Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

North Korea executes leaders uncle

• 14-12-2013 8:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭

Checked but don't see another thread on it.

Dramatic scenes in North Korea earlier as Jang Song Thaek was seized publicly at a Politburo meeting then executed.
    North Korea has executed the powerful uncle of young leader Kim Jong Un, state media said today, the biggest upheaval in years as the ruling dynasty sought to distance itself from responsibility for the isolated states’s dire living standards.

Jang Song Thaek, considered the second most powerful man in the secretive North, was killed just days ahead of the second anniversary of the death of Kim Jong Il, the father of North Korea’s current ruler.

The execution coincided with Kim Jong Un - the third Kim to rule North Korea - suddenly being portrayed in state media as the image of his father rather than his grandfather, Kim Il Sung, who is still revered as the founder of the nation.

Kim Jong Il was blamed by some for the 1990s famine that killed a million people. The North’s KCNA news agency released pictures today of a handcuffed Jang being manhandled by guards and said that he had been executed for trying to seize power and for driving the economy “into an uncontrollable catastrophe”.

Jang was pictured in the ruling party’s Rodong Sinmun newspaper without his Kim Il Sung loyalty badge on his lapel when he was led away, which would indicate his disloyalty to North Koreans who all wear lapel badges.

“Jang Song Thaek has been purged in a way that suggests Kim Jong Un wanted to make a point,” Ruediger Frank, a North Korea expert, wrote in an article on Johns Hopkins University’s US Korea Institute website 38 North today.

The dictatorial North has been run by the same family since 1948. Its economy, which was once larger than South Korea’s, is now a fortieth the size of its prosperous neighbour.

Its 24 million people regularly suffer food shortages, according to the United Nations. The younger Kim has been credited in the North’s media with presiding over a powerful military state as well as an economic revival.

Jang was married to Kim Jong Un’s paternal aunt and is believed to have been 67 years old. He had been purged in 2004 and disappeared from public view until 2006, but became a vice chairman of the powerful National Defence Commission and a member of the ruling Workers’ Party politburo.

He had visited Beijing, North Korea’s only major ally, and was in charge of economic projects as well running a string of illicit money-raising schemes for Pyongyang, according to North Korea experts and defectors.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/asia-pacific/video-north-korea-executes-leader-s-powerful-uncle-1.1626169

Often considered the second most powerful man in the country, this will shock many looking on at the regime, and leaves you wondering what Kim Jong Un could be capable of next.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Checked but don't see another thread on it.

Dramatic scenes in North Korea earlier as Jang Song Thaek was seized publicly at a Politburo meeting then executed.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/world/asia-pacific/video-north-korea-executes-leader-s-powerful-uncle-1.1626169

Often considered the second most powerful man in the country, this will shock many looking on at the regime, and leaves you wondering what Kim Jong Un could be capable of next.

In fairness, I wasn't at all surprised by this, even the Chinese are getting pissed off with North Korea's antics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 243 ✭✭Lukehandypants

He is just Sooooooooo lonely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,666 ✭✭✭tritium

In fairness, I wasn't at all surprised by this, even the Chinese are getting pissed off with North Korea's antics.

Nice to see the current leader is as balanced as his father and grandfather

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

2ebycki.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,590 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

A house of cards ready to fall hopefully.The stories to come out of that place will be unbelievable no doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,901 ✭✭✭Howard Juneau

Ah I always knew Kim was a Wrong Un. Probably suffers from "a boy named sue syndrome"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,380 ✭✭✭✭Banjo String

Yeah. The Chinese authorities have said 'it was an internal affair'.

Prob a few missile tests now to look forward to also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

It's only £500 for a week's accommodation, food, travel, tours and flights from Beijing. I'm seriously thinking of going.

Ease up there a second chief.

First of all I was considering visiting China and for an extra few hundred pound, a visit to North Korea is a pretty interesting adjunct to anyone's trip abroad. Secondly, it's not about me being a big-shot Westerner or lauding it over anyone. If you want to act like a playboy; North Korea is hardly the bloody place to go is it? It's not like it's famous for its casinos, strippers, prostitutes, drugs and nightclubs. There are plenty of other places that would be better for "swanning around."

I would go simply to see it, because it's an unconventional place to go; because it would interest me and it would be something off the beaten track. Traveling is something that throws up diverse experiences, it doesn't have to be limited to 2-week sojourns to liberal democracies like. In case you haven't noticed, most of the world is governed by complete bastards; if your criteria for travel was based only on a progressive government you wouldn't be left with many options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

FTA69 wrote: »
    In case you haven't noticed, most of the world is governed by complete bastards; if your criteria for travel was based only on a progressive government you wouldn't be left with many options.

When you set foot in North Korea, you are immediately one of the richest, freest people there. Enjoy being the .01% while they show you fake supermarkets.. and for the love of god don't say anything bad about the ruling family.. just rabbit on how evil 'Murica is and you'll be fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭KwackerJack

It would be a walk in the park for the yanks to send in a team that doesn't exists and poison his noodles!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Let's face it, western student types guilt tripping you about your privileged western values just makes you want to walk around north Korea with a suit and stetson hat with dollar bills glued all over them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

FlashD wrote: »
    It's not unconventional, its a dictatorship and one of the world's worst at that.

You only see what North Korea wants you to see, it's a highly controlled environment where your experience is the same as everyone else who has visited the place. On that basis, it's not a unique or diverse experience!

Why not visit South Korea if you want an experience of Korean culture where you have the freedom to experience the country and people. You can go visit sites that make your tour unique.

Travel isn't only about 'diverse experiences', within reason it's about making moral decisions too. You visit North Korea then your cash goes directly to supporting the regime, a regime that tortures and starves a population of people on a daily basis. You have the freedom to make that decision in contrast to those who don't.

Jesus h Christ iv lost the will to live after reading that, you need to loosen up the old strings their buddy, you'll put yourself in danger of a stroke your so uptight

FlashD wrote: »
    It's not unconventional, its a dictatorship and one of the world's worst at that.

True. As I said above, most places in the world are controlled by terrible governments. Recently I met a guy from Brighton who travels all over Africa to watch football games. Is he an asshole because he went to Angola or Zimbabwe? Both of those countries are controlled by repressive governments, and he was there simply to have the craic. Does that make him a bad person? Does that mean he was trivialising poverty and deprivation and political violence? Does it b*llocks.
    You only see what North Korea wants you to see, it's a highly controlled environment where your experience is the same as everyone else who has visited the place. On that basis, it's not a unique or diverse experience!

It's a unique experience for me personally and when you consider the vast majority of other peoples' travel destinations, it's certainly unconventional.
    Why not visit South Korea if you want an experience of Korean culture where you have the freedom to experience the country and people.

Because it's not as bat sh*t crazy and therefore of less interest to me.
    Travel isn't only about 'diverse experiences', within reason it's about making moral decisions too. You visit North Korea then your cash goes directly to supporting the regime, a regime that tortures and starves a population of people on a daily basis. You have the freedom to make that decision in contrast to those who don't.

I'm sorry but that argument is such total sh*te. The "your cash goes to the regime" argument can be stretched to ridiculous proportions. I pay tax to the British government but oppose the Iraq war, am I thus a gross hypocrite? Does that mean we're simply not allowed to go anywhere with a sh*t government as we'll be supporting the regime there? So pretty much forget about going to Africa and the Middle East. China commits appalling human rights abuses, so we're not allowed go there I suppose. India is horribly unequal and corrupt, forget that too. Colombia? They support death sqauds, axe that and all. The USA is prosecuting illegal wars and operates Guantanamo; better not legitimise that with my presence and VAT dollars.

It's possible to visit a place and disagree with its system of government.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Dennis rodman is on a plane there as we speak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

The uncle was a corrupted member of the government who had been bribed by the dollar from the USA. He was corrupted by the imperialist capitalist spies that have annexed half the country. He was probably rubbing his hands together at the prospect of the fall of his country. Traitors have a special place in hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

catallus wrote: »
    Traitors have a special place in hell.
    As bad as child rapists so they are.

Never understood the knicker-wetting fanaticism over treachery. It's wrong I guess (not to me but to others) however it's hardly as evil as some make it out to be.

Surely it's the purveyors of such shocking brutality in North Korea who deserve the special place in hell?

I'm sorry but that argument is such total sh*te. The "your cash goes to the regime" argument can be stretched to ridiculous proportions. I pay tax to the British government but oppose the Iraq war, am I thus a gross hypocrite? Does that mean we're simply not allowed to go anywhere with a sh*t government as we'll be supporting the regime there? So pretty much forget about going to Africa and the Middle East. China commits appalling human rights abuses, so we're not allowed go there I suppose. India is horribly unequal and corrupt, forget that too. Colombia? They support death sqauds, axe that and all. The USA is prosecuting illegal wars and operates Guantanamo; better not legitimise that with my presence and VAT dollars.

It's possible to visit a place and disagree with its system of government.

oh good god

N Korea is like none of the above - it can't be compared. By all means go, personally I don't think it's hypocritical, I know several people who've gone - but don't think for a second you are "visiting N Korea" because you aren't.. you will be visiting a prepared sideshow

Just remember, don't ever take a stroll from the hotel yourself, always be with a guide, they can get in serious **** if you do that

N Korea is like none of the above - it can't be compared.

I'm not saying North Korea is like the USA mate, I'm pointing out the fallacy in the "supporting an evil regime" logic. ALL repressive states use any sort of tourists or visitors to bolster their contention that things are just fine. Like it or not, when visiting any repressive regime; your presence and money will contribute in some way or another to that regime. By that logic we thus shouldn't visit large tracts of the world.

Similarly, it's possible to visit a place governed by bastards and not necessarily agree with said bastards.
    but don't think for a second you are "visiting N Korea" because you aren't.. you will be visiting a prepared sideshow

I have no illusions about partying mad in downtown Pyongyang, it's the mad choreography and how that state operates that holds my. interest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,512 ✭✭✭Muise...

Here's one they executed earlier:

I'm not sure my ears and eyes could handle the place, let alone my scruples.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 68 ✭✭Splat Strawberry Jam

I'm not saying North Korea is like the USA mate, I'm pointing out the fallacy in the "supporting an evil regime" logic. ALL repressive states use any sort of tourists or visitors to bolster their contention that things are just fine. Like it or not, when visiting any repressive regime; your presence and money will contribute in some way or another to that regime. By that logic we thus shouldn't visit large tracts of the world.

Similarly, it's possible to visit a place governed by bastards and not necessarily agree with said bastards.

I have no illusions about partying mad in downtown Pyongyang, it's the mad choreography and how that state operates that holds my. interest

So where do you think the money you spend over there will be going?

The state I'd imagine. Similarly the way the money I spent in Tel Aviv that night contributed toward F15s or the money I spent in the USA went toward Guantanamo or the money I spent this morning went toward the British Army.

What's your point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 682 ✭✭✭LOSTfan57

Jaysus. If the man wants to go on holiday surely hes alowwed go where he wants without a shaggin inquisition?????

The state I'd imagine. Similarly the way the money I spent in Tel Aviv that night contributed toward F15s or the money I spent in the USA went toward Guantanamo or the money I spent this morning went toward the British Army.

What's your point?

My point is that i dont agree with supporting obviously repressive regimes. Using Israel or US as an example is misleading. The money you spent in 7-11 in the US doesnt go to an oppressive regime. Ditto with Israel. Every penny you spend in north Korea or even to get to North Korea is going to the regime. That's my point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

Is he buried in the garden?

OneArt wrote: »
    Is he buried in the garden?

Garden is to repressive in NK

As bad ..........

Neve....il as some make it out to be.

Surely it's the purveyors of such shocking brutality in North Korea who deserve the special place in hell?

If the imposition of justice on a corrupt politician who used his position to try and sell out his country of nearly 25million people to capitalist forces which would gleefully make slaves of them all is shocking brutality then we are going to have irreconcilable differences. Why would treachery not be wrong?
    So where do you think the money you spend over there will be going?

It will be going to support an economy which has been historically ravaged by its neighbours and a population which has been and is still today being brutalised by smothering sanctions by the USKN zaelots who cannot bear its hegemony being threatened.

I'm all for standing up against tyrannical regimes but the shallow group-herd mentality which unquestioningly follows the reams of propaganda being churned out by the capitalists and its hangers-on such as Amnesty is distasteful and should be to any thinking person.

I'm not saying North Korea is any better than any other country, btw, I'm just saying that singling it out for criticism is naive.
    LOSTfan57 wrote: »
    Jaysus. If the man wants to go on holiday surely hes alowwed go where he wants without a shaggin inquisition?????

Indeed. And I'd be interested to hear what he has to report back if he does decide to go there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

If the imposition of justice on a corrupt politician who used his position to try and sell out his country of nearly 25million people to capitalist forces which would gleefully make slaves of them all is shocking brutality then we are going to have irreconcilable differences. Why would treachery not be wrong?

It will be going to support an economy which has been historically ravaged by its neighbours and a population which has been and is still today being brutalised by smothering sanctions by the USKN zaelots who cannot bear its hegemony being threatened.

I'm all for standing up against tyrannical regimes but the shallow group-herd mentality which unquestioningly follows the reams of propaganda being churned out by the capitalists and its hangers-on such as Amnesty is distasteful and should be to any thinking person.

I'm not saying North Korea is any better than any other country, btw, I'm just saying that singling it out for criticism is naive.

Indeed. And I'd be interested to hear what he has to report back if he does decide to go there.

Are you ok??

Why does everyone keep asking me that??????? Aaargh. :mad: :pac:

If the imposition of justice on a corrupt politician who used his position to try and sell out his country of nearly 25million people to capitalist forces which would gleefully make slaves of them all is shocking brutality then we are going to have irreconcilable differences.
    I'm talking about the gulags. Pretty sick to pretend they're not as bad as they are in order to go against the grain for the sake of attention. It's something you do a lot and there are times when it's just downright inappropriate (and no, it's not "because of disagreeing with you", it's because you can be obtuse and disingenuous beyond belief. You're usually defending religion and having a go at atheism; why this sudden defence of a country where religion is banned?)
    If the west and capitalism are so terrible, then opt out.

I'm talking about the gulags. Pretty sick to pretend they're not as bad as they are in order to go against the grain for the sake of attention. It's something you do a lot and there are times when it's just downright inappropriate (and no, it's not "because of disagreeing with you", it's because you can be obtuse and disingenuous beyond belief. You're usually defending religion and having a go at atheism; why this sudden defence of a country where religion is banned?)

Maybe go east? I hear North Korea is nice?

He was corrupted by the imperialist capitalist spies that have annexed half the country .

I think the correct 1970s student union terminology is running dog/ lackeys.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

and leaves you wondering what Kim Jong Un could be capable of next.

Uh I dunno? Another colourful 1980's parade perhaps? :D

Are you ok??....

.... Hun xxcxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,250 ✭✭✭✭bumper234

The uncle was a corrupted member of the government who had been bribed by the dollar from the USA. He was corrupted by the imperialist capitalist spies that have annexed half the country. He was probably rubbing his hands together at the prospect of the fall of his country. Traitors have a special place in hell.

Just........wow!!!!! I thinks some venom just dripped from that post and burned a hole through my carpet.

Defending religion? Having a go at atheism? I really think you have me confused with someone else.

I'm not saying that the west and capitalism are terrible, I'm just saying that the policies that are being used against countries such as NorthKorea and Iran and the rest of the UN's "Axis of Evil" are not very nice. And part of that is the propaganda machine which has most people in the west thinking that they are backward-looking stone-age aberrations, when in fact they happen to be societies with actual real human beings living their lives like you and me, no matter what the war-mongers want us to believe. Obtuse? I think not.

Defending religion? Having a go at atheism? I really think you have me confused with someone else.

I'm not saying that the west and capitalism are terrible, I'm just saying that the policies that are being used against countries such as NorthKorea and Iran and the rest of the UN's "Axis of Evil" are not very nice.
    Fair enough. Although what's so terrible about the US in relation to NK and surely what's being done to people within NK itself is... slightly worse?
    And part of that is the propaganda machine which has most people in the west thinking that they are backward-looking stone-age aberrations, when in fact they happen to be societies with actual real human beings living their lives like you and me, no matter what the war-mongers want us to believe.
    It's fashionable to go on about propaganda but what's really happening there (horrors we cannot conceive) is not propaganda; no propaganda needed. None of the US's failings are anywhere near as bad (again, fashionable to go on about the US being some sort of hell - flawed as it is, give me that before a lot of other countries in the world).
    Of course NK is full of real human beings living their lives - and their own government has them living in fear and poverty. To detract from that and go on about the awful US and the treachery of the guy who was executed is just... bizarre. How would he have sold the people into slavery? How could anything be worse than what they're living with now?
    Treachery is wrong sometimes (really depends - Snowden is deemed a traitor, but I don't see anything wrong with whistleblowing) but it's hardly as heinous as you're making it out to be, with statements like "Traitors deserve a corner in hell" :confused: as if what this guy in NK did is so much worse than what is being done to the people there.

What's your point?

The vast majority of the money you spend in Tel Aviv or the US benefits the Israeli or American people

The bulk of the money you spend in N Korea goes straight to the regime.

There's a vast difference between the two.. yet you keep up with the weak comparisons, it's like listening to someone having a crack at benefits in Ireland in a thread about famine in Sudan

Different kettle of fish altogether ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

I'm just saying that the policies that are being used against countries such as NorthKorea and Iran and the rest of the UN's "Axis of Evil" are not very nice.

Have you done any research on North Korea at all? It is actually a lot worse then what the western media shows.

Fair enough. Although what's so terrible about the US in relation to NK and surely what's being done to people within NK itself is... slightly worse?

It's fashionable to go on about propaganda but what's really happening there (horrors we cannot conceive) is not propaganda; no propaganda needed. None of the US's failings are anywhere near as bad (again, fashionable to go on about the US being some sort of hell - flawed as it is, give me that before a lot of other countries in the world).

I'm sorry but I really can't see at all what is fashionable about noting propaganda when one sees it. It should be done more, if anything. And as for "going on about the US as some sort of hell?" Don't make me laugh. The tiny glimpses of the poverty that approx 40% of that country lives is as horrific as anything I've seen out of North Korea. Maybe I should just believe everything Amnesty says and I'll feel better about the whole thing.

"Horrors we cannot conceive"? In a country that has an internationally acknowledged literacy rate of 99%? Come on. Try being poor in Ireland or America. It is horrific too. It may be harder if there's no food because the foreign countries around you deem your country to be worthy of sanctions on basic imports.
    Of course NK is full of real human beings living their lives - and their own government has them living in fear and poverty. To detract from that and go on about the awful US and the treachery of the guy who was executed is just... bizarre. How would he have sold the people into slavery? How could anything be worse than what they're living with now?
    Treachery is wrong sometimes (really depends - Snowden is deemed a traitor, but I don't see anything wrong with whistleblowing) but it's hardly as heinous as you're making it out to be, with statements like "Traitors deserve a corner in hell" :confused: as if what this guy in NK did is so much worse than what is being done to the people there.

You seem to have come to the ultimate end-point of thinking in precisely the way the propagandists wish you to. I'm sure the weapons manufacturers and warmongers can rely on your tacit unspoken support when they decide to unleash hell.

Anywho, on the topic of the OP, it seems that the army are going to try and re-assert their political power, which is nuts.

Christ that is one of the most foolish comments i have read on here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,939 ✭✭✭ballsymchugh

It's only £500 for a week's accommodation, food, travel, tours and flights from Beijing. I'm seriously thinking of going.

do go. i was there in 2008. as long as you know that what you're been shown is far from the truth etc. what is disturbing is the amount of, well, plamasing that is shown to tour groups. if you can, go during an event, kim il sungs birthday in april, or the mass games in autumn.
    as for being shown fake shops, we only went to a few bookstores that sold the same old propaganda all over the place, but no food shops.
    500 squid is pretty cheap though, what tour group have you been looking at?

Jonny7 wrote: »
    The vast majority of the money you spend in Tel Aviv or the US benefits the Israeli or American people

The bulk of the money you spend in N Korea goes straight to the regime.

So it's ok to benefit an oppressive government directly as long as it's only a proportion of the money you spend there? That's complete b*llocks. You It's either ok to go to a place and spend money or else it isn't.

The money you spent in 7-11 in the US doesnt go to an oppressive regime. Ditto with Israel.

I'm sorry but a lot of it does. The price of your visa and the hundreds of dollars of VAT tax you pay goes directly to state coffers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

The uncle he had killed was actually uncle-in-law, so not his own flesh and blood so to speak.

Still an extreme thing to do though, obviously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

I'm sorry but I really can't see at all what is fashionable about noting propaganda when one sees it. It should be done more, if anything. And as for "going on about the US as some sort of hell?" Don't make me laugh. The tiny glimpses of the poverty that approx 40% of that country lives is as horrific as anything I've seen out of North Korea. .

Not true at all. Speak to any immigrant in the US who is part of that 40% and they will tell you they love America and the opportunities there; and that it's much better than what they had back home.

Most people like to see the poorest people in America as victims when in reality they don't see themselves like that at all.

For comparison purpose, you should really read Escape from Camp 14.

I wouldn't criticise anyone for going to North Korea though. I hate the regime more than anything but I would still be interested in going there; don't think I ever would though. Then again I went to Saudi, which has a regime I hate almost as much. There's something different about North Korea though; that unpredictability or something. I would be paranoid about saying the wrong thing, not showing enough reverence to the right statue, and ending up in labour camp - an irrational fear considering how rare it is for a tourist to be arrested, but it would definitely be on my mind. But I can certainly understand the appeal of visiting the country.

On topic, I was hoping that the purging of Jang Song Thak was the new leader trying to remove some of the more extremist elements in order to initiate reform; no chance that's true I know. :(

apparently he's making a water park for himself & cinema in 4d

cartmanland is coming to real life you guys

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

North Korea is arguably the worst current dictatorship (maybe there are 1 or 2 worse ones in Africa, but definitely North Korea is the worst non-African one at the very least). Some (un)surprising things about North Korea:

-it is bordered by/located near China, Russia, Japan and South Korea, all progressive states. While some of its neighbours may not be democratic, all of its neighbours are much more open and definitely a lot richer.
    -North Korea has poor relations with all its neighbours especially South Korea and Japan. China and Russia were once allies but they are tired of the Kims and their excesses.
    -Officially, it is a communist state. In reality, it is a medieval style monarchy and a religious cult surrounds the Kims.
    -All regular festivals like Christmas are banned. Instead, people celebrate a holiday season in honour of Kim Il Sung's wife on the 24th December!! The other members of the family are celebrated at other times of the year!!
    -North Korea has no major allies and any allies it has had are distancing themselves from them. North Korea's past allies include the likes of Stalin's USSR, Mao's China, Saddam's Iraq, Milosevic's Serbia and the Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan (Taliban). Current allies remain China and Russia to an extent, Iran to an extent, some African countries and Vietnam to an extent. ALL these are moderating their politics and association with North Korea is not in their current interests.
    -North Korea was the only non-Islamic country in George W Bush's infamous Axis of Evil: the others were Iraq, Iran and Syria. North Korea is much, much worse than the other three! Still, Bush had no right to call even North Korea evil as Bush himself was evil. North Korea was only included for PC reasons anyway (to make it look like NOT a war against Islam) and Bush had no intention of attacking.
    -Following up the last point: North Korea is not considered important enough to invade and is ignored 95% of the time. The North Korean regime hate being ignored and they spark mini crises to attract attention.
    -North Korea's regime and how it acts is very like something out of Love/Hate. Paranoid gangsters eliminating all threats (real or potential). The execution of Kim's uncle in law shows us this: this man ran the regime when Kim Jong Il was too busy drinking expensive brandy and making/watching his own films. Kim Jong Un was not going allow this man take over.

Did he deserve to die? Yes, but those who killed him also do. The Kim regime (inclusive of the uncle in law and Kim Jong Un, his brothers, their late father and so on) are a corrupt and selfish dynasty who are total hypocrites living in drunken luxury while people starve. There is nothing communist about them either: they are greedy capitalist pigs who steal from the people and implement a policy where drugs are grown (to be sold) instead of food. Yeah, King Nidge and Fran the Man would learn a few tips from these boys!

So, overall, can there ever be a happy end for North Korea? Hardly any time soon. If the Kim regime was overthrown, it would be most likely to be replaced by a military dictatorship that would maybe open things up and ease up on a few things but the dire state of the country would mean it wouldn't become another China any time soon. Poverty and corruption would remain and a new regime would have to still be ruthless.

As regards Korean unification: I don't think the South would unite with the North because that would be like say putting Sweden and Ethiopia together as a single country!! One is rich and successful, the other dirt poor. For the South, this would not prove beneficial and Korean unification is more of a slogan than something really wanted. The people of the North not brainwashed by the Kims would want it but neither government in the Koreas really do. Well, Kim would like the North to take over the South if he could but he can't!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Not true at all. Speak to any immigrant in the US who is part of that 40% and they will tell you they love America and the opportunities there; and that it's much better than what they had back home.

Most people like to see the poorest people in America as victims when in reality they don't see themselves like that at all.

For comparison purpose, you should really read Escape from Camp 14.

I wouldn't criticise anyone for going to North Korea though. I hate the regime more than anything but I would still be interested in going there; don't think I ever would though. Then again I went to Saudi, which has a regime I hate almost as much. There's something different about North Korea though; that unpredictability or something. I would be paranoid about saying the wrong thing, not showing enough reverence to the right statue, and ending up in labour camp - an irrational fear considering how rare it is for a tourist to be arrested, but it would definitely be on my mind. But I can certainly understand the appeal of visiting the country.

On topic, I was hoping that the purging of Jang Song Thak was the new leader trying to remove some of the more extremist elements in order to initiate reform; no chance that's true I know. :(

Many countries in the world are or were governed by appalling regimes which usually are based on warped interpretations of religion or communism. Some of the worst ones include the Islamic Emirate of Afghanistan (Taliban), Democratic Republic of Kampuchea (Khmer Rouge), Democratic People's Republic of Korea (North Korea: the cheek of their official name as it is neither democratic, owned by the people or a republic: it is an undemocratic Kim owned monarchy) and Eritrea.

Saudi Arabia is not all that pleasant either. But it is stable and there are minor reforms in place and I'd put it above some of the other places mentioned above. Other countries like Cuba are kept back because of sanctions and blockades (if they were gone, things would drastically improve). Iran's new moderate president Hassan Rouhani hopefully will be allowed move his country forward (the last moderate president Khatami was hampered by George W's Axis of Evil speech which effectively handed Iran on a plate to the hardliners who took advantage). And most of Africa remains in chaos. The worst 10 countries currently in the world are:

1. Central African Republic: Reason: war and anarchy, religious violence.
    2. Syria: Reason: never ending war.
    3. Afghanistan: Reason: never ending war. The continued existence of Talibanised 'religion'. Potential rise of Taliban again.
    4. Iraq: Reason: never ending war. Racial and religious tensions.
    5. Somalia: Reason: never ending war. Rise of al Shabaab and other African answers to the Taliban.
    6. North Korea: Reason: the Kims! The worst non-warzone for sure!
    7. Eritrea: Reason: war ravaged economy and ruled with an iron fist. Little known horrid regime.
    8. Sudan: Reason: Run by a repressive dictatorship, economy in tatters from wars, never seems to be stable or far from the next war starting. Has sheltered some of the world's worst terrorists in the past inclusive of bin Laden.
    9. Israel/Palestine: Reason: never ending war. Who could live comfortably in a place where there is a never ending threat from suicide bombers?
    10. The Republic of Free Derry and all the other wannabes. Reason: not officially recognised, but if you are in the back of a van with one of their leaders, about to be tried in a kangaroo court and then kneecapped, you would know they are not fake. Free Derry is of course not the only wannabe state run by criminals: there are dozens: tribal Pakistan, Abkazia, South Ossetia, Puntland, Somaliland, Azawad to name a few! All share the same traits: war ravaged (either past or present war), run by criminals (drug dealers, pirates, terrorists, etc) and all not recognised thankfully by anyone.

• Site Banned Posts: 348 ✭✭Khomeini

Jang attempted to overthrow true socialism. Like any country would in an attempted coup, DPRK administered justice.

Execution exists in a wide number of countries in this region and indeed the rest of the world. When it was announced what Jang did in DPRK, there were cries across the country from the workers of Korea for him to face execution. The leadership answered the people.

The Marshall over the past two years has strived to continue to gain peace in the region through Songun