote: »
    Fresh milk, cheese and butter?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

SPM1959 wrote: »
    I have a lot of 'life changing' plans for 2014. I like the idea of documenting how I am feeling during this time. I think writing down my thoughts would also serve as a form of motivation to achieve my goals/aims.

You plan on getting pregz ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Sounds good so.
    Keep us updated with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭looking_around

Common sites for anonymous ( public or private diaries) prose box, blogger, open diary.

I've kept a diary since 4th class, both written and electronic, i like using online sites as its nice to have a few entries public, to get comments from people who could be in similar position etc.
    However i do download my diary in case the site has a crash/ goes bust, what not. And the odd time i still write.

Can't beat writing as a release/ clear the mind.

I also want to add, in the last 10 years of keeping an online diary, i haven't had anyone i know 'find' it. (And i write 'public')
    Physical diaries are riskier for that, i think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Does anyone write for their future self with no other reader in mind?

I used to keep an occasional diary, but I haven't been particularly interested in myself since I was about 16 years old. The girlish notebooks have since been burnt in a blaze of cringe. Rita Ann Higgins had a good poem about secrets - don't tell anyone at all, and don't keep a diary or it'll be read when you're dead. "Try blushing with dirt in your mouth."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

I write one, but don't read it. Ever. Did once or twice, but it's mind boggingly jarring because once a few years are past, I find I'm a stranger to myself. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

I've kept diaries since I was 17 and looking back, I do cringe a little but I like to write and I find that writing down my feelings regardless of the mood I'm in is very cathartic. I consider it to be theraputic. As for worrying about people reading it when I'm dead- sure, I'll be dust in the wind by then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

What if your diary gets stolen though? Where would you write about that, eh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I've always kept a diary. They are really nice to look at the odd time and say oh I remember doing that etc.

I dropped it one day going into my apartment and a neighbour found it, and read it. To this day he contacts me on facebook and tells me I'm very kinky :mad: He's such a creep.

I haven't kept one since!

mauzo! wrote: »
    I've always kept a diary. They are really nice to look at the odd time and say oh I remember doing that etc.

I dropped it one day going into my apartment and a neighbour found it, and read it. To this day he contacts me on facebook and tells me I'm very kinky :mad: He's such a creep.

This kind of scenario would be my greatest fear. What a creep.

I don't have the discipline to keep one, although I like the idea of it.

Yes, the thoughts of this situation freaks me out.

You should block him on Facebook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Quick, shut the stable door, the horse has bolted!

I know this sounds crazy, but he knows where I live and is really really creepy, I'd be afraid I'd bump into him and he'd say something :(

Far from crazy,it is creepy. Best to ignore and fully block on Facebook. If anything then happens in real life (e.g comments), go to the Gardai and show him you are serious/not afraid of him.

This sounds really worrying Mauzo. :(

Candie wrote: »
    This sounds really worrying Mauzo. :(
    Far from crazy,it is creepy. Best to ignore and fully block on Facebook. If anything then happens in real life (e.g comments), go to the Gardai and show him you are serious/not afraid of him.

It was really weird. He added me on facebook and that was fine, was being really flirty but in a creepy way. Asked for my number, I said no.

Ordered take away one night and who delivers it? HIM! Then of course he had my number. He text me saying that my tits looked amazing and he wants to bury his face in them :confused:

Kept texting me at midnight saying he'd call up, I said no. Said he'd call up anyway. I used to have to get my boyfriend to come over but didn't want him to say anything to him. The guy is really really rough. I'd be putting the bins out in the evening and have to walk by his house, all his family would be there and the lads would be smoking joints in the back garden, they'd be really sleazy and make sexual comments.

I moved anyway, and me and my boyfriend ordered take away one night, from a different place. Who delivers it? Him again. What are the chances like? Now he knows where I live!

Anyway, I'm going to block him and if anything happens I will go to the guards. I'm pregnant now so hopefully he'll leave me alone. Whenever I asked him to not text me he'd just get really aggressive.

Sorry for the rant, felt good to get that out :o Moral of the story? Take aways are bad mmmkay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I'm planning on keeping a personal diary in 2014.

Any other adult on here keep one? I am bit concerned about putting personal thoughts/feelings down on paper (in case someone else reads it) but like the thought of looking back on it in a few years time.

Looks like you started early...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I did it for a while when travelling. Then some years later I found it and had a read.
    Tbh it was great re-reading everything, really makes you remember things you'd otherwise forget.

Mint Aero wrote: »
    You plan on getting pregz ya?

No. :D

It was really weird. He added me on facebook and that was fine, was being really flirty but in a creepy way. Asked for my number, I said no.

Ordered take away one night and who delivers it? HIM! Then of course he had my number. He text me saying that my tits looked amazing and he wants to bury his face in them :confused:

Kept texting me at midnight saying he'd call up, I said no. Said he'd call up anyway. I used to have to get my boyfriend to come over but didn't want him to say anything to him. The guy is really really rough. I'd be putting the bins out in the evening and have to walk by his house, all his family would be there and the lads would be smoking joints in the back garden, they'd be really sleazy and make sexual comments.

I moved anyway, and me and my boyfriend ordered take away one night, from a different place. Who delivers it? Him again. What are the chances like? Now he knows where I live!

Anyway, I'm going to block him and if anything happens I will go to the guards. I'm pregnant now so hopefully he'll leave me alone. Whenever I asked him to not text me he'd just get really aggressive.

Sorry for the rant, felt good to get that out :o Moral of the story? Take aways are bad mmmkay

He's sounds a danger. Don't take any chances. Get the Gardai involved if you feel threatened in any way.