Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The price of ice skating this year

• 12-12-2013 9:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭xploderz

I usually love going a few times over christmas but what is up with the prices this year? I'm not going to name any particular rinks but a few of them are €14-€15 for a 50 minute session. Years ago when it was €9-€10 I could afford to go a few times, now I'm not even sure if I'll bother with those prices, €30 to bring myself and the OH for less than an hour is too much. Last year there was some groupon and grabone deals which were €7 that was good no sign of them this year though! Has the price of ice gone up or something or is this basic profiteering. It's a disgrace joe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

xploderz wrote: »
    I usually love going a few times over christmas but what is up with the prices this year? I'm not going to name any particular rinks but a few of them are €14-€15 for a 50 minute session. Years ago when it was €9-€10 I could afford to go a few times, now I'm not even sure if I'll bother with those prices, €30 to bring myself and the OH for less than an hour is too much. Last year there was some groupon and grabone deals which were €7 that was good no sign of them this year though! Has the price of ice gone up or something or is this basic profiteering. It's a disgrace joe.

Do what us culchies do. Wait till the temperature drops, throw water on the footpath and voila...free ice skating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's far from skating rinks I was reared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,366 ✭✭✭✭Kylo Ren

Go swimming instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,065 ✭✭✭Fighting Irish

They seem to be getting more popular, supply and demand maybe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,459 ✭✭✭Chucken

Donegal? It's far from anywhere you were reared!

It's always been expensive though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I've never been (too poor growing up) but I'm going in the new year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

If you're in Dublin, the Dundrum on ice facebook page often post deals!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭ErinGoBrath

15 quid? Jesus the price of looking terrified and off balance has gone through the roof.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

15 quid? Jesus the price of looking terrified and off balance has gone through the roof.

Well usually to end up off balance and flat on your posterior in this country costs considerably more than €15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Do the seasonal ones here even use real ice. Seen some temporary ones here and they are some kind of synthetic plastic tiles.

Real ice worth it for that price depending on the setting.

Some of the London rings are around £14 for 50-60 minute evening sessions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Ihatecuddles

I have terrible balance, I fall over my own feet. I'm really good at ice skating though, twirls, jumps, backwards.... :confused: Its mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

cantdecide wrote: »
    Well usually to end up off balance and flat on your posterior in this country costs considerably more than €15.

You can have this one for free..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭xploderz

I just think with all the childhood obesity, fast food, spending all day on the xbox/playstation/etc here is something fun that gets them out of the house and exercising but is too bloody expensive. The government should be subsidizing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,691 ✭✭✭michellie

Ice rink in Winterval festival in Waterford is €10 for a child and €12 adult.

michellie wrote: »
    Ice rink in Winterval festival in Waterford is €10 for a child and €12 adult.

I'm in Dublin but that is still quite pricey for waterford no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 645 ✭✭✭buzsywuzsy

Fairly sure I paid €14 or so for the Christmas on Ice in the RDS a few years back.
    The Galway Ice rink is €8 off peak if you buy online. They had a groupon recently for €7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,442 ✭✭✭Sulla Felix

We used to go to the rink at Harold's Cross when I was a kid. I don't think it was even at christmas time, just a thing the family or a bunch of kids did every once in a while, like bowling or the cinema.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭languagenerd

The prices in Dublin have been the same for the last two or three years (I don't know about before that). The cost of maintaining the ice is probably quite high, plus staff, insurance, rent, hiring the skates, etc.

Though the demand has possibly gone down because of the prices: there used to be at least 7 in Dublin and this year I only know of 3.

Chucken wrote: »
    Do what us culchies do. Wait till the temperature drops, throw water on the footpath and voila...free ice skating.

Footpaths? What kind of a culchie are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's a tenner where I am. Mind, that's just 30 mins though but usually is plenty for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

xploderz wrote: »
    I just think with all the childhood obesity, fast food, spending all day on the xbox/playstation/etc here is something fun that gets them out of the house and exercising but is too bloody expensive. The government should be subsidizing it.

You want the government to subsidize iceskating.... ICESKATING!!! Next you'll be wanting opera lessons to be a part of the school curriculum. Kicking a ball around must be far too 'common'.

Anyway, last time I went iceskating I fell and badly bruised my elbow. Stupid passtime so it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I usually just spray the kitchen floor with Mr. Sheen and skeet around in me wooly old man socks :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Footpaths? What kind of a culchie are you?

Posh fecker, I bet he didn't have to get the water from a well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

The mild weather is the main cause of the expense this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭AgileMyth

You used a voucher to go for €7?

Cheap skate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

AgileMyth wrote: »
    You used a voucher to go for €7?

Cheap skate.
    LOL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 643 ✭✭✭scdublin

€15 is a bit much but it's good craic and only a couple more euro than it used to be. You'd spend that on a coffee/tea at lunch or a drink on a night out. Livingsocial had vouchers for €7 a few weeks back! Don't think they have them now though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

There's an ice rink in the centre of Montpellier where I live, 5 euro for an adult and 4 for a child, not too shabby!
    It's just a temporary one installed for the Christmas market.

There's an ice rink in the centre of Montpellier where I live, 5 euro for an adult and 4 for a child, not too shabby!
    It's just a temporary one installed for the Christmas market.

That's more like it. If It was that price here I would probably go every day up to christmas. It's really nice on christmas eve too. Not sure if I'll go at all now. Hate being ripped off.