Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anyone watching Psycopath Night on Channel 4?

• 14-12-2013 9:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭

"Psychopaths are a ruthless breed who lie, manipulate and sometimes murder, with no hint of conscience of remorse. One per cent of the population are classified as psychopathic. There may be one in your office. There could be one on your street. They are all around us, often in positions of power. Psychopath Night unravels the mystery of this minority, with the help of leading experts. The programme goes inside the minds of psychopaths, finds out how to spot a psychopath, and meets real psychopathic killers. The programme also gets to know some familiar faces who are high on the psychopathic scale, including a star of the England football team. " For more info on the topic, I recommend the the book "The Wisdom of Psychpaths" by Kevin Dutton which also looks at socially acceptable psychpaths

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Balls forgot to watch this. Any good?

The eyebrows are a bit distracting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭human 19

it's on now , until 11pm.
    Its interesting but so far, not as good as the book
    I'm sure it will be on 4seven, apart from 4+1 in 15 mins

Grand might as well watch the last hour, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭jimboblep

Anyone try the psycopath test on the channel 4 site i got a 73 dont know if i should be upset about that

Fair play I got 49%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭A2LUE42

jimboblep wrote: »
    Anyone try the psycopath test on the channel 4 site i got a 73 dont know if i should be upset about that

I got 85%, but some of the questions were a bit silly.

That is a very large revolver your one has.

The guy in The Cell is my no.1 film psycho.
    The scenes inside his head were amazing, and that contraption for the rings in his back.....jaesus

Edit..another couple of disturbing films about psycopathy or insanity...Excision and An American Crime

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

So James Bond is a psychopath,of course it make sperfect sense when you think of it.I wonde rhow high would Charley Haughey or Michael O Leary score in the psychopath test?Fairley high I would think.

I like to think of sportspeople on that spectrum, especially the one-on-one sports rather than team sports.
    Think of the term "Killer-instinct" in terms of sports players (or even other professions..Im very surprised market traders were not mentioned in that documentary).

So James Bond is a psychopath,of course it make sperfect sense when you think of it.I wonde rhow high would Charley Haughey or Michael O Leary score in the psychopath test?Fairley high I would think.

Apparently some top politicians and CEOs can score highly on the scale, according to the book.

I loaned the book to my boss who has to deal with people higher in the multi-national chain and he found at least one person who ticked every box to the extent that the book seemed to be describing this other guy to the letter....no empathy, goes in and causes chaos and then blames other people, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭napplechunks

I wonder/hope the psychopaths in my work were watching... haha
    Was a good programme with some good interviews. I know the american neuroscientist (large guy with beard) has found that he himself has the psychopath gene. Just cos he had a really nice upbringing he turned out okay although he admits that he has no empathy and could view a horrendous traffic accident without feeling anything at all. Theres a TED talk on it and he was featured in a BBC documentary before.. Very interesting

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭cruasder777

84 % :-)

Saved by the fact I like Kittens and my Mum was nice to me growing up.