Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Addicted "Off The Grid" Newbie question! Advice on legal aspect?

Options
  • 15-12-2013 12:36am
    Registered Users Posts: 197 ✭✭

Inspired by my travels, views, handyman skills and Henry David Thorou, I have made the decision that in some point in my life I will live 100% OTG...

Anyway, this summer I'll be getting into my 20's (Ill be 23 and finished college this summer) and would like to "practice". I have some experience in farming and agriculture from my travels.

I plan on building some sort of shelter for myself (possibly a small standing structure) beside the sea/river so I can fish and have fresh water, lantern inside with small homemade stove etc... Basically 1-3month camping but with a standing structure shelter made with materials on site...

What are the legal aspects I have to worry about? Planning permission?Cutting down trees? Staying on the land for 1-3months during summer?

I may come across as a compete newbie here but this is only the first step!

Also, please share any similar stories of your first steps or similar situations!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

Whos land you planning to do this on? You cant just go building on someones land and cutting down trees without permission

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,693 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs