Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you bury a family member in the garden?

• 14-12-2013 1:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭

Don't worry, haven't done a Bryan Murray. Just read the following:
    Would you bury your loved one in your garden?

Two grieving spouses who wished to keep their loved ones close, have buried their late partners in their own gardens.

Patricia Waters, 81, wanted to provide her husband with a truly personal send-off and has had him buried in the back garden of their home - and even conducted the funeral service herself.

Phillip Topham, 56, buried his wife the front garden of their home in Colwick, Nottingham, when she died from oesophageal cancer after 18 years by his side.

Patricia Waters decided that she did not want her husband Eddie laid to rest in an 'impersonal' cemetery, so she commissioned an undertaker to dig a plot round the back of their house in Kidderminster, Worcestershire.

Mrs Waters, a devout Catholic arranged for a priest to lead the ceremony - but when he was unble to attend, she carried out the service herself.

'I first saw something about home burials in a newspaper more than 20 years ago,' the 81-year-old said.

'Graveyards are so regimented and impersonal - so I thought wouldn't it be nice to be buried at home.

'Eddie and I were both interested in the idea. I'm just so glad we were able to do it. It is a great comfort for me knowing he is buried in the garden.'

Mrs Waters, a former teacher, asked undertakers Edwin Harris and Sons to arrange the burial.

Chief executive Mark Bullivant said: 'The home burial for Mr Waters was very unusual because it is at the back of a resident house in the middle of Kidderminster.

Not a chance would I. Is it even legal in this country?

Love this part of the article:
    Estate agents claim that having a body buried on your property can reduce the value of the home by up to £50,000.

Yeah, I bet it bloody does.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

I think we should place coffins vertically as it saves much more space (even in the garden).

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

I will if she keeps annoying me!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

If you had a large garden and it was very much a family home (i.e. one that you don't plan on selling at all) I can see the appeal alright. Most people opt for burying the ashes though.

Legality, I don't know. I know there are rules around burying livestock so that potential toxins or viruses can't get into the local water, so I imagine the same rules must apply for people. I also know that you only "own" the ground in your land down to a certain depth (2m?), so you wouldn't be allowed bury them below that depth.

There's information here:
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/death/after_a_death/burials.html
    But it doesn't actually state what you can't do, just what you need to do. I suspect if you wanted to bury someone in the back garden you'd need to apply for planning/zoning permission to have a burial plot in that space and conform to all the rules of same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Under the patio, maybe.

No, because if my circumstances changed and I had to sell the property I'd be destroyed with guilt at leaving.

Cremation ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

I have a few relatives so full of sh*t that the garden would never need fertilisation again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Pj!

Not sure if the landlord would be too pleased to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,456 ✭✭✭Icepick

incinerate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Well, maybe not a loved one but I can think of a few people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭2 stroke

Pj! wrote: »
    Landlord first.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I think we should place coffins vertically as it saves much more space (even in the garden).

/thread

Well if you can't lie down when you're dead then what's the point in living?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

[

QUOTE=Daqster;87997837]Don't worry, haven't done a Bryan Murray. Just read
    the following:

Yeah, I bet it bloody does.[/QUOTE]
    Would be afraid that nosy Sinbad would be around again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

Daqster wrote: »

Even more if you buried an indian.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I'd be afraid the dog would go digging again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

The dying wish of a man where I grew up was to be buried under a tree in his own garden. His family were going to go ahead with his wishes but were dissuaded by the County Council who insisted he be buried in a designated cemetery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭unfortunately

/thread

It would be impractical, what happens if you are burying a 6ft man? You would have to dig very narrow deep holes. And anyway, you can bury more than one person horizontally in a grave at various depths.
    At the time of the first interment or burial at a grave space, it should be sunk to a depth of at least eight feet or to a lesser depth as decided by the County Medical Officer if the sub-soil does not allow for a depth of eight feet.

It is permissible to reopen a grave in order to bury a member of the same family, but a space of at least one foot above the previous burial must be left. Generally, it is possible to bury three to four persons in each grave space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭MonstaMash

Depends how badly they pissed me off :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

As far as I am aware it is legal, but details of the burial must be recorded on the deeds so could affect the house sale.

As far as cremation is concerned it was considered most heathen in the UK of the 1880s and one of the first to practice it on his own land after his infant son of 5 months died, was arrested. He won his right to cremate and so the modern practice of cremation began.

Fascinating story here.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/blogs/wales/posts/dr_william_price_and_the_beginnings_of_cremation

MadsL wrote: »
    I enjoyed that, a complete eccentric by all accounts :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Spring Onion

We did bury our family dog in the back garden.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭bigron2109

No way. Imagine if you had to move. Or some animals came into your garden and dug them up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

If I had a nice house in the country with a good bit of land and a few nice mature oak trees that I knew I would never sell I'd much rather I be buried on my family land and I'd also do the same for my partner if she wanted.

But right now in my council house in the middle of a rough estate I can't see myself having a funeral out the back garden.

bigron2109 wrote: »
    No way. Imagine if you had to move. Or some animals came into your garden and dug them up.
    Couple of commercially produced bottles of alkaline drain cleaners containing lye will sort that out in a jiffy due to its grease dissolving abilities.

Lye decomposes greases via alkaline ester hydrolysis, yielding water soluble, easily removed residual substances...rinse & go :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Pj! wrote: »

Bury the landlord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,609 ✭✭✭stoneill

I'd leave her arse poking out of the ground so I'd have some where to park me bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Daqster

stoneill wrote: »
    I'd leave her arse poking out of the ground so I'd have some where to park me bike.

Billy?

stoneill wrote: »
    Park your bike is it?

Hmmm :confused:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭PanaDrama

Eeeeeuw, weird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,429 ✭✭✭branie

Ever hear of John Christie of Rillington Place, London?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I get this. In our family home we have a load of pets down at the end of the garden, makes you think about them as you walk around looking at the changing of the seasons and all of that. It's comforting in a way to have them there. We are not big on visiting graves in our family (in fact, I don't really get the point of it). My Mam and Dad love their garden, I think it would be lovely to have them buried there, if the house remained in the family of course. I guess the point of public graveyards is that there's no chance the graves will ever be moved in the future, which also makes sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

There's a big old woods down the field behind our place. I'd love to be buried there, it's always been a peaceful place and has good memories. I scattered my Dads ashes down there as he loved spending time just pottering amongst the trees. I'd be happy if someone did the same for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

I think we should place coffins vertically as it saves much more space

That's a great idea because when the the zombie apocalypse happens, they'll spend forever digging horizontally to try and get out.

If they'd buried yer wan in kill bill that way her hands would have been in bits for nothing. Film might have been a bit shorter too. Or longer..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

There's a big old woods down the field behind our place. I'd love to be buried there, it's always been a peaceful place and has good memories. I scattered my Dads ashes down there as he loved spending time just pottering amongst the trees. I'd be happy if someone did the same for me.

Sounds good. Think of as in 1000 yrs time and some archaeologist digs up your remains to be put on display in a museum. Ain't that better than to be cremated? Its your moment of fame skelitor wise :)

moxin wrote: »
    Sounds good. Think of as in 1000 yrs time and some archaeologist digs up your remains to be put on display in a museum. Ain't that better than to be cremated? Its your moment of fame skelitor wise :)
    My lot will cremate me - they'll want to be 100% sure..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭moxin

My lot will cremate me - they'll want to be 100% sure..:D

On a serious note, do you(or family) have a plot in a cemetery?

If you don't, your body is fcuked to the ovens :D

Mine has a family plot in a well known cemetery. But I do think if i was buried with my family treasure(all those media downloads :P ) in some remote forest, well my skeleton would certainly be on display in some national museum with gorgeous young scientists drooling over my sexy bones :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Elvis might have did it but It's not legal in Ireland. I remember a local case in my area where an exhumation was carried out, they buried their father in their horse pasture. The law is intricate at times , even things like body fluids leaking into water resources come into play.

Seriously thats how ridiculous it is, a wood based coffin will leak body fluids, that's why Americans like to be buried in lead based monstrosities.:pac:

moxin wrote: »
    On a serious note, do you(or family) have a plot in a cemetery?

If you don't, your body is fcuked to the ovens :D

Mine has a family plot in a well known cemetery. But I do think if i was buried with my family treasure(all those media downloads :P ) in some remote forest, well my skeleton would certainly be on display in some national museum with gorgeous young scientists drooling over my sexy bones :P
    They chose to stick the cemetery slap bang next door to a church and I've about, ohh, zero time for those yokes, so bang me in the oven, ta all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

I'd bury them all if I thought I'd get the house

21/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

I get this. In our family home we have a load of pets down at the end of the garden, makes you think about them as you walk around looking at the changing of the seasons and all of that. It's comforting in a way to have them there. We are not big on visiting graves in our family (in fact, I don't really get the point of it). My Mam and Dad love their garden, I think it would be lovely to have them buried there, if the house remained in the family of course. I guess the point of public graveyards is that there's

no chance the graves will ever be moved in the future, which also makes
    sense.

Would not be to sure about that,there is another property bubble on the way,but they will exhume your lovely bones In the best possible haste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 485 ✭✭eric hoone

It's a nice idea from the point of view that friends or relatives could visit the grave and pay their respects to the family and leave a nice few flowers in your garden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,485 ✭✭✭dj jarvis

there is a guy living in west wicklow ( ex trinity professor ) who has his wife buried in the back garden , he had to go to court , but he won the right

eccentric family is an understatement - but lovely people all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭MRnotlob606

lock her in the coal shed for a while

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Daqster wrote: »
    Don't worry, haven't done a Bryan Murray. Just read the following:

I've buried the baldy man in a few gardens